We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay option in Yercaud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Trails Yercaud by GRT Hotels
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Yercaud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

On my way back to bangalore , i decided to spent a day & night at yercard and looking at the reviews at tripadvisor i decided to stay at GRT .
It was a weekday so i got a good offer from the hotel and it was worth the money .
I took up the pool view room , they were spacious and there was a sitout attached .
ou dont have much options in yedcaurd so better stay at hotel and relax.

On the flip side the restaurent is too costly for the ambinace,service, food it serves .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaraSinghHooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHERIFFMOHD, General Manager at Great Trails Yercaud by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review posted in Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your positive feedbacks and I shall certainly share the same with my team which will be a great motivation. Look forward to have you stay with us again and hope to exceed your expectations by truly demonstrating our service philosophy of “The promise of More"...

N. Mohammed Sheriff
GRT Nature Trails Sky Rocca
Yercaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 688 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

What you will like:

- Easy accessibility via road.
- Great views from most rooms.
- Courteous staff.

What you won't like:

- Poorly maintained property for GRT standards.
- Average food.
- Crowded weekends, and holidays.
- Low value for money.

I have to make some opening statements before beginning to write a review; these factors definitely determine the experience one may have in Yercaud or in the GRT property.

1. Yercaud is definitely not as crowded as Ooty or Kodaikanal but could get really busy during regional holidays, weekends, and summer vacations due to excellent accessibility via road.

2. Although some folks here think the property is great, I want to point out that my views on this property is relative to other 3 star properties I have stayed in, so there is some bias, in a good way.

Getting there:

Yercaud has easy access via road from Salem, it is about ~30Kms from Salem via moderate ghat roads with very good quality asphalted roads throughout. And since Salem is well connected by roads to Bangalore or to Chennai, the drive is just a pleasure. We took 4.5 hours from Bangalore with sufficient breaks for meals and snacks. Once you are on the Yercaud road and have gotten a hang of maneuvering the hair-pin bends, the GRT property is very easy to locate and is right after the 20th hair-pin bend. There are two entrances to the property one leading to their 'Salem Heights' restaurant and another leading to the Hotel lobby and reception. I'd suggest you take the one leading to the main reception so its easy to check-in. If you have rooms on the fourth floor though (more on the rooms to follow), you can park at the Salem heights entrance and walk right into your room and save the detour.

First impressions on the property:

The property is situated along a cliff that covers a wide area providing excellent views of the valley overlooking the Salem town. The main reception, a library and a pool are all located at the Ground level and rooms on 2, 3, and 4th levels. The 4th level has an artificial lawn (Called Skywalk) with excellent views of the Salem town (best at night after dark when the city lights come to life), a restaurant named 'Salem Heights' and a bar named 'Salem Rocks'. We had one of the 'Panorama' rooms and ours was on the 4th floor with probably the best views from the hotel. It appeared as if the rooms on levels 2, and 3 also had balconies overlooking the valley but there was too much foliage for you to be able to see anything. We did not go to the pool during our short stay so I will leave the pool out of this review.

One thing that stood out during our first few minutes of entering the property was the fact that the property was in fact old, and seemed as if it could do with some maintenance and upkeep. I'll go into more details as I review our room.

The room:

Ours was a panorama room, fairly large sized room with a large bed and sufficient furniture - a work desk, a small wardrobe, a dining/coffee table with two chairs, and an 'ottoman' type place to put our bags. The first impressions as we entered the room was: "am I paying Rs5000 a night for this?!". The paint job on the walls were poor and peeling off, the room did not have a look and feel of 3star property at all - seemed like a glorified lodge. I've stayed in other 3 star properties and even in some other GRT properties, and there is no comparison. It was very clear that GRT bought the "Sky Rocca" property from their previous owners, and just did not invest in giving the place a facelift.

A rather weird 'special feature' in our room was that a big part of the room had a clear, transparent glass floor through which you could see the under-belly of the room basement with rocks, concrete pillars holding the structure itself and some foliage - I don't know what purpose it serves but it sure did give me and the wife the creeps every time we stood on that part of the room. You had to cross that part of the room to get to the balcony door - and once you opened the balcony doors you are really impressed with the view of the valley. Again, best at night when the lights are up and when the sun goes down. If you are like me, you'd love to sit there during the day with a book in hand, and later in the evening with a drink in hand with your favorite music. This, in my opinion was the best part of our stay at GRT Yercaud.

The bathroom had a decent sized shower enclosure but again the weird part was that the shower enclosure had a clear glass floor, that one could look through (I guess even from below the room) which freaked us out. Why would you need to look through the floor to the rocks below while you are in the shower - all the time thinking there could be someone standing underneath watching you! It wasn't like in the middle of nowhere, we knew people could get to that spot under your shower because there was a DTH dish installed right there. Now, the fittings in the bathroom were poor quality - the shower hardly worked, the toggle to switch between tap and shower didn't work so every time we turned the shower on, water will still leak through the tap below, yielding very little water outflow in the shower. Other fittings in the bathroom like the taps, tower handers etc were not of great quality either. There was a glaring white CFL light in the bathroom which, again gave it a feel of a lodge and definitely not a 3 star property.

Sheets and towels in the room were of poor quality too, and smelled as if they were stored in a moist place for years. We couldn't sleep comfortably because the quilt had a moist wet smell and had wobbles all over.

The restaurant and food:

We stayed on a Sunday and Monday so the restaurant was definitely crowded on Sunday, we chose to order food in the room on Day 1 because of the overcrowded restaurant. Now, breakfast is included in the tariff and it was decent with good south indian and western varieties - your normal egg counter, a dose counter etc, packaged juice and coffee/tea on the house. Lunch was a-la-carte we skipped and had lunch outside. Dinner was also a-la-carte. I would rate the quality of the food and taste as very average, and definitely overpriced. Some of the appetizers (seafood) were priced at Rs600 which was expensive even by 3 star standards and the taste wasn't great either so it was totally worthless. The menu did have variety though - we stuck to safe options of eating south indian food (we're both from Tamil Nadu so can stick to our staple Idly/Dosa diet and have learnt to order safe and non-risky food when in Tamil Nadu). I pity the ones that ordered the Sheek Kebab!

The service, and staff:

Service both in-room and in the restaurant was pretty quick, 15 minute turnaround for orders in-room and about 10 minutes for food at the restaurant - again, when there was not a lot of crowd on a Monday night. Some reviewers have complained about timeliness of room service and I would think that the staff are probably not trained to handle large crowds and a hotel with full occupancy. Otherwise, the staff were very courteous, polite and well trained. One other thing the management should focus on is the grooming of staff: its a 3 star property and you don't want your staff to wear dirty footwear, and have body odor!

The verdict:

GRT is probably the best property in Yercaud with an excellent view and a good brand (GRT) that attracts many, but the hotel management must take an urgent stand in investing in property upkeep, maintenance, staff grooming, to retain their position and then demand the price that they are demanding now for an overpriced, glorified, lodge.

Room Tip: 1. Panorama rooms on the fourth floor and the penthouse have the best view. Ask for a room on the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BangaloreYoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHERIFFMOHD, General Manager at Great Trails Yercaud by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review posted in Trip Advisor. We understood the inconviniences caused to you during your stay with us and we sincerely apologise for the same. We made a note of your feedback on which you spared lot of your valuable time and we assure you that we will certainly initiate necessary corrective measures and make sure these things never reoocure on your future visits. Look forward to have you stay with us again and hope to exceed your expectations by truly demonstrating our service philosophy of “The promise of More"...

N. Mohammed Sheriff
GRT Nature Trails Sky Rocca
Yercaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This was a weekend family break for me and moreover to take my 10months son for his first trip on 27th July 2012.

Plus'es
1. Property is truly amazing with breath taking views and i feel this is one of the best in yercaud.
2. Rooms are wonderful with different concepts and one can enjoy in the lap of luxury. Was upgraded to pool view as it was my birthday.
3. Food is good with decent varities.
4. Staff are friendly
5. lot of space and entertainment around and been maintained well.

Minus
1. Service was way below the GRT standards. Asked for a bannan to feed my baby, which took 2 hours to come. Asked for a drink on day 1, which never came at all- LOLL, asked for a drink on day 2, which came after 1.5 hrs after 2 reminders.

2. Monkey menace is true. i kept a shutter window slightly open for ventilation and in my absence supposedly a monkey came and ate away all the fruits, busicuit of my baby and pee'ed on the floor. When i questioned the staff was quick enough to say that yes monkeys are very smart (surprised to hear this) they know how to do everything.... Looks like monkeys have been taken for an official tour around the resort and hence they know everything.


If one can tolerate this then i would rate this place and staff as 4.8/5. To compensate all, since staff was free, they took care of my baby while we were having our lunch on the last day. So special thanks to Mr. Dinesh. Wishing when ever we happen to come back, the minus'es turns to more plus.

Room Tip: Panorama / Pent house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taarunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHERIFFMOHD, General Manager at Great Trails Yercaud by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review posted in Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your positive feedbacks, Mr. Dhinesh was appriciated for his good job. Also noted the inconviniences you faced with us and the respective corrective measures have been taken with no time spared to ensure the same never reoccur. Look forward to have you stay with us again and hope to exceed your expectations by truly demonstrating our service philosophy of “The promise of More"...

N. Mohammed Sheriff
GRT Nature Trails Sky Rocca
Yercaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Trip to Yercaud.............This was planned for our wedding anniversary which is become memorable .But the sad part was climate.I suggest all not to go here in the month of Aug as its litle Hot and nt very cold.and u cant really get those beautiful sceneric views..We opted for pent house and which is very expensive but not i felt price is too expensive

Room Tip: Room 403,404 has a very good valley view.Room # 302 is not that great view for travellers .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ani575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHERIFFMOHD, General Manager at Great Trails Yercaud by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your positive feedbacks and I shall certainly share the same with my team which will be a great motivation for the. Since the monsoon is failed this time, weather was bit bad during July and August, otherwise, this is the pleasant period to stay in Yercaud. Look forward to have you stay with us again and hope to exceed your expectations by truly demonstrating our service philosophy of “The promise of More"...

N. Mohammed Sheriff
GRT Nature Trails Sky Rocca
Yercaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Visited this property a few months back with my family. IMO, it is reasonably priced for the facilities offered and good for a short break.

Pros:
Rooms are nice and spacious, the ones I stayed in had a nice sit-out area with artificial lawn and offered excellent view of the Salem town, especially at night.
Decent facilities including a swimming pool.
Courteous staff
Free wi-fi

Cons:

The noise from lawn atop the rooms can be disturbing if there is a party going on with loud music.

As mentioned in another review, restaurant can get crowded and then it takes ages to get your food. The buffet breakfast was good, though.

Overall, there is nothing much to do at yercaud, hardly any place worth visiting (no wonder it is aptly called the poor man's ooty) so probably suitable for only a short trip.
Also, try going on weekdays if possible since the resort is not very big in size and gets crowded on weekends.

Rating Good 3.5/5

Room Tip: my advise would be to the lower floor rooms rather than the ones directly below the lawns. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinu_da_pappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHERIFFMOHD, General Manager at Great Trails Yercaud by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your positive feedbacks, also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and assure you that the respective corrective measures are taken with no time spared to ensure the same never reoccur. Look forward to have you stay with us again and hope to exceed your expectations by truly demonstrating our service philosophy of “The promise of More"...

N. Mohammed Sheriff
GRT Nature Trails Sky Rocca
Yercaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yercaud hotels
1.1 km away
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
0.8 km away
Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort
5.0 km away
LA Four Seasons
LA Four Seasons
#3 of 29 in Yercaud
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
WOW Bison Woods
WOW Bison Woods
#2 of 29 in Yercaud
197 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Shevaroys
Hotel Shevaroys
#13 of 29 in Yercaud
480 reviews
1.2 km away
Happy Nest
Happy Nest
#14 of 29 in Yercaud
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Trails Yercaud by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Trails Yercaud by GRT Hotels

Address: Salem-Yercaud Main Road | 20th Hairpin Bend, Yercaud 636602, India (Formerly GRT Nature Trails Sky Rocca)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Yercaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Yercaud
#1 Spa Hotel in Yercaud
#2 Family Hotel in Yercaud
Price Range: ₹ 3,897 - ₹ 10,846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Trails Yercaud by GRT Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel with a unique construction overlooking the imposing and rugged hills of Yercaud with a spectacular view of pristine coffee estates as far as the eye can see and captures nature at its very best. The resort offers an exotic experience for those who want to get away from it all, to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra, TripOnline SA, MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Great Trails Yercaud by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Trails Yercaud By GRT Hotels Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing