We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
167
32
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
32
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergas fireconference roomgrape vinesconference venuetennis courtsminute drivemain bedroomliving areaswimming poolroom layoutwashing machine and dryerfully equipped kitchencomfortable bedssaturday morningnice deckwedding guests
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here as a large group for a family wedding held in nearby Acsension Vineyard. Beautifully appointed units, everything you could need! On-site managers fantastic in looking after all needs whilst staying. Cleaning staff wonderfully engaging & friendly. Be warned though - the lighting on the property is non-exsistant. There is lighting leading in the main driveway to the Reception but to get to the units there is none. We found out the hard way when returning one night a family member took a nasty fall in a ditch beside the gravel roads. She ended up with one leg in plaster & one in a moon boot! Managers were fantastic in enquiring about her welfare however this could not be said for the owner who had a 'care less' attitude about the incident. Suggestions to improve the lighting for future guests fell on deaf ears. Very poor follow up and duty of care from owner. Disappointing end to the otherwise fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronnie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Our travel agent booked us in here for a night during a touring holiday. It was fantastic, gorgeous spot and a brilliant unit in great condition. We had spent a week in hotels and to able to spread out, cook, wash clothes and the like was great. First class stay and we will definitely go back if we are in the area in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMQuestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

we booked this baches via internet.ariving in auckland we drove to matakan ,only 80 km,since we liked to startnour nz trip with some days relaxing and overcoming the jet lag.
riverside was a very good desission .super quiet location,modern design and with everything one needs.we stayed 5 nights and made excursions to the north as well as to auckland.matakana itself is a beautifull little town with good restaurants,cinema a very nice market on the weekend.we have been very happy at riverside and it has been a perfekt start of our trip through nz

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfgang3633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Riverside is quite unique ; the bach style was a little offputting at first until we settled in.I was a little concerned at the lack of a conventional oven (there is a microwave and hob) until I noticed the steel barbecue and broiler. It's much more fun than being in the kitchen and cooked everything from steaks to grilled vegetables. The sleepout idea is fun , but more suitable for younger children. Our two teenagers stayed in the main accomodation with us and pronounced it comfortable.

The bach itself is beautifully appointed; good sized bathrooms and comfy beds.The place was perfectly clean and well serviced.The manager was delightful and very helpful.A broken dvd player was replaced within minutes.

The Riverside grounds are probably it's strongest point. It's delightful to sit outside on the deck, surrounded by tui and kereru, drinking the local wines.It may have been the wine or the complete and utter tranquillity and quiet of the place, but I've never slept better.I am really looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: If you have little children, try and get a bach close to the pool/tennis area.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 284Blatter284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We spend 4 days enjoying the facilities and area, and found the accomodation hard to fault. The accommodation was modern and practical for a family of 5. The facilities were brilliant and created some endless memories of tennis, swimming & fishing ( kids caught 5 fish) off the private jetty. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and maintain a picture perfect environment. Highly recommend, and already planning our return !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews