We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What is really going on here?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rococco Ashvem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rococco Ashvem
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pernem
Stockholm
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What is really going on here?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Rococco has one of the best locations at Ashvem beach. The sea view rooms has really got a sea view and you can see the whole beach too. The breakfast is served at the veranda overlooking the sea. Fantastic! The Indian staff is so friendly and helpful and really hard working, sometimes too hard to be good for them really. And I can really recommend the Ayur Vedic massage clinic located at the Rococco. Very professional, clean and a great experience! We were staying at Rococco at the most busy season between Christmas and New Year with a lot of partying going on. Then the silent beautiful beach is spoiled by bad high volume music, alcohol and drugs unfortunately.
Next to the hotel lies a big rave-trance-techno bar that partly destroyed our and other peoples stay. Playing very very loud music through the whole night. Horrible!
While we were there the bar situated at the restaurant and the lobby was runned by Ukrainians or Russians. They seemed to drink half of the bar themselves, didn´t speak to anyone or smile to anybody and they also played the music they liked very loud. Dining there one evening wasn´t a pleasant experience at all.
Probably this place is completely different when not in a busy season and families with children can enjoy it too but we will not come back during party season for sure!
I remember Ashvem Beach to be a beautiful, peaceful and unique place. Being there now we many times asked ourselves; what is really going on here?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onthemove2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaroquePearl, Owner at Rococco Ashvem, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for thoughtful review. We are pleased that our staff efforts are appreciated. Please be assured that we take good care of our staff and their work hours are regulated. We are proud to be in process of building a good staff team. It is true that the Ashvem area and North Goa are quite different at Xmas time - with loud music and parties - and it is the case that it reverts back to tranquility from mid January. The bar next door has had an official government warning now for breaking noise regulations and I hope that this issue is now resolved. As for unfriendly bar staff - some staff were temporary for the busy period and we assure you that each one of our current service staff serves in a positive manner including smiles!
Please do visit again in low season - its cheaper and quiet...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    135
    33
    19
    26
See reviews for
85
141
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Rococco@Ashvem is in one word GREAT. Located tantalisingly close to the sea it has breathtaking views both from the restuarent and the room. The cuisine has both international and Indian flavours. They also have a spa which offers authentic ayurvedic massages and treatments. The service is good and the place is run by a warm couple Joy and Roz. North Goa compared to Souh Goa has so much more to offer and Rococco just represents that.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renu50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaroquePearl, Owner at Rococco Ashvem, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated by the whole team here at Rococco. We are pleased that we have 100% guest satisfaction with our spa. It is cool, clean and authentic. Look out for our special spa packages over the monsoon season. By the way Ashvem area has been dubbed 'the new Goa' in peak season it is party town, but from now until December it is unspoilt, quiet and a cool place to hang out with lots of stylish beach front restaurants opening in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daman
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We booked the locations in the month of July end for dates in September 11, but for some reasons beyond any ones control the dates were postponed and then delayed again for reasons , finally we managed to reach Rocco on 6th November 2011 , It took roughly 20 Hrs to reach Rocco fro Daman by road , the roads connecting Goa are pathetic , It took 7 hours to reach from Kollahpur (157kms) to Goa and finally to Rocco , the location is very pure and ideal for a peace full holidays along family , the rooms are nice well maintained to note Its more like a home , how we operate at home , there are no room service available , you have to manage for things on your own , The team rocco is very energetic and very courteous , we had a very nice sweet interactions during morning break fast and evening dinner time.The menu which is available is a big issue for Indian travelers , as the dishes are not comfortable , even if you order for Indian food , the taste is not at par , This is a humble request to the Team Rocco to please do some major changes in there menu card for Indian food , Apart from food the stay at Rocco was really a memorable , we still remember of the sound of the waves coming thru the windows and the balcony , the lively view from the front of the lobby , the silent beaches with clean n clear ocean waters very safe for kids to play calmly , my son age 7 years daily remembers the beach side , he remmebrs the clean sand to play on an d the wonderful Team of rocco , always smiling , we remember one Team member Yakub whom we named You Tube , a carbon copy of the Famous Indian singer Mr Chang ,,,this guy was so charming n humble that we wish him best wishes Altogether the trip to rocco is a memorable one, Thanks to the Owners Mr Joy and Ms Roslyn , Few things which we want to add here for modification is , so that even Indian travelers feel comfortable :-
1* To Add more options in Indian menu
2*To make room service more effective

Over all Thanks to Mr Joy and Ms Roslyn for serving so good and wish to visit you and your Team Rocco soon .With room No.09 only .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saurabhsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaroquePearl, Owner at Rococco Ashvem, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. For your information the beach road between Mandrem and Morjim (with Ashvem in between - where Rococco is located) has recently been resurfaced and widened so it is now a smooth ride.
We have just updated and expanded our menu which now provides a wide selection of European and Indian cuisine. Since we are small and beautiful we can also serve Indian food which is not included on the menu - so a guest can have their favourite dishes - like home away from home. We also cater for strict vegetarians - I am one myself.
We are now developing an amended room service menu.
Thank you for your feedback - we are acting on it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rococco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Rococco was just as promised. Great location, in fact should be among the best locations in Goa. We stayed in the super-deluxe room just added to the hotel this month. The room was huge with complete sea view. The hotel has an infinity swimming pool which is a great hang out place. The food is good especially the dishes cooked by the in house Russian chef Costa. The hotel has a spa which I cannot comment upon as we did not use it. The sea was therapy enough. On the downsize the service is a tad slow during peak hours.

Room Tip: Try for the two super deluxe rooms for stunner views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiRads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaroquePearl, Owner at Rococco Ashvem, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate it. We are pleased that our new Super Deluxe rooms, which have glass windows from floor to ceiling giving panaromic views of the ocean are now our most popular rooms. We are very proud of of our food - we have fantastic European and Indian Chefs. As part of our responsible tourism approach we employ inexperienced service staff from remote areas of India and train them as part of a career path in hospitality, but this does mean that early in the season our service can sometimes be less than perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rococco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

while u r promised simple sophistication, what you get is undue stress and a horrid experience on arrival. u r promised earth and the moon on the website, what u r given is 3 hours of waiting to check into your room, and still u dont get ur room...oh no...u get a refund, so that u are left at 7 in the evning without a place to stay in and u r n hour n half away from the main goa.
shame on Rococco. our 5 days of relaxation have turned into 5 days of nothing to look forward to. we feel cheated.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandhyadayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaroquePearl, Owner at Rococco Ashvem, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
We are very sorry for your disappointing experience and understand your frustration bearing in mind you have posted 2 reviews - the other is headed 'Cheats u of ur time...'. It is regrettable that the guests occupying room 9 had not vacated their room due to a cancelled flight. The guests with the cancelled flight had gone out of the resort but we contacted them by phone and they agreed to return and vacate this room. The situation was explained to these guests but they did then have to wait for the room to be vacated and enjoyed complimentary drinks during this period. They then regretably spoke to our staff in an angry manner. Each rooms does have tv, mini-bar a.c. etc. The guests then moved to another hotel and we of course gave them a refund without fuss. After 2 days they then contacted us requesting to return to Rococco and we would have been very pleased to welcome them back but we were unfortunately fully booked by then. We therefore arranged a complimentary taxi to take these guests to our sister property where they received our best room with 20% discount. We have apologised for inconvenience caused and have offered a complimentary 2 night stay in future. There was no intention to cheat, building works were at our entrance but away from guests rooms, and we tried to met the needs of both sets of guests wanting to occupy room 9 - one of our most popular rooms. We will of course strive to improve ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pernem
4.6 km away
Lotus Sutra
Lotus Sutra
#1 of 3 in Arambol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.8 km away
Montego Bay Beach Village
0.1 km away
Boomerang Resort
Boomerang Resort
#10 of 12 in Mandrem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
2.3 km away
Riva Beach Resort
Riva Beach Resort
#1 of 12 in Mandrem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.8 km away
La Cabana Beach & Spa
La Cabana Beach & Spa
#6 of 11 in Ashvem Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rococco Ashvem? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rococco Ashvem

Property: Rococco Ashvem
Address: | Ashvem Beach, Pernem 403527, India
Region: India > Goa > Pernem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pernem
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,707 - ₹ 11,535
Hotel Class:3 star — Rococco Ashvem 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rococco Ashvem resort is a secluded idyll on the unspoilt North coast of Goa. Rococco has 26 new double beach lodges equipped with western facilities, super deluxe suites and deluxe lodges have panoramic views, located directly on the beach. The resort includes an international style restaurant, and sunset lounge bar. It hosts a range of events and parties throughout the season for uber cool clientele. Excellent service is guaranteed with the owners being an ex-pat from the UK and a Goaphile from Kolkata. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ClearTrip, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Rococco Ashvem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rococco Ashvem Goa/Pernem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing