We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque property with a colonial legacy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Yercaud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We booked 2 rooms at the Indeco Lake Forest Hotel at Yercaud as a last resort - everything else was sold out thanks to the long weekend (Aug 18-20). To be honest, we were a bit apprehensive thanks to the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor and other other travel sites. But it was for one night so we decided to go ahead anayway. And boy, were we surprised when we drove in!

It's not lake facing (contrary to what we thought because of the name), but is a beautiful property in the middle of a coffee and pepper plantation. The first thing that strikes you are the beautiful antique pieces that adorn the reception - a grandfather clock, an old movie camera, a quaint weighing scale, etc. Loved it! The rooms are nice - ours had a big four-poster bed and a nice sit-out. The place has a nice old-world charm to it.

The staff is very courteous and helpful -- frequently saw them assisting the elderly. Pathways in the resort can be difficult to negotiate for the elderly and differently-abled so the help is much appreciated. We had forgotten to inform the hotel that our mom, who has trouble walking, would be accompanying us but they were really nice about it and manage to accomodate us close to the dining area. The flip side was that it was noisy -- if you prefer peace and solittude and have no trouble walking, ask for rooms a little away from the main block. That way you'll also avoid the loud Bollywood music the hotel plays for some strange reason in the evenings - jarring and quite out of character for the place!

The only other negative was the quality of breakfast. Dinner was good - the pepper chicken was outstanding. But the spread in the morning was cold and unappetizing. Worst ever sambhar I've tasted! A good cook and some colonial recipes to go with the spirit of the place could make it hotel of choice rather than a last resort!

Unfortunately, most of the crowd that comes here doesn't seem to appeciate the old world charm -- probably the property is not being marketed to the right kind of people. If you're looking for a swanky, modern place, Indeco Lake Forest Hotel is not your thing.

Positives: Old-world charm, very picturesque, quaint rooms, each with their own theme
Negatives: Food, loud Bollywood music in the evenings

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the main block - they are quieter, but you need to walk a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank endee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 533 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

I went with my group of friends for our camp fire which was supposed to be the most memorable day of our trip.
We came there after a long journey from Hyderabad and the kind of hospitality we got there!!
It spoiled our mood and fun!
First it was kind f ok... they set the fire thing for us and once we started singing and dancing one lady came up and shouted at us and called us people with no manners and uncivilized people! We had to hear these words from a foreigner in front f the so called Indian staff of the hotel that too on independence day! Ok wotever we didn want to make it an issue. Later the staff kept on irritating us by asking 2 of us if we came there to rob the place. We too payed good money..dont we deserve a little bit of respect? The kind of racism they show is unbearable and undesirable!
I wont recommend this hotel to anyone anytime! Worst people i hav came across!!
The place is beautiful and the antiques are commentable...But the staff spoil the goodness...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank REK91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at the lake forest hotel from the 6-8 April 2012. It's a nice property overlooking the woods and has a quaint colonial air about it. Apparently the main building was a bungalow belonging to Henrietta Charlotte Rosario. You can find a lot of antiques in the main lobby like the legendary mitchell camera among others.

Overall it was a good experience, the rooms are tastefully done and the decor is in line with the colonial ambience. The service was good and the staff were courteous and polite.

The only issue was the food which was not up to the standards of a boutique property like this.When you visit a place like Yercaud, you would like to sample the local cuisine and not paneer butter masala in coconut oil.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhishekshukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Wow.. I had the best holiday ever. Its has been amazing to be in such a wonderful place with lots of great people around. Felt like home. Thanks for the hospitality and the kindness of the General Manager. Wish I'd get a chance to go back there once again on a long vacation. Cheers lake forest.....:)

Room Tip: The wood house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eshwaramoorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahil R, Guest Relations Manager at INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the INDeco experience. Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Went there as a club mahindra member.

-Quaint place. Has a period touch to the rooms and the resort.
- Good for couples may be , but not for a family with kids
- Food was average. some of the south indian options were good ( I am from south). But do not order any tandoori items . They don't have a clue
- nothing to do much . not too much open space either
- Near to the lake which is good as you can walk down

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anupkma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yercaud hotels
1.0 km away
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
2.1 km away
Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.7 km away
LA Four Seasons
LA Four Seasons
#3 of 29 in Yercaud
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Shevaroys
Hotel Shevaroys
#13 of 29 in Yercaud
475 reviews
0.5 km away
Happy Nest
Happy Nest
#14 of 29 in Yercaud
30 reviews
0.2 km away
La Flora Paradise Residency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud

Address: Ondikadai post | Salem District, Yercaud 636602, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Yercaud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Yercaud
Price Range: ₹ 2,410 - ₹ 5,275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Forest, with period and authentic interiors is located in a live coffee estate on the bunds of the Yercaud Lake. The guest bungalows are set in the "Eastlynne Farm Estate" in and around the "Bungalow" built during early 1800s by Henrietta Charlotte Rosario who was residing in the Shevroy hills. Today's Eastlynne Farm Estate was once known as "Rosar" on the Camphells Road, named after the owner. ONE OF THE FIRST PET FRIENDLY PLACES IN YERCAUD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Djubo, ClearTrip, Agoda, MakeMyTrip, TravelGuru and Yatra so you can book your INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud
INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing