We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, good beer, great food.”

The Sow & Pigs Poundon
Ranked #6 of 125 Restaurants in Bicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 18
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Typical English country pub.
Reviewed 30 June 2018

My wife and I dined with friends at this great pub last night. The owners were welcoming and the there is a lovely atmosphere in the bar. Having all chosen different items from the varied menu, we were all agreed on one thing, the food was fantastic! There are some pub classics on the menu as well as “ specials” but be assured the food is a million miles away from being “pub grub”. The dishes are well presented, taste fantastic and the portions generous. This pub is well worth a visit if you’re looking for great reasonably priced food.

1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
210alisong, Owner at The Sow & Pigs Poundon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you, your wife & friends enjoyed your evening with us. James does an incredible job in the kitchen. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

I found this pub on tripAdvisor, so thought we would give it a try so we went as a family
the food was excellent well worth the wait great value for money, definitely would go again.

1  Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
210alisong, Owner at The Sow & Pigs Poundon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are pleased you & your family enjoyed their Sunday lunch & we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

I had Pork & Crackling, my wife had Beef. All very good thank you and plenty of veggies.
The owners and locals are very pleasant too.
We will return here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
210alisong, Owner at The Sow & Pigs Poundon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Wow, haven't been in this pub for years and boy have we been missing out! Walked in to a friendly welcome, very clean, bright and homely country pub which you immediately felt comfortable in. Having been disappointed by some of the other local pubs in the area and what they are currently offering we found the Sow & Pigs like a breathe of fresh air and just what you want from a country pub who are also doing food. Food was excellent, very tasty, good portions, hot and served in a timely manner. We will definitely be back on a frequent basis. Would recommend this pub without hesitation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank josB3496SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
210alisong, Owner at The Sow & Pigs Poundon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you so much for you lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and meal, hopefully we will see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

This is a great family and country pub. Its very friendly and relaxed. The food was ample and good. We will defiantly go back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katevtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
210alisong, Owner at The Sow & Pigs Poundon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

First of all I must apologies for the oversight of not replying to your very kind review sooner. I don't know how this got overlooked. I do hope that it will not deter you from visiting us again soon. Apologies once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sow & Pigs Poundon also viewed

Bicester, Oxfordshire
Bicester, Oxfordshire
 
Bicester, Oxfordshire
Bicester, Oxfordshire
 
Bicester, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Sow & Pigs Poundon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing