We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Last Shola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Last Shola
Chennai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We were a group of 17, ranging from ages 8 - 70. It was an excellent experience and the most memorable of all out trips. We stayed for 5 nights and did many activities including, boating, fishing, camping, cricket, bonfire etc. We made a day's trip to Yercaud town and the other 3 full days we enjoyed the stay at Shola. Food was simple and the staff were accommodative. Rooms were neat and clean, staff were pleasant and very helpful. Children were the happiest, and they are asking when we can go again. The Last Shola, is cut off from the main town, and feels so close to nature. It is very scenic, and beautiful away from noise and pollution.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kavi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan1, Owner at The Last Shola, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thanks Kavi, We hope to see you here again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    21
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
13
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Absolutely wonderful! We had such a terrific experience at ‘The Last Shola’. At first we wondered if it was worth the drive as it took us almost 30 minutes to get there from Yercaud town. But once we got there we were really happy that we decided to make the trip. Our stay was wonderful. The rooms were really neat and the staff were really helpful.
We got to spend a whole day looking around the estate and learning how coffee is grown. What was interesting was the number of birds we got to see throughout our stay. If you are looking for a quiet getaway from all the traffic and the noise of the city then this place is the right one.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Shibani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan1, Owner at The Last Shola, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Hi Shibani,

Thanks for your review! We look forward to seeing you again!

regards,
Yohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Defiantly a unique holiday and something that I will cherish for a long time to come. We reached Yercaud which was a pleasant drive and expected just another normal resort experience. But once we drove through the coffee plantations to reach ‘The Last Shola’ we were amazed at the place and the resort. Getting there was a little difficult as there were not many sign boards leading to the place, but we were given a rough map which helped us get there. The cottages are located in a private estate. The staff and management are not your typical hotel staff. They are very welcoming and cater to everything that you need. The person attending to us offered to customize our meals and he also made arrangements to serve every meal in a different location in the estate. Lunch was served besides the lake, dinner was arranged by the cliff and our morning breakfast was served right next to our rooms which was very convenient. The estate has a strict ‘no plastic rule’ and we could see that from the baskets the workers were carrying right to the recyclable plates in which the food was served.
We also got a change to meet the owners of the resort who joined us for tea. They brought us some home made goodies and gave us an interesting tour of the estates and explained how coffee goes from stage to stage and finally ends up in our cups.
Overall a superb plantation experience. The entire place is surrounded with greenery and you wake up every morning to the sound of birds and the trees swaying in the wind (something us city folk need to get used to).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank priyanka756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan1, Owner at The Last Shola, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Hi Priyanka,
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it!! Also please read an article published about the "The Last Shola" in the September issue of "India Today Travel Plus". Thanks, and do visit again!!
regards,
Yohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Discovering ‘The Last Shola’ for our stay at Yercaud was an absolute case of serendipity. When we arrived at Yercaud center, we were disappointed about the place being crowded and untidy. Disheartened we took the last leg of the journey to ‘The Last Shola’, which took us close to an hour.

‘The last shola’ is tucked away amidst 300 acre coffee plantation, far from the hustle and bustle of Yercaud center. From the moment we entered the gates of the estate till our departure, we were constantly surprised by the warm ambience, courteous staff, neatly maintained rooms and the plantation itself. It was an experience that none will forget…the vast expanse of greenery, the mountains and spacious well appointed rooms, the staff who were ever ready to help. The long trek to the sunset point, the bonfire at night and the boat ride at the lake within the premises, were a treat.

Thank you to all at ‘The Last Shola’ for a memorable stay….

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jojudominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan1, Manager at The Last Shola, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Hi Dominic, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at "The Last Shola" and we do hope to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

The name "Last Shola" sounds like some nice place and the promises that the hotel person would make on phone (Complete package per person includes all meals, trekking, boating in pvt lake, etc etc ) are all mis leading. After having stayed at a coffee estate property in Coorg I know what to expect in an estate property. However, this place doesn't come close to either a resort or an estate home stay. Its nothing but a cheap lodge!!! They fleece you by showing a nice website and making false promises. I warn all fellow travellers to seriously consider before booking this place. This is my worst vacation experience so far and you can check my other reviews to see what I mean. This place overcharges by showcasing themselves as a resort or estate property whereas its nothing but a LODGE EXPERIENCE, only with a fairly decent cottage to save the day!
There was NOTHING good about this place. its staff or even the owner who spoke with us on phone and had only lousy arguments to give! Like when we complained on having served lunch out of tiffin boxes with disposable plates and NO SPOONS, he argued that "WE DONT KEEP SPOONS AND CROCKERY TO KEEP A CHECK ON HYGIENE WHICH IS MOST IMPORTANT". Imagine the state of service when the owner has such worthless arguments! Since we had payed the money already in advance, we dint know what else to do but complain. Since this place is a 10km + drive from Yercaud we couldn't have driven back to take a chance ...we couldn;'t have got three rooms in any decent place in town at the last minute so we could do nothing but stay.
The list of worst experiences is endless....when we reached there we saw tractors and labourers busy constructing...only four cottages are ready there and nothing else...not even parking!! There's absolutely no reception or anything..just a couple of bell boys who would claim to be managers of the property would come running and show you to the cottage!
Food is below average with absolutely no decent spread for vegetarians. Funniest thing that set the tempers flaring was the fact that they served us out of big tiffin boxes with disposable plates and no spoons. When we asked for spoons the so called manager said "We dont keep any. there's no rule". Post which we complained to the owner and heard the MOST LOUSIEST ARGUMENT ever!
The staff there was using Electric kettles for serving tea and coffee since they dint have any flasks or jugs!! Imagine the rustic setting and then the rates that they charge!! Absolutely not worthy at all!!
The place has no landscaping for the cottages..its like staying at a village with just a TV for company
The total package with all meals spoke of a snack time in evening...the staff , interestingly enough was not planning to serve us any but just tea and coffee..only when we insisted we were served some really bad bhajjiyas..
There's talk about bonfire on the website as well, but when we asked for one we were told that the firewood is all wet after the rain and so its not possible. This again was part of the total package!
They talk of a private lake in the property..fact is there's a dirty lil pond with a couple of paddle boats...there's no water as well....some construction going on there they say..but of which we had no prior information. Instead charges for boating in the pond are supposedly included in the total package. Another big gimmick to fleece you! Cheaters of the first order I must say!
The so called pond and trek is all in a small estate with 4-5 other such tents and cottage clusters ....obviously its a whole big money laundering scheme and nothing else run by a person called Kamlesh, MD of this whole propaganda . Such cheaters should be taken to court for defaming the service industry.
I sincerely advice my fellow travellers to stay away from this property as well as any other property run by this group as they are nothing but a BUNCH OF LIARS and CHEATERS!
Even if you are willing to take a chance PLEASE DO SO AT YOUR OWN RISK!!

Room Tip: Dont even think of staying here..its all a Cheating tactic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank priyanka_rajwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan1, Owner at The Last Shola, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Hi Priyanka,

The theme of our resort is that of an eco friendly resort. We usually use recyclable paper plates and cups as they get recycled at our vermiculture pit to be further used as manure in the plantation. However, since you've complained about it, we have now purchased the plates as well as cups along with cutlery etc. As far as the rooms are considered you haven't mentioned anything so I'll assume that it was alright. As far as the parking lot construction is concerned, we have completed all the work that was being done at that time. We hope that this addresses all of your concerns that you had with our property. We hope to see you here next time around.

regards,
Yohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yercaud hotels
11.5 km away
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
12.5 km away
TGI Star Holidays Yercaud
12.7 km away
WOW Bison Woods
WOW Bison Woods
#2 of 26 in Yercaud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort
8.6 km away
LA Four Seasons
LA Four Seasons
#3 of 26 in Yercaud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
12.4 km away
Hotel Shevaroys
Hotel Shevaroys
#12 of 26 in Yercaud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Shola? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Shola

Property: The Last Shola
Address: Gowri Estate | Salem Dt, Yercaud 636602, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Yercaud
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Yercaud
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,538 - ₹ 7,279
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price includes Three meals served buffet style, Boating and fishing in a private lake near the property is complimentary to the guests. Other complimentary activities include Trekking, Visit to Heavens ledge, Bison Spotting. Heaven's Ledge which is a beautiful west-facing cliff that offers beautiful views of the sunset is close to the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Last Shola Yercaud, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing