We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Small but enjoyable.

Being National Trust members we tend to visit one or two locations if we are away from home and... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2018
normanr567
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
The Colour Purple

Not, by any means, the National Trust's largest or most impressive property, but well worth a... read more

Reviewed 9 September 2018
Andrew G
,
York
Read all 201 reviews
  
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
81
83
28
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
83
28
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust tea room old church main hall nt members fascinating history knowledgeable volunteers car park beautiful house cakes small house tea and cake non members ironbridge area short visit small scale at busy times
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Benthall Hall. The staff were friendly and engaging but considering it was a 16th century house, it wasn't that interesting.

Thank JoWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited Benthall on a sunny October afternoon. A walk around the rooms downstairs and upstairs reveale an interesting story about the family.Took a stroll around the well kept gardens. Finished off by partaking of a pot of tea waitress served in the courtyard all very civilised China cups and saucers.

Thank TripMember020820161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Being National Trust members we tend to visit one or two locations if we are away from home and where slightly disappointed that while staying in the Bridgnorth area most of the local properties have such limited opening times, however we did manage to fit in a visit to Benthall Hall while traveling back home from a weeks break.
Benthall Hall is on NT scales quite a small property with a small selection of rooms open to the public, however it has a fascinating history from civil war skirmishes to its near demolition and recovery in the 20th. century and this was, on our visit, explained by some very very good NT volunteers. The gardens are also well worth a enjoyable stroll around and the coffee and cakes at the small café where up to typical NT quality, however ever I must stress the “small café “ which consisted of a few outside tables and table service. Overall though a pleasant way to spend a few hours. Adult entry is £7, with a family ticket at £17.30 plus l believe parking is charged, but for members both are free.

2  Thank normanr567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Really enjoyed our first visit to Benthall Hall which is a fascinating insight into the Bentall family though the centuries. The house is easy to get around and the volunteers are most helpful with great insight into the uses of each of the rooms. Unusually for NT properties photography is permitted downstairs (but not upstairs). Excellent coffee shop with seating near the beautiful gardens which even in September were impressive from winter crucus to roses. Car Park Machine not in use at time of visit - it is chargeable for non NT members. Access Tuesday and Wednesday afternoon only.

Thank Lord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Not, by any means, the National Trust's largest or most impressive property, but well worth a couple of hours' exploration. The house itself is quite small, and can get very busy. It's probably best to explore the delightful gardens and try one of two parkland walks before attempting the free flow house tour. That strategy allows time for the eager beavers to vacate the house. Fewer than 10 rooms are open to the public. The tearoom is pretty good, with outdoor seats. I found the two-mile 'purple' parkland walk excellent. It went through a SSSI woodland and offered fine views into the Ironbridge Gorge. At one point, the path looks down on the decommissioned Ironbridge Power Station, with its distinctive pink cooling towers. A visit to this property can easily be combined with English Heritage's nearby Buildwas Abbey and Wenlock Priory.

Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

One of the smaller NT properties but no less interesting than many of the better known larger ones. You'll need to plan a visit because of limited opening but well worth making the effort.

We started with the tea room situated in the house. It's very small but there are more tables outside. The menu is rather limited but we had very nice cream tea. We then toured the house with more rooms than we were expecting to see, considering the Benthall family still live in part of the Hall. The volunteers are friendly and informative and there are plenty of information sheets as well. We particularly liked the newspaper style cuttings which room by room told the story of how the house was saved from demolition and then handed over to the Trust.

The peaceful gardens are worth seeing with some of the best kept lawns and greenest grass we have seen all summer. All in all, a very enjoyable visit .

Thank demoncodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Even though this is a small property it is well worth a look with a lovely walking route through to Ironbridge

Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

A very nice and little property. Very welcoming people keen on explaining each and every detail. Very interestin the story about how the house was saved.

Thank Fernando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely car park with a short walk to the house. When we first entered we were greeted by a lovely friendly Gentleman who advised what room to start in. A lady gave a talk about the people who lived in the hall over the decades, it was very interesting. Mary Clementina Benthall was an extraordinary woman. The gardens were lovely. With deckchairs for you to sit in. It's a lovely place to visit with some nice NT volunteers. I will definitely visit again.

Thank terristar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely national trust property to visit that is close the house. Good for a family visit with children.

Thank Olivia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews