We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good choice”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yercaud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Regent Hill Side Villa & Resort
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Yercaud
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a good choice”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We had great difficulty finding the place and the access should definitely be improved. The place is very small and has no activity at all. They dont have a restaurant, just a dining room and all the food has to be informed earlier. The place is very small and therefore we felt a little lack of privacy and also little unsafe. Perfect for a bunch of adults not for couples or families

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ram12kumar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regenthillside, Owner at The Regent Hill Side Villa & Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Respected Sir,

It has been a very long time back that your review has been put up and it is only now that I have become active on trip advisor as only recently did I come to know of trip advisor. That's the reason that you are getting my reply this late.

I would like to inform you that at that time of your stay we were very new into the industry and due to our ignorance a lot of things went unnoticed to my eyes. It is with suggestions and guidance from a lot of our guests who eventually became my friends, I am developing and growing a lot and also implementing a lot of things.

The entrance has been completely revamped and I think within a month or two it would be a feast to the eyes. Our new alfreso cafe "SWEET RASCAL" is coming up at the entrance and even though not yet opened it creates a lot of intrigue to the eyes of the passerby and they drop in to have a look, and they are zapped at the different design concept that i've implemented.

Now coming to the activity part, we are in a very quick process of adding a lot of gaming facilities which would be up and ready in a very short time. All the activities that we are going to have are going to be very unique however.

Our concept of food is very different compared to other places. We do not intend to give you food made from vegetables and meat that has been kept in the freezer. We love to give fresh food made with fresh ingiedients and farm fresh vegetables from the local markets. This is the reason that we get your order well in advance. Also to tell you something interesting is that we do not use any MSG in our cooking.

I however do not understand your concept of "PRIVACY". It sounds to me that you are contradicting your own statement. You said that the place was very small and from that itself is very clearly visible that there would automatically be a lot of privacy. If we had too many rooms where does the question of privacy arise. There would be plenty of guests walking in and out and all over the place and definitely would lead to lack of privacy. Now since only two rooms are inside the main block, it clearly understands that apart from your room, there is only one more room opposite to yours and only one guest would be crossing your room and also if you had noticed the room at the entrance does not require any guest to come inside except when they have to come in for thier meals.

I also do not understand your concept of unsafe! Only if there were a lot of people going around and if it was open to public would a place become unsafe. In fact our place is considered so private and safe and that's the reason our guest list includes a few film stars and a lot of top CEO's.

I am also surprised that you mentioned that it was suitable only for a bunch of adults. PLEASE READ other later reviews written by families predominantly by women about what they felt about our resort. I would also like to tell you that we get only families as our guests and we seldom get any bachelor crowd nor do we like to entertain bachelor crowd and do so only if it is unavoidable.

Please do visit us now nd you'll definitely change your opinion and write an awesome review.

Thank you!

Com.Vishu Kaliappa
+91 94437 00000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    49
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
275
105
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Worth spending time at the resort. The staff is incredible & the food was very decent.
Rooms can be more exclusive but nerveless its worth for what you are spending. Fantastic colonial architecture.

If you are in Yercaud then ensure your stay at the Regent.

Tranquility at its best!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vyasvimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Beautiful old villa that used to belong to British spinster. Has been lovingling restored and filled with interesting art and photos. Fresh flowers in all rooms and lovely bathrooms. Our room had a covered verandah attached and a day bed to sit and chill on. Lots of magazines and design books around to aid relaxation. Food is cooked to order and was served with much aplomb.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We had a whale of a time. Our family r union after several years was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karsexace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yercaud hotels
1.2 km away
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
4.0 km away
LA Four Seasons
LA Four Seasons
#3 of 28 in Yercaud
142 reviews
1.9 km away
Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Shevaroys
Hotel Shevaroys
#14 of 28 in Yercaud
466 reviews
0.9 km away
TGI Star Holidays Yercaud
1.6 km away
Great Trails Yercaud by GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hill Side Villa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hill Side Villa & Resort

Property: The Regent Hill Side Villa & Resort
Address: 5 Hospital Road | Shevaroyan Hills, Yercaud 636601, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Yercaud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yercaud
#1 Family Hotel in Yercaud
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,000 - ₹ 5,000
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the only heritage, boutique, museum, designer, art-deco hotel and resort in Yercaud. Its ambiance and surroundings are breathtaking as it has stunning views of a working coffee plantation. The rooms have individual sit outs for every room and also private lawns. The food is awesome and you can choose the place to have your meal subject to conditions prevailing - either in the alfresco dining restaurant "SWEET RASCAL" or on one of the spacious lawns or choose to have a candle light dinner in the middle of the estate. You can also just relax sipping an exotic mock-tail under the huge Jumbulum tree in the Frangipani garden with all its fragrance galore. It's a place with a sense of serendipity, style and a lot of detailed history. Its ability to truly relax the weary and fatigued traveler is truly fantastic. Much Emphasis is placed on its uniqueness. Traditional perceptions of 5 star luxury are ignored, yet we maintain a spirit of luxury that most hotels can only aspire to. We pride ourselves on the subtle attention to detail which is not immediately noticeable but people can only remember when it is not there. You would probably feel you are only at your friends home, this I say so because you could even walk straight into our kitchen to see us cook. I continue to look for the best of services to provide to the guests, with an emphasis on finding the extraordinary and not the ordinary, a quest which began as a hobby 3 years ago but which is now a passion to bring out the best in India. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Regent Hill Side Villa & Resort Yercaud, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing