We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
U Tropicana Alibaug
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Alibaug
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We were about five couples and we booked the houses with 2 bhk. The halls were spacious but the rooms were small and washrooms average. The rooms were fine but could have been much cleaner. The houses however are finely spaced and some are by the pool and some by the lawn. Not much difference we noticed between the two though. The food served is also average. The breakfast complimentary is a misleading thing as they serve only some toast and jam. I think some upma as well. Our group did have it but I skipped and really did not miss it.

I think the place is fine for groups if you decide to stay here. They are flexible with the pool timings, serving time and other things when requested and not very rigid as they accommodated a late check out for us.

Overall if one has to compare with other stays in the same prie bracket, this one was expensive by comparison and the overall experience average.

Room Tip: The single bedroom deluxe rooms are good and offer a elevated view and a better experience. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeepSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 614 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

We went there for a one night stay with us and two kids. The resort employees were very helpful and made our food as per our requirement. I felt that the breakfast spread could be increased by adding few items (especially corn flakes; chocos etc). The resort has an excellent garden space, that our children loved running around. Altogether an excellent place to enjoy a relaxed weekend with family and children.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Viswam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I had some visitors to Mumbai and needed somewhere to take them to escape the noise and chaos of the city. Tropicana turned out to be perfect.

We hired a large two bedroom cottage which was spacious and pleasant (and very different from my 'compact' Mumbai flat!). And from there it was simply a case of unwinding. The customer service was EXCELLENT - very accommodating to all of our needs. In Cajetan they have a remarkably friendly and thoughtful manager. So we had lunch, dinner and breakfast brought to our living room, all of which the quality was great, with most of the ingredients coming fresh from their kitchen garden.

They don't have an alcohol licence but were happy to keep the beers that we brought with us in a fridge, so that was no problem (and was actually worked cheaper that way). They even moved one of the TVs into the living room for us so we could watch some cricket, and let us use one of the lawns in the resort to set up our own game.

In the evening we took a taxi to Alibaug town (about 20-30min away), walked along the beach, made it over to the fort in a horse and carriage before the tide rose too high, and had some street food. All recommended, although I probably wouldn't want to spend a whole night in the town itself.

So this all made Tropicana a great retreat. There may not be a huge amount to do (everything revolves around the pool - but there may be some interesting walks in the surrounding countryside) so it's a good place for families - or for adults such as us who just want to take it easy for a day or two. It wasn't cheap - but everywhere in and around Mumbai is over-priced for accommodation so I think it reflects the market rate.

The real advantage was that after a pleasant 60min ferry ride from the Gateway of India and a 20min auto ride from the jetty, you can be somewhere so peaceful and so different to Mumbai itself. You can hear the birds, see the stars and wash the city out of your hair. I am sure I will take other visitors there for a night or two once Mumbai has become too much for them!

Room Tip: There were five of us, and they let us have a two-bedroom cottage and put in an extra mattress for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank LawrenceSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

had booked 6000 rs room but they suggested to book 1bhk hense booked that.stayed on 5-6 april 2012, the rooms are big but very old type not at all happy with the rates charged no coffee maker no mini fridge old type tv had no words to express as i was with my family the swimming pool in open filled with flies leaves had to get it cleaned the baby pool was worst, luckly in evening went to ckeck the 6000rooms which was smaller but new rooms hense degraded and move to those rooms, food takes only 1 hour to come to your room they dont have a bar also.
hense pl pay little more and go to raddission blue as we went for lunch there and its a far more beautifull property then tropicana pl take my advise and u will not regeret.... staff was good but we are paying to stay in good decent clean rooms and even 4000plus hotels have tea coffe maker lcd tv.. nowdays hense it is good for average hotel seekers not for elite class

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cyrus12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We booked a two-bedroom cottage at Tropicana and were very pleased with the overall experience. Decent property, very good service and situated 2 kms from the Kihim beach. Price was slightly high due to year-end season.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank hchheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alibaug hotels
52.3 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
7.7 km away
Maple IVY
Maple IVY
#4 of 17 in Alibaug
88 reviews
8.3 km away
Big Splash
Big Splash
#14 of 17 in Alibaug
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Ruturaj Inn
Ruturaj Inn
#5 of 17 in Alibaug
109 reviews
7.7 km away
Hotel Ravikiran
Hotel Ravikiran
#9 of 17 in Alibaug
123 reviews
8.1 km away
Ghanvatkar Bunglow at Zirad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Tropicana Alibaug? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Tropicana Alibaug

Address: Mapgaon Road | Near the village of Chondi, Alibaug 402208, India (Formerly Tropicana Resort)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Alibaug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Alibaug
Price Range: ₹ 5,212 - ₹ 18,177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Tropicana Alibaug 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PICTURESQUE ALIBAUG AWAITS YOU. U Tropicana Alibaug spread over 12 acres is located off Chondi Naka and just three kilometers from picturesque Kihim Beach. Tropically landscaped gardens and greenery allowing guests to forget about the worldly worries and bask in an atmosphere of ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation. All rooms and suites are decorated in an uncomplicated and contemporary design with local influences and U's unique concept of service. Facilities include an all day dining restaurant, lounge bar, spa, fitness centre and library for guests to catch up on news or sunk in their favourite books or magazines. U's unique concept of service including 24 hour room which will allow guests to enjoy their room for 24 hours from arrival as well as breakfast whenever/wherever during the stay, international and local calls at cost, pre-select amenities such as pillow, tea, music and soap that guests can select from our online U Choose programme and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, ClearTrip, Booking.com, Yatra and Hotels.com so you can book your U Tropicana Alibaug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Alibaug
U Tropicana Alibaug Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing