We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,231)
Filter reviews
1,231 results
Traveller rating
355
405
244
131
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
405
244
131
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conference hotel housing estate leisure facilities steam room restaurant manager good size groupon deal trouser press breakfast was buffet style pool and gym bar prices night break quiet location modern hotel course meal reception staff bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
544 - 549 of 1,231 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We had a lovely warm welcome as we arrived. Staff where helpful and chatty to you. We did a package. This was through travel zoo so we paid £89 for a standard double room with a 2 course evening meal with a free bottle of red or white wine. With breakfast . We paid an extra £18 to upgrade our room was well worth it. The pool and spa was lovely . Over all a very nice relaxed time away.

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Rycroft, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Victoria E,

Thank you for your great 5* review following your stay. I was really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the interactions with the team and that you had a lovely, relaxing time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards
Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Booked as a treat for my hubby(in March 12/13th) with high expectations even after reading some of the not so good reviews. Well maybe we should have heeded some of them !!!! Reception was efficient though not very friendly Nothing was explained regarding facilities available Just quick directions to room. Having deposited our bags went for drink in bar (1bar person despite wedding party in & out )Slow service. Then I know they say variety is spice of life but didn't expect to be confronted by a rat running around the area where the free tea & coffee was set up in the bar . When I went to reception to tell them( as other staff just came to stare at it) their attitude was really ! not in our hotel !!!! Then they came to have a look at the poor creature Finally some man came along with a broom & tried to sweep it out. The tiled floor area was then not even cleaned which to us just seemed disgusting.
The hotel was cold the whole time even though lots of people complained
And the fridge despite being plugged in decided not to work which was greeted with a shrug & I'll take a note of that.
We are not overly fussy people & try very hard not to leave negative reviews but when the 2 course dinner with wine that was part of the deal we had paid for turned out to be a luke warm buffet
Sad to say It just wasn't the relaxing weekend break we had looked forward too

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Rycroft, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Eleanor B,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am disappointed to read that your experience was not as expected and you were disappointed in your visit. I have reviewed your comments with my team and we will address any training needs to ensure that our service and standards are improved. Having investigated your comments, it appears that a field mouse had found its way into the hotel. As you were able to surmise from the reaction of our team this is not something that has previously happened. As the hotel is set in 22 acres of countryside and woodland there is always the chance of unexpected visitors however, I do wish to assure you that we have robust health & safety procedures in place including service contracts with an accredited pest control company to ensure we minimise the opportunities for the local wlidlife to encroach in the property.

Again, thank you for your feedback and if you would care to discuss this further please message me directly through Trip Advisor.

Best regards,

Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Booked directly with the hotel, and got a deal on evening meal. Room a nice size, good to have a desk to use wi fi, good nights sleep on a comfortable bed.

Bar prices what you would expect in a quality hotel, good quality well kept stella. Meal was excellent - we had 2 courses from the specials menu and were stuffed at the end. Quality food well presented and value for money.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wessex_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Rycroft, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear wessex-Chris,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Newbury races. My team and I appreciate the 5* review and we are delighted that you had a great meal and a good nights' sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Alexandra House when you next visit.

Best regards,
Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

we booked this hotel through travelzoo once again we was'nt let down by one of their deals... cracking food.. cracking rooms... and cracking spa!!! all the staff were really friendly though with 2 functions on ..r;a;f get together and a wedding, bar was a bit short staffed on the saturday night!! i some times wonder if the continual moaners and whingers on here live in palaces with butlers and maids cos they seem to think the staff and hotel are just there for them and not the other guests!! bar and snacks quite pricey but expected really in a top class hotel £4 for a small latte made the eyes water a bit lol.. thanks to all the staff me and the other half really enjoyed our short stay :)

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickytleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Rycroft, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear rickytleeds,

We were delighted to welcome you back to the hotel and I am pleased that you found the dinner plus two night stay package on Travelzoo such great value! You are corrrect that on that Saturday evening we were busy with a wedding, a private dinner function and a full restaurant, so I thank you for your understanding that the team were doing their absolute best to meet the needs of all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warm regards,
Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Gorgous setting, peaceful and spacious .Extreamly clean and welcoming. Lovely smiley reception staff. Easy quick check in. The food in the restaurant was very good. Great choice and presentation and taste was excellent. BUT....The poor staff in the restaurant were completly clueless. They had , had no training at all in service in a restaurant. There was no help for the poor under staffed workers. The duty managers seemed oblivious to them. They were just going from bad to worse. The queues for the ding room breakfast were getting longer. No tea or coffee until you asked , 3 or 4 times. No tables laid up, or cleared. Guests were clearing tables, waiting for the buffet to be replenished. There was no explanation or apologies from the clueless managers.
Such a shame because the weekend was spoilt for a lot of guests.
Please take the time to train your staff.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Rycroft, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Beverley S,

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your stay. Naturally, I am disappointed that we fell short on our service standards in the restaurant. Your feedback has been shared with my management team and any training needs will be addressed.

I am pleased that you found our setting to be gorgeous, that your arrival experience at check in was friendly and that the hotel was clean and welcoming.

Kind regards,
Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews