We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Yercaud
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice resort to relax”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The best part of The Lake Forest Hotel is that it is not a hotel but a collection of bungalows spread over a vast area with lots of greenery. We got upgraded to an English suite and it was a nice suite with a sit-out and plenty of privacy. The amenities within the suite were good with a comfortable bed and other modern facilities.
The resort has a few recreational options such as carrom and chess. You can rent bicycles and go around the town. My little kid loved the trampoline and small play area and spent most of his time there.
In the evening there was a fire stunt show that was quite impressive after which they played IPL in the open auditorium area.
Food is average with reasonable options as part of the buffet. Some items were very good while others very mediocre.
As other reviewers have stated the property is unique with its collection of antiques and curios.
Ours was a short stay but was sufficient unless you just want to spend time doing nothing as there is not much to see or do in Yercaud beyond one day.
Overall a good option to stay at Yercaud, mainly for the tastefully done resort and greenery.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praks_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    257
    111
    35
    26
See reviews for
396
124
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

After the hectic academic season was over, our family decided to take a short break before resuming the next year's preparation. The extended Tamil New Year's Day week-end gave us the opportunity to escape the heat of Chennai. Luckily we were able to snare 2 rooms in Lake Forest, Yercaud. Since the time was short and travel bookings were very unlikely, we chose to drive to Yercaud from Chennai.

After 4-laning of the Highway, it is safe to drive in NH4 / NH46 & NH 7. Yet, with the burgeoning traffic, NH4 & NH46 have become congested. Luckily the much needed 6-laning is going one. Hopefully this will ease the flow.

Leaving Chennai at 6.30 am we reached Lake Forest at about 1 pm, after breaks enroute. Lake Forest has an enviable location, a hop-skip-and-jump away from the Lake, which is the hub of all activity in Yercaud.

Check-in was swift and in no time we were settled in rooms 301 & 302, which faced the Reception block directly. The rooms were spacious with a King bed, a rocking chair, a couple of sofas, a dining table, mini fridge, a cupboard to hang our clothes and a TV. There were full length windows running the full length of 2 sides of Room 301 which afforded us excellent views of the Silver Oak trees with their Pepper creepers and the distant hills.

The earlier lawn in between our rooms and reception block was now covered. Being IPL season, the matches were shown in big screen at this place. A serving counter was getting ready and there were a few tables for serving guests who preferred to eat while watching the match.

Buffett Lunch was tasty and the spread was ample.

Some more rooms had been added to the resort since our last visit and work was apace in completing the Conference Hall, which would accommodate about 350 pax. The GM Mr. Gopi who showed us around the resort mentioned that they would be having 75 rooms with the completion of expansion activities. A number of colourful information boards had been installed around the reception block to enlighten the guests about the history behind the resort.

After a short rest we went around the Lake. The stalls selling Hot Bhajjis, Corn Cobs, etc were doing brisk business. There was a good crowd in the Boat House. Since we were 5 in our group, we could take only a row boat (pedal boats had a max of 4 capacity) and row boats came with the mandatory row man. The lake was clean and the half hour glide was pleasant.

Prince, the genial activity centre in-charge, invited us for a Plantation Walk the next morning. Lake Forest is set amidst a live coffee plantation and it is a good experience taking the morning Plantation Walk when Prince would explain in an interesting fashion, the different types of coffee plants, how they are grown, harvested, processed, the other plants and trees that grow with the coffee. He would hear the bird calls, identify them and point them out to us.

After an invigorating walk, it was time to gorge on the yummy buffet breakfast. The breakfast had canned juice, fresh fruit, cornflakes, a range of south Indian dishes, bread with preservatives, egg / omelet, with coffee/tea. The restaurant had been expanded to accommodate the additional guests.

We used the facilities for games including carom, chess and Table Tennis to spend the rest of the day. My two teenaged sons and nephew had enough activities to keep themselves engaged. After a tasty buffet lunch it was time to immerse ourselves with the books we had taken.

The TV had a good choice of channels which provided the break from reading.

By evening the weather had become pleasant inviting us to take a long walk. This also helped us build up our appetite.

After breakfast the next morning, we left Lake Forest on our way back to Chennai.

The Resort is a museum filled with artifacts from the British era. The rooms have also been done up to bring back the old English feel. The staff were always around to help, very courteous yet not obtrusive. Yercaud is not yet commercialised. Though there are several resorts in Yercaud now, Lake Forest has the unique atmosphere, good staff and excellent location which makes us return to it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife & 5 year kid went to Lake forest last week and had very good overall experience. The place is perfect to relax. The Lake forest excels in following:
- Good location (walkable to the main lake)
- Hotel has excellent individual banglaows, ours felt like home, really like a home!
- Our banglaow very neat, spacious, very well ventilated, had excellent view, very well planned accomodation
- Hotel staff are kind and understanding
- Room service was very good
- The place is surrounded with high trees and even during summer it was cool and inviting
- My 5yr old daughter had very good time just being there, because it all felt so good and calm.
- I really recommend anyone to check this place, its worth every penny.
- Food is good, rented cycles could be cheaper per hour, trampolin is fun, free wifi is good but could be more reliable

Overall a memorable, pleasant & soothing experience.

Surya Kiran

Room Tip: Neither Sun rise or sun sets are clearly visible due to thick trees, so you must trek to nearest spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank SuryaKiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahil R, Guest Relations Manager at INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud, responded to this review, 23 November 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the INDeco experience. Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have been visiting this hotel for the past many years mainly because of the antique display there with the old world charm and a decent restaurant. But the reception I got from the F&B manager when I went there for lunch after a long and tiring drive from Chennai was very uncivilized and rude. I had to get out of the place never to return there. It is very necessary to prime the hotel staff about hospitality and courtesy from time to time lest the charm of this hotel will go down the drain. Please do not get shocked if you greeted by a badly behaved staff in the restaurant.

Room Tip: I do not recommend this hotel
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sakthi1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Our Second trip to Yercaud and at Lake Forest, booked throught my club Mahindra Membership.
First let me mention about the Service of the hotel staff which is excellent.
Food is good, not great, but this is one of the best food you get in Yercaud.
Ventured out for breakfast in a separarte place, but had to return back to this place.
Don't expect very luxurious and fancy, the antique colonial style archi gives the place a rustic yet calm and beautiful look and goes well with the overall destination of Yercaud.

Due to the tree covered place, the hotel is always a shade cooler and soothing than the rest of the places.

The location of this hotel is excellent and enjoy the relaxing break. From Bangalore with breaks it is 5 hour journey, nothing tiresome with great roads.

Place one can cover.
1. Lake and Boat Riding : Nothing to write home about, but an evening around 4 pm relaxing ride would do good. Please note the boating closes at around 5:30.
2. Killiyur Falls : Good Adventure, not advisable to go all the way done with children
3. Shevrayan Temple : A smallish cave templet and nice secnic place
4. Pagoda Point : Again nice scenic point.
5. Some of the other view points are nice, enjoy and stroll around.
6. Anna Park is pretty ordinary.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with older members, request for rooms near the dining place and reception as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sitangshu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yercaud hotels
1.0 km away
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
2.1 km away
Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.3 km away
Hotel Shevaroys
Hotel Shevaroys
#14 of 28 in Yercaud
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
LA Four Seasons
LA Four Seasons
#3 of 28 in Yercaud
159 reviews
0.8 km away
TGI Star Holidays Yercaud
1.2 km away
Hotel GVS Residency
Hotel GVS Residency
#17 of 28 in Yercaud
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud

Property: INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud
Address: Ondikadai post | Salem District, Yercaud 636602, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Yercaud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Yercaud
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,221 - ₹ 9,213
Hotel Class:3 star — INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Forest, with period and authentic interiors is located in a live coffee estate on the bunds of the Yercaud Lake. The guest bungalows are set in the "Eastlynne Farm Estate" in and around the "Bungalow" built during early 1800s by Henrietta Charlotte Rosario who was residing in the Shevroy hills. Today's Eastlynne Farm Estate was once known as "Rosar" on the Camphells Road, named after the owner. ONE OF THE FIRST PET FRIENDLY PLACES IN YERCAUD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelGuru and Yatra so you can book your INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud
INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing