We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
453
124
24
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
124
24
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews papaya restaurant costa rica guacamole boutique hotel an oasis busy road playa brasilito small hotel the main road the entire staff delicious food live music superior room minute walk owners and staff welcome drink included breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best thing about staying at Conchal Hotel is the people, in particular Simon and Hilda, who manage the establishment. You feel at home as soon as you arrive due to the warm welcome and efficient, friendly service. We got there at around midday and straight away we were shown to our spacious, air conditioned room right by the pool (although all the rooms are near the pool). After such a long journey we were rather hungry so we tried the Papaya restaurant which could be found on the first floor. it was open more or less all day with a menu which can cater for all tastes. What we weren't prepared for was the incredible quality of the cuisine. Whether it was breakfast, lunch, dinner or simply a light snack by the pool after returning from the beach, the food was exquisite. Along with the friendly service and great value for money, dining there was a pleasure and we ate there most nights.
The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the beach and Brasilito town although if you have a car, there a multitude of beautiful beaches and places to visit. Even if you don't have transport (as in our case) you can book all manner of excursions at the hotel reception. I highly recommend the sailboat snorkling/sunset tour - breathtaking.
Thank you Simon and Hilda and all the staff for making our Costa Rica experience unforgettable.

Andy, La Coruña

Room Tip: Makes no difference. You can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank murphy20112018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Restaurant and staff were excellent, food was delicious and fresh.This hotel is located in a small town, beach is a ten minute walk away, not much to see or do in the town. Rooms were clean and had AC which was a pleasant surprise, lots of critters and animals near or around property, would return.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We received a fabulous welcome from Gustavo. This is a beautiful hotel next to one of the most stunning beaches in Costa Rica. They have made every effort to create a great stay with thoughtful elements in the rooms, a delicious restaurant with amazing cocktails (I recommend the guacamole with a mango margarita), and the entire staff is nothing but lovely and friendly. If you're coming to Costa Rica, this place is a MUST!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon P, Manager at Conchal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, we are so glad you enjoyed your time in Brasiito. And thank you for booking your stay through our own website where you found the best rates! Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

The staff was very friendly and told us that if there was anything we needed or anything they could do to help us enjoy our stay to let them know. We were given delicious welcome drinks as soon as we arrived. Our room had air conditioning, a safe and a tv. We loved the tropical setting around the pool and found the pool to be clean and refreshing. It was walking distance to Conchal Beach and there are other hotels and restaurants nearby. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, the Tico breakfast is great, and they have other options as well.

There were a few things that could be improved at this hotel but we didn't mention them to the staff because Brasilito is less developed than other areas we visited while in CR so these things may be common in other hotels in this city.

You cannot flush tp down the toilet (there is a trashcan provided and its changed daily), there was very little water pressure in the shower so the water just trickled out, the wifi was weak in bedroom but we could get it just outside our door in courtyard (and there were chairs there for us to use), the lighting in the room was very dim, and the noise from cars driving down the street woke me up at night.

I chose this hotel because it was near Playa Conchal. I was disappointed with Conchal beach because all the the shells on the beach were pieces of shells, I hunted around for a while and found only a couple complete shells. Go to Playa Avellana if you want to find cool shells.This was the least expensive of the four hotels we stayed at in various regions of CR. We did notice more expensive/fancy hotels nearby at Playa Flamingo, but we were happy with Conchal hotel and appreciated the lower price.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelleyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon P, Manager at Conchal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank for your visit and your review. Sorry you did not mention any of your concerns at the time of your visit as we would have been very happy to explain or fix the issues, as always our priority is that our guests enjoy their stay with us.
There are no sewerage system in remote areas of Costa Rica so septic tank systems do not take toilet paper. This does not seem to be an issue for the vast majority of our guests, who realize that things might not be the same as at home when visiting a remote area in a developing country. The water pressure could have been fixed immediately with an inspection of the shower head, which we would have been very happy to do if you had told us. We do not advertise as having wi-fi in all rooms, but rather some rooms and all public areas.
We will be revising the lighting issue and appreciate you letting us know about this.

Finally regarding shells please note that there are fewer shells around because of people taking them for souveneirs. As well as being environmentally bad practice, it is also illegal to remove shells from beaches in CR. This is mentioned in the information books in each room.

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us in Brasilito, we wish you happy travels for the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Owners Hilda and Simon, and barman/waiter Gustav, were awesome! It was our first place in CR after a long flight and they welcomed us with open arms (and a welcomed drink). Room was nice and equipped with everything we needed. Only disturbance was an iguana skittering around on the roof a bit. :-) Pool was perfect for a quick cool down, and all were helpful with suggestions on where to go. The town was small, our preference, and it was a short drive to a couple other cute towns and beaches. The restaurant was also delicious and they had coffee readily available.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon P, Manager at Conchal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you so much for your visit and your review. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Brasilito. And thank you for booking directly through our website where our guests will always find the best rates. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews