We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Surprise Package” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pear Tree Cafe' - CLOSED

The Pear Tree Cafe'
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Description: Tea House and Casual Food
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Surprise Package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Run by Yeshwin and Kavitha who've had enough of the mad city life, the Pear Tree is a wonderful place to have Burgers, Sandwiches, Fries, Cold Coffee... all lovingly prepared by the hosts and their staff with top grade ingredients. Just opposite Montfrot School... Must vist!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaitriWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    49
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple and Neat place for Continental food and to Plan your sight seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Pleasantly surprised by it simple setup and fresh sandwiches.
Meeting Yeshwin (Owner) was more pleasant than the cafe. I would say he inspired me to make some hard to make decisions which i have been procrastinating for long.
Yeshwin is resourceful to plan your places of visit in Yercaud.
Pear tree cafe is a good place to go in gang and have some fun in their open tables. Sitauted Right opposite to Mont fort, its easy to find, Parking is on the roadside only.
Im will be returning soon just for the company of Yeshwin and Pear tree.

Ravindra

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ravindraboopathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to hang around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We went to this small road side cafe on 7th April 2012. We were 4 people and were lucky to get 1 out of their 4 tables. The place is very small but cozy. The view to mountfort school is good and there is a small pond across the road. Surprisingly there weren't too many people around for us to be uncomfortable for space.

The food and service is very good....the owners are working couples and have seperated themselves from city life into a small cafe in yercaud....good idea. They know what people want and they do that perforectly...their food quality is good, greeting/communications all that is charming and all that it takes to be comfortable. They took us inside the library and sports place on our request....nice people.

Try the veg burger, garlic bread, veg pizza and tomato jalapeno soup for sure....other stuff though we didnt try all of that looks cheezy.

We were 4 people and it costed us 600 bucks...not bad.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Priyank_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the loveliest cafes I have chanced upon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Visited Yercaud in March, for a short stay and chanced upon Pear Tree Cafe. Was really glad to have discovered the Cafe , they had super stuff on their menu &the food was delicious. Don't come away without tasting their juicy burgers and the delicious and tangy jalepino tomato soup. The cafe is run by a charming couple Kavita & Yashwin who really make you feel at home and who will go that little extra mile to help you out with any information or help you need in Yercaud at the end of the meal you come out feeling you just made some great friends.Do not miss tasting Kavitas tossed salad it was light airy and flavoursome. Great place lovely ambiance and delicious food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the only coffee place with a sit out in Yercaud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

As the title mentions, this is probably the only coffee place with a sit out in Yercaud. My wife and myself thoroughly enjoyed the short evening coffee break at Pear Tree Cafe with our son and the owner of the place was good company albeit a short chat! Although the place had just 4-5 tables, it felt laid back and homely. We'd visit this place if we go back again to Yercaud!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis_J0seph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pear Tree Cafe' also viewed

 
Yercaud, Tamil Nadu
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing