We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly awesome”
Review of Awesome Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alibaug
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Awesome Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

After lot of search we zeroed in on this cottage. The place is not in the crowded Alibaug but a quiet place Chaul.

The ambience is very nice with the rooms clean with a ethnic look and modern amenities.

The best part is that the owner and the staff are actually very friendly and caring. The food is homely and delicious.

if you are looking for quite getaway, strongly recommend this place.

Nikhil Bhandarkar

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nrbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

We are basically amateur, budget travellers primarily looking to explore spots, preferably less exploited ones (commercially), at 'drive-able' distances (around 200 kms) from Borivali - it is a recently developed zest to make up for time lost!

So, on this occasion, the target destination was the coastal stretch of Alibaug. After some online research, decided on Awesome Cottage at Chaul - some 15 kms farther from Alibaug. On speaking to the owner, Mr Ninad Raote, we could land an all-inclusive composite package for the weekend of October 19 & 20, 2013.

Location - Situated as it is away from the beaten track, the place needs some tracking down, but once you are there, it could just be your own home in some scenic rural setting - the feel is good enough to get over not so pleasant stretches of drive from north Mumbai.

Stay - The time we visited, October heat was just about making itself felt & the air conditioning unit needed to stand up, and it did! We had preferred the Super Deluxe room for a family of 3 adults and a child, and it was all that it promised on their website - no false promises, illusions. The place was well manned by the Manager (relative to the owner) & his key men, including the chef. Though we were the only group visiting at that time, there was no letting up on their part - we had the right kind of attention through-out.

In fact, am told, the place is still being done up & they shall have a lot more to offer in the future - my wishes to Mr Raote for his endeavours...

Places to visit - Now, ideally, if you are travelling from Mumbai, it should be a longish kind of week-end that you should be looking to spend here - at least, the 3D / 2N kind of plan that provides you ample time to see all the major attractions without rushing. With our kind of time constraints, we actually had to do a bit of rushing, but were lucky enough to do just the right things - of course, that meant leaving out a few things for round 2. Hopefully, as advised by the owner, this happens in the winter period.

While we covered 4 beaches (Revdanda, Kashid, Murud, Nagaon) & 2 temples (Shitladevi & Birla Mandir), we couldn't do Datta Mandir & Janjira Fort. Of the beaches, we spent maximum time at Murud - in fact, we did the Murud beach only at the insistence of the owner, and were glad we did it! It is a longish, but very pleasant near 40-km stretch from the cottage. Enroute, we halted at the more famous (and more exploited) Kashid beach - look at the white sands & you know why the place is flocked. Having said that, were pretty glad we focussed more on the Murud beach with its green waters - probably focussed too much & gave the famous fort a royal miss! Haven't been to any water park (!), but surely the beach experience (and the one like Murud), can't be beaten? Am sure my 9-year old just had a lifetime memory sketch done..

This coastline has a lot to offer & really pray we are blessed enough to lap up more in the future.

Food - Our package had the food options covered as well and so we had all our meals at the cottage. While it was very good, we might look to have some customization happen the next time we come visiting - idea is, we could bring in fish-catch of our liking / suggest few preferences & let the chef treat us a notch higher! Having said that, we relished whatever they had to offer...

Tips - To explore the area to its fullest, it is best that you have your own private vehicle - opens up a lot of options.

Room Tip: Let the owner guide you with your requirements - these people are genuine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandeepSuseelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just been to Awesome Cottage in Chaul.. amazing experience.. was really taken back by the friendly service. The cottage itself is built with amazing details of the past. It really feels like you are living in a 18th century Indian house. (at the same time it is equipped with all modern amenities like A/C and hot-water system etc.)
Especially great for family trips. Nice and relaxing atmosphere. The food is typical "Kokani" and very tasty.
The surroundings are really quite and you feel like you are part of the nature.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pentoarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Too good place to enjoy weekend with friends or Family.
Food was awesome, Full of greenery.
The owner was there all the time, and he told us that he is added more valuable things there.
like swimming pool, pool table, gym.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vikasnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The cottage is very well made with a retro touch. Very quite and private. The food was amazing. We were 23 people staying at this place for 2 nights. Menu of every meal was different and excellent. The service was really nice. Have never experienced anything better. The owner was there all the time to take care of any requests. I don't see myself staying at any other place when in Alibaug.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SandeepKadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alibaug hotels
56.5 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
12.9 km away
Big Splash
Big Splash
#14 of 17 in Alibaug
103 reviews
13.8 km away
Ruturaj Inn
Ruturaj Inn
#6 of 17 in Alibaug
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Elysium Spa Resort
Elysium Spa Resort
#1 of 43 in Alibaug
340 reviews
25.1 km away
Jogalekar Cottage
Jogalekar Cottage
#4 of 96 in Alibaug
127 reviews
7.0 km away
Sia Resort
Sia Resort
#8 of 17 in Alibaug
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awesome Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awesome Cottage

Address: Opp. Janhavi Lake, Near Shitaladevi Temple | Chaul, Agrav, Alibaug 402203, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Alibaug
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Alibaug
Price Range: ₹ 2,04,957 - ₹ 2,79,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A specialty lodging with an eco-friendly touch in the heart of nature located at Chaul in Alibaug, Maharashtra. Awesome cottages brings you modern comforts in traditional style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Awesome Cottage Alibaug, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing