We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
167
32
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
32
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergas fireconference roomgrape vinesconference venuetennis courtsminute drivemain bedroomliving areaswimming poolroom layoutwashing machine and dryerfully equipped kitchencomfortable bedssaturday morningnice deckwedding guests
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Large, modern and great indoor/outdoor flow. Main bedroom was next to driveway used by 4 other units, and had no privacy or opening windows, so we chose to sleep in the second bedroom off if the lounge. That room and the lounge had opening windows, but none had mosquito netting so we didn't sleep well.

The swimming pool was crowded and the water looked murky, but there are nice beaches nearby so we skipped using the pool.

At some times of day the queue of cars entering Matakana extends beyond the intersection with Green Rd, making it challenging to drive into town (until someone lets you into the queue).

We were searching for boutique accommodation. This wasn't boutique, but it was of a high standard. If they install insect screens we would have given 5 stars.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Juerg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We decided to stay in the Matakana region over a long weekend and chose Riverside. What a great choice that turned out to be !
The complex itself is only a few minutes drive from Matakana Village and short drive form a wide choice of beaches. Well designed units are clustered in a few groupings, which are set amongst manicured grounds and a small vineyard.
Cleaver plantings ensures privacy.
The units are essentially small holiday homes, the one we were in had two bathrooms and was well appointed. One of the bathrooms contained a washing machine and dryer. A small kitchen would allow self catering, and has all the basic kitchen utensils that you would need, complete with a small refrigerator, microwave, cooking top, and a dish washer it's well set up. Complete with sky ( the NZ version of cable ), stable free wifi , and daily servicing it's a great holiday spot.
A spacious living area would suit a small family staying as the unit itself had 2 double beds and a sleep-out in converted garage alongside could sleep another two in single beds . The units were very clean and clearly well maintained. Large sliding doors and large windows allows maximum sunlight ( and breeze if required ). A deck outside alongside the grape vines is a nice outdoor area. Contained in the Riverside complex is a swimming pool / tennis court and boat ramp.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rsuyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

We have visited this complex three times since we found it on our biannual pilgrimage to NZ. What a beautiful location. The Bach is well thought through providing all you need to cook, sleep and relax. I can't rate it high enough.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Slowworms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We are a family of 6. 2 boys and 2 girls aged 10 - 17. We were joined by another family with 1 boy. It is a perfect set up as you have 2 houses next to each other. The house itself is 2 bedrooms, with a sleep out adjoining the main house.
It is fully serviced, so it's great coming back to your beds made, dishwasher put on and a clean place!
There is a swimming pool here and a tennis court. They supply you with swimming towels. So that is one less thing you need to pack. They also empty your rubbish and recycle bins daily.
There is a washing machine and dryer, and even a clothes horse, which I placed under the pagoda in between the main house and sleep out, clothes dried very well.
Matakana village is a 3 min drive down the road, which is very handy.
It works perfect for us, but my brother was staying with friends at another house here, he has a 1 year old, and they were staying in the sleep out. He found it quite awkward to go to the toilet at night as you have to walk in the bedrooms in the main house to access the toilets.
There is also wifi which is a must with kids these days!
This is our second time here, and will certainly be coming back again. Absolutely love this place.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank HelenGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

We booked here for a 3 day break and couldn't have been more delighted. Lovely and quiet with amazing views and we've never stayed somewhere that was so well equipped. Great BBQ on the deck with every cooking utensil needed. Nice and close to town and close to some really great wineries. We'll be back!!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews