We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazingily Tranquil”

Review of MAMA'S GUEST HOUSE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Nakuru, Rift Valley Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Arthur B
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Amazingily Tranquil”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in December 2013

I visited mama's place for the first time and the place is awesomely awesome.
The chef's cooking was top notch.
The service offered by Ochieng are exceptionally classic. I liked the cleanliness standards that mark mama's place, coupling this with the serenity! this is a place any writer, poet or composer can get great inspiration to do whatever piece they are working on.
I would highly recommend anyone or group to have mama's place in their bucket list of places to stay and surely they would be glad they made the right choice.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely atmosphere, the service and views to lake Nakuru were very captivating
Liked least: the cold weather, but that was taken care of.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitt N
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“So peaceful”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The host was so helpful. We had travelled with a 6 month old and there was always available soft foods like fruit for her to eat. We were taken care of perfectly. All the meals were scrumptious and healthy. Mama's house is a peaceful, clean environment. I'd recommend it for big families. It just feel's like home, like mama's house

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin...
Juba, South Sudan
1 review
“We enjoyed a most beautiful and Serene ambience”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Mama's House is conveniently located approximately 10 minutes drive from Nakuru Town Centre, in the quiet Milimani suburb. We found the serenity and lush gardens quite useful for leisure reading & generally unwinding after a long safari. The attendants were polite, helpful and the chef prepared for us delicious African dishes for the two days of our stay. Also remarkable was the hostess, Nadia, who offered us personalized attention and saw to it that we were comfortable. We certainly look forward to visiting again.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personalized service offered by the hostess, Nadia
Liked least: We missed one turning while looking for the property although we were quickly re-directed by a passerby. Not too much concern really.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieandA...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Brilliant 3-month stay!”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 months from January-March 2015 and we couldn't think of a better place to have lived in Nakuru. We viewed apartments around the city but most are large and expensive, without outdoor space or a sense of community. So when we arrived at Mama's we were bowled over by the warm welcome, impressive house and beautiful gardens.

Nadia, Ochieng, Timo, their families and Lucky and Panda the dogs really do make the place feel like home. We chose to spend time with them, sharing meals, teaching each other to cook dishes from our home countries etc. but they are very good at knowing when to leave you in peace and give you privacy too.

Most of the time we had the run of the house to ourselves, though even when it was busy our room was large and comfortable enough for us to be happy there. It was no problem for us to add a mosquito net to the room (not really needed because they provide plug-in repellants). The bathroom for room 3 is spacious and the instant-heat showers are great. The kitchen is also well-equipped and large with enough fridge space to keep everything you need. Everywhere was kept very clean and tidy, and you can either do your washing yourself (500 KES per load in the machine, or Ochi will do an entire wash for the same price - we chose the latter once a week and were always impressed with the speed and quality of his service).

The team will cook for you at an extra charge if you want, but we chose to cook for ourselves which wasn't a problem. If there is a group staying and the chef (Kevin) is working then access to the kitchen is difficult, but given notice we always just arranged to eat out or have super quick meals, and the inconvenience was made up for with the free sweet treats we always got!

The WiFi is super fast, enough to stream films or TV programmes should the DSTV in the bedrooms and living room not be enough.

The garden is beautiful, a great place to read a book, chat, eat or sunbathe. The whole place is quiet and peaceful - no traffic noises or anything like that. Lucky and her son Panda are friendly dogs, though they will stay out of your way if you don't want to interact with them.

The location is also nice - you don't feel like you're in the hubbub of the city but it's only a 5 minute boda ride into town (50 KES to the edge of town) or you can walk it in about 15 (more on the way back because it's up hill). From upstairs you can see right across the city to Nakuru National Park and the lake. You're also just around the corner from the entrance to the Menengai Crater reserve. It's a 7km climb but if you start out early in the morning you'll avoid having to pay and can enjoy the walk in the cool. There are refreshments to accompany the stunning view at the top before you start the climb back down the well-carved road in the sun. Remember water, a hat and sun-tan cream! Naivas is just at the bottom of the hill for food and a pharmacy, though we usually caught a boda to Nakumatt (100 KES).

As you can see, we can't recommend Mama's Guest House highly enough, and it was sad when it came time to say goodbye to move on to our next posting in Kisumu. If you're looking for a short or medium term place to stay in Nakuru, this is the place to be!

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.