We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would not recommend this resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pandanus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pandanus Resort
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Mui Ne
Certificate of Excellence
Sai Gon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“would not recommend this resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed in this resort during weekend and there were many groups checked in the same time. No staff paid attention to us. Both beach and resort was no longer quite as it should be. My room were clean only for some minutes as later on I found a huge spider on the wall. It was a nightmare when waiting for the housekeeping to come and took the spider away. However they didn't come after my third call to the reception and the housekeeping. My friend had to manage to catch the spider and it was not a great experience absolutely, neither the feeling about this resort. The resort was fully booked therefore I had to stay in the same room with the fear of another huge spider would appear at night.
The next morning was another bad memory as the restaurant had a lot of flies. They had to cover the food with many mini flies nest to save the food from flies. A 5 stars resort did not have pancake, waffle for breakfast, this was unbelievable and a big disapointed. I could not eat other food as the quality seemed poor.
Nobody came to us for the spider case when I checked out. Even the check out service was bad. All in one I will not come back to this resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, Manager at Pandanus Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
We are very sorry that this guest did not enjoy her stay at the Pandanus. Although there is no excuse for poor service, she checked into the hotel as some large groups were arriving and the front desk staff were swamped. When she complained about the time it took her to check in and about the fact that our housekeeping staff did not respond quickly when she called about finding a spider in her room, I offered to give her a complimentary one night stay in the resort.

She is correct about the flies. She stayed with us during the rainy season and, being next to a large fishing town, the flies that hatch in the sand when it rains are annoying. The people in the Phan Thiet area unload their fishing boats and dry the fish on the sand before sending them to the factory to create fish sauce. This process makes the area a wonderful breeding ground for flies. So that the flies do not get on the food on our buffet table, we cover the serving plates with a netted covering. When the rains stop in November, the flies mostly disappear.

I thank this guest for thinking that we are a five star resort. However, her comment regarding pancakes is incorrect. We offer pancakes at our egg cooking station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    191
    49
    14
    13
See reviews for
168
294
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Upon arrival, the Resort seems to be miles away from civilisation. After investigation though, it is right next door to the Mui Ne fishing village with busy markets with real character.

The resort food, with the exception of breakfast, was poor, however there is a great authentic Vietnamese restaurant across the road in a place that looks like a petrol station. The food is fantastic and fresh and much better than the quality in the tourist zone which targets Russian tourists.

The staff are amonst the nicest people I have met and did everything to make sure we had a great stay.

The room was nice and a fair price. The resort is located right next to the red sand dunes which is definitely worth a visit.

At the end of the day, we will remember the staff at this resort for their great service and friendly nature.

Room Tip: The family suite was good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david_ela_alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

For $120 US a night this is a joke! Asked for a non smoking room. Smoke was coming through from the next room. Cold showers! Stayed in the superior room & you can hear all the other guests opening & closing doors so its hard to sleep. Takes 10mins taxi ride into town. Would not recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kc115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, Manager at Pandanus Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
I'm very sorry to read that this guest was unhappy with his or her stay at the Pandanus Resort.

Although we do have a non smoking building, we are unable to control a guest who may wish to ignore the policy and smoke. However, I don't understand how the smoke in one room could be detected in the room next door, unless the door is open into the hallway or to the balcony.

Our construction is quite solid and comments about hearing a door open or close are very rare. I can't say this is impossible, but the sound could not be too loud.

As for the shower, each room has individual controls for the hot water. If the guest turned off the switch to the water heater, there would be no hot water. Otherwise there is always hot water in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geel, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We went to this resort for 5 days from 19 - 24 december.

Plus:
* Very nice garden, well maintained.
* Great swimming pool.
* Nice bungalows and very clean.
* Free bikes.
* Free shuttle to the center (20 minutes drive by car).
* Breakfast is ok, but i missed my orange juice. Daily we found other kinds of juices, but
orange juice was missing.
* Nice place to walk on the beach.
* Daily a lot of people are working on the beach to keep it clean.
* 5 minutes walk from the Dunes. Be on time ... 6.15h is too late.... 100's of tourists stop there by bus
* free internet at the reception (fast)

Minus:
* Food is average to poor and too expensive. 1 beer is 40.000 dong + taxes, while crossing the street the same cooled beer costs 9000 dong. First night at Pandanus we ate at the restaurant and paid 850.000 dong for 2 persons. The few little restaurants across the street don't look that great, but they serve great and tasty food for 200.000 dong for 2 persons, including drinks.
* It's nice that the managers organises a cheese & wine everyday for 30 minutes, but don't drink the wine ... it's sour and terrible.... take a beer instead. 8-)
* Beach has sandflees and it has a lot of junk to the left and right of the resort's beach.
* No shops outside, just 2-3 restaurants.
* Shuttle is only 3-4 times a day, fixed hours and fixed place to stop. Sometimes we had to wait 45 minutes to go to the city, so we took a taxi (+/-10 dollar). We had friends in another hotel and we still had to walk 1.5km to get there.
* wifi in the room is slow as hell.

TIP : take a bike at 6.45-7.00h in the morning and drive 2km in the direction of the centre. You will pass the shore and you can see a lot of fishermen and women cleaning fish and leaving/arriving in tradional little boats.

Pandanus is very good if you want to rest and want to stay in your hotel and enjoy the sun.
If you want to go out and you like shopping, eating & drinking, dancing ... take a hotel in the centre.

Room Tip: Bungalow 101 has view to the Thai-Chi in the morning, view to the swimming pool, and very close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Facehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The grounds at the Pandanus are absolutely lovely and are very well kept. The staff is accommodating and responsive. The General Manager, as mentioned in other reviews, is very personable and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding, bets we have had in Vietnam. We stayed over Christmas and New Years and loved the amazing dinners and shows they put on for these special occasions, very memorable! The hotel offers excellent add ons such as a free shuttle bus into the main tourist hub and free tours to the Fairy Stream. We were very glad to be staying away from the hustle of the main Mui Ne area. The Pandanus was peaceful and relaxing but with lots to do such as tennis, ping pong, volleyball, a great pool, etc. We loved our stay there. It is truly a resort and so much more than a regular hotel room.

There were a few negatives. The internet did not work very well and there were quite a few mosquitoes in our room. In addition, the food at the restaurant was not great. There are some local restaurants right across the street which were very good and very inexpensive. There are also, lots of great restaurants in town.

The positives far outweighed the minor negatives and we would go back without hesitation and would recommend it to others. We were sad to leave!

Lois Fearon

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mui Ne
7.0 km away
Full Moon Village
Full Moon Village
#2 of 20 in Mui Ne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.3 km away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 20 in Mui Ne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
13.6 km away
Takalau Resort
Takalau Resort
#7 of 20 in Mui Ne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sandunes Beach Resort & Spa
10.9 km away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
5.9 km away
Mui Ne Village resort and Kitesurf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandanus Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandanus Resort

Property: Pandanus Resort
Address: Quarter 5 | (Adjacent to the Red Sand Dunes), Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mui Ne
#1 Spa Hotel in Mui Ne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mui Ne
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,149 - ₹ 8,038
Hotel Class:4 star — Pandanus Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2004 within a ten hectare lush tropical garden on a three hundred metre long beach, the Pandanus Resort in Mui Ne has a large range of facilities and a variety of different accommodations, all designed to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Adjacent to the long, sandy beach is a huge free-form pool, surrounding an island covered with coconut palm trees. The buildings are designed to complement, not compete with the natural surroundings. The beach is serene and disturbed only by an occasional fisherman in a round pitch basket, or a wind and kite surfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Pandanus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandanus Hotel Mui Ne
Pandanus Hotel Phan Thiet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing