We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Tombreck is on the beach and boasts magnificent sea views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tombreck is on the beach and boasts magnificent sea views
The Cabin View from Tombreck toward Sovereign Harbour,Eastbourne and Beachy Head at low tide.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Tombreck is on the beach and boasts magnificent sea views
The Cabin
View from Tombreck toward Sovereign Harbour,Eastbourne and Beachy Head at low tide.
Tombreck from the sea at high tide. Tombreck is on the right at the edge of the picture.
The beach is loved by all. You can walk for miles when the tide is out.
The beach gardens are truly beautiful in May/ June
Calm sea and seagulls add to the charm
The bustling restuarants in Sovereign Harbour just a short drive away
Fishing in a calm sea at high tide
Sea view from the lounge
Summer plants in the front garden
Crew room
Vintage additions
View from the Crew room
The 'Bridge'
Tombreck from Coast Road
The Beach
Tombreck frontage
1940's wardrobe
Tombreck from the air
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Pevensey Bay, Pevensey, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stonepitt...
tunbridge wells
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Having been here before & had amazing weather , we visited again , in September ,we must be so lucky with the weather , you really could imagine you were on a beach In the south of France ,the location is incredible ,we hope to return again next year, by the way ,many thanks for the lovely welcome basket , such a brilliant touch, Tombreck , we hope to see you again very soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Here are some photographs of this dirty,dated and horribly neglected 'home'”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Please see photographs of the interior of 'Tombreck' and wonder, along with us, who on earth is leaving rave reviews. Our hearts sank as soon as we entered the property through the kitchen with its filthy, ancient, greasy carpet, gaping hole where the previously advertised washing machine had once stood and the cooker with worn off instructions replaced by handwritten permanent marker notations. Really! The filthy cutlery drawer, pans and fridge-freezer compounded the misery. Oh god! The main bed! How old is it? Rusty springs sticking out of a discoloured mattress, topped with layers of dated mattress covers. The 'welcome pack' was insulting. It consisted of two out of date sample hot drinks, an old bottle of shampoo and a cheap toothbrush torn from a value pack. The greasy carpets continued throughout the place as did the scurf and dust. 2 'PVC' sofas had 'throws' on them because the PVC had worn off. The satellite TV does not exist. It's Freeview. The DVD did not work. Rusty radiators. Broken sockets. Hairdryer back broken and stuck together with an old sticker. Black mould on ceilings. Don't move the dining table! The 'mended' broken leg nearly buckled and broke when we tried. Thank god it was covered by a filthy tablecloth! The bathroom was new due to previous complaints. The view is wonderful. The interior falls so far below acceptable levels that it was truly farcical. When I complained to the owner, he said he did not rent this on a commercial basis. This was confusing since we had paid 750 quid for an out of season week. Oh, my wife developed red itchy rash all over her limbs. Oh and the 'quaint triangular wardrobe', along with most of the other mismatched charity shop type cast off furniture is stuffed with their belongings. Oh and the Z bed. Ha ha! Please no! Hey ho, I could go on but well, I need to lie down. Thank god it's not on any of their beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The filthy outdated interior.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Oh dear what a nasty review ! especially when I had agreed to let this guest bring his dog and his guinea pig with him to our family holiday home. It seems totally unbelievable that two people only a few weeks apart can have such different views on our home(see feedback). I do accept this is no penthouse suite, as I explain in the listing, but this is a beach holiday home and yes it does have an eclectic mix of furniture and yes there is an Ottoman with our bedding in it. It is however NOT dirty. I received a telephone call from this person on the day before he was due to leave, complaining. Why wait 6 days, had he rung me earlier I would have asked the cleaner to return and do a further clean.

In response to specific issues raised :
- the carpet is flotex throughout chosen for its ability to repel water. It is NOT grease ridden.
- the Sony DVD does work
- Yes the TV is a Sony 40" flat screen and is Freeview.
- the cooker is not new but is clean and works very well
- the fridge freezer is fairly new
- there was some dust on the small table under shelf
- some radiators do have slight rust marks
- there is a crack on one of the plug sockets
- the beds are protected by mattress covers that can be seen in his picture. We ask visitors to bring their own bedding.
- Yes the bathroom and shower are new.
- the 'welcome pack' is just that and had a mixture of chocolates, coffee, tea, shower jel and details of places to visit.
- As for the rash I expect the Guinea pig was responsible for that.

If this guest had spent more time looking out of the Windows and enjoying the uninterrupted view of the English Channel rather than going through our bungalow with a fine tooth comb then he may have enjoyed his holiday more.
Maybe we get rave reviews because most visitors come for a holiday and not to conduct a property survey.

And to top it all when my cleaner visited, after they had left, she said that all the furniture had be moved to different rooms and the place was left in a terrible state.

Having said all that I do accept you cannot please all the people all of the time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jq1959201...
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tom-Brilliant!”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Tombreck with my son,mum and my labrador Jimi! The weather was appaulling but we were fine watching the rain from the comfort of the lounge!
The bungalow had all the home comforts one would expect and the beds were very comfy.
Parking was good and the shop being so close was convenient. Being right on the beach was excellent as as soon as the sun came out we were out there!
I wouldn't hesitate to stay at "Tombreck" again.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKMax
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thankyou for a brilliant holiday at Tombreck. The location is beautiful and we had such a wonderful, relaxing week. The thoughtful little touches like an Easter egg because it was Easter week were so lovely. Already been in touch with owner to book again. Thankyou so much!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudsk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect, peaceful and comfortable.”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We planned a nights top at the coast and had a very pleasant time relaxing and taking in the beautiful see view. The property has everything you need. Would highly recommend this place for a super beachside break. Great access to many attractions and neighbouring towns and villages. Thanks for a great stay.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing