We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish! No menu choices!”
Review of Golden Eagle

Golden Eagle
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Carterton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 25
Description: A Greene King Value Local Pub set in Carterton. We have a great pub menu and fantastic beer garden. We have offers on Draft, Spirit and bottles throughout the week. All major live sporting events shown around the pub and on the big screen.
Restaurant details
Description: A Greene King Value Local Pub set in Carterton. We have a great pub menu and fantastic beer garden. We have offers on Draft, Spirit and bottles throughout the week. All major live sporting events shown around the pub and on the big screen.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Decided at the last minute to have lunch in Carterton. We chose the Golden Eagle and sat at a table. Eventually got up struggled to the bar and was told the menus were at the far end, Found two menus and made a choice, mixed grill for me and a steak for my partner. Back to the bar, no steaks, run out! No mixed grill because the skin on chicken breast had run out. My partner chose Chicken Masala and I ordered the two 4oz gammon egg and chips. Only served one gammon steak instead of two, was told that 8oz steaks had been supplied. Come on Greene King, I know you are more capable than this disappointing lunch.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Social media champion at Golden Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are sorry the items you wanted were unavailable but they have been such a popular choice this week. Please get in touch and allow us to WOW you. Your points on menu position have been noted and we will look into it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Today we visited the eagle after a long trip , we were tired and groggy and starving , upon entering the pub we were met by a lovely barmaid ( poppy) she was cheery and bubbly and instantly we felt welcome , she talked us through the menu and got us some delicious drinks (the gin selection here is great ) .
We had lots of "picky bits" from the menu and relaxed and felt at home in the relaxed setting . We will definitely be spending some more time here on our travels !! See you soon guys ! :)

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JackieD1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Social media champion at Golden Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review. I will pass on to Poppy. We are so happy you feel at home and relaxed in your local. Glad you like our gin selection, keep an eye as we are always adding more! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Often call in for a drink sometimes food.
Staff always really friendly and the whole family are welcome from the kids to granny and grandad. Food is nice and the prices are reasonable. What more could you ask for really.
Even free creme eggs for the kids at Easter.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Bryson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Social media champion at Golden Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, and the kids enjoyed their cream egg! hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Came here on a Wednesday evening was very busy. We ordered the chicken burger with tomato, ice burg lettuce, steak bacon, breaded chicken and burger sauce and came with fries and union rings. 2 of us were told there was a 40 minute wait and when food arrived one arrived with no onion rings however we did let the waiter know and he did come back with onion ring within a few minutes. The other two arrived nicely presented however chips were only just warm. The burger was very nice however there was no tomato and the lettuce wasn’t iceberg it was mixed leaf and some bits were soft not quite fresh. The bacon was cooked well and was nice and crispy. The value for the food was very good as we got an alcoholic drink for just £1.50 extra and came to under £10 each.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank ellied307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Social media champion at Golden Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Hi Ellie D. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I can only apologize for missing your onion rings initially but please Tony managed to rectify it immediately for you. Burgers have been so popular this week and on this occasion we had to substitute the lettuce for leaf salad. Sorry this was not communicated. I hope on your next visit we can wow you up to five stars. Happy easter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Brilliant place to get together with friends and family to socialise. Best priced food and drink in town, with plenty of choice for both as well! The staff are always friendly and up for a laugh, Nick and the team giving a warm atmosphere for all, whilst still delivering excellently efficient service. Brilliant pub with even better staff, couldn't recommend it enough.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Social media champion at Golden Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you so much for leaving such an amazing review. This has really made our day. I will pass your comments onto the staff and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Eagle also viewed

 
Carterton, Oxfordshire
 
Carterton, Oxfordshire
Carterton, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Golden Eagle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing