We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
94
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea and cake west cork homemade scones double single bed wild atlantic way highly recommend this b b on arrival wonderful hosts definitely stay here again very pleasant stay irish hospitality stayed nights yogurt next morning sinead accommodation house
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Sinead and Dan are lovely people and I would like to think we ended up as friends. To be honest, there is absolutely nothing that I could find fault with: De Barra Lodge has stunning views, is as immaculate and clean as is humanly possible (frighteningly so!), the bed and bedrooms are beyond impressive, the welcome was warm and genuine and the rates charged represented super value. I have only one complaint - we all put on nearly a stone each after all those fabulous breakfasts...P.S. We were even entertained by their two gorgeous children during our stay!

Room tip: All rooms are great, front one has the best view!
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gnltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed for one night in De Barra Lodge, as we were attending a wedding in Glandore. The owners offered to drive us to the Wedding venue if we wanted to leave our car behind! The house is stunning and the rooms likewise, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and it was a very pleasant stay. My partner left his kit bag and wallet behind and Dan dropped it back up to us, very kindly taking time out to drive from west cork to the city to return it. Its an excellent guest house, I usually prefer to stay in hotels but after this stay i'll be looking more to guesthouses as a place to stay. Thanks so much for everything, i'll be recommending you to all my friends and family!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IrelandMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed 3 nights with our daughter meeting up with friends also staying in Rosscarberry. As my daughter commented (when she wasn't raving over the pancakes and syrup she had for breakfast!) more like a hotel than a B&B. Lovely quiet location yet within walking distance of Rosscarbery and the lagoon. Clean, comfortable room. Especially comfotable beds, large ensuite with an amazing shower. All absolutely spotless. The home baked treats at breakfast were amazing, sure I put on a few pounds during our visit!
Have to comment on the friendly, helpful owners who made us all feel so welcome. Thanks, especially for the box of chocs left in our room when our daughter mentioned our wedding anniversary. That's what I call the personal touch.
Don't be surprised if you see us again!

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shabser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SineadCB, Owner at deBarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2010

Dear Shabster,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your comments and are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay so much, we certainly enjoyed having you.
I hope Molly got some more pancakes when she got home!!!
Looking forward to seeing you all sometime in the future.
Regards
Dan & Sinead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

My wife and I had a short trip to County Cork in July 2010 to visit family.

We had a three day stay in West Cork and stayed at Dan and Sinead's deBarra Lodge.

The BnB is in a fantastic location just up the road from Rosscarberry village and within easy access of the stunningly beautiful West Cork coastline. The accommodation is spotless, the breakfasts are excellent and Dan & Sinead couldn't be more welcoming.

The deBarra Lodge is only a couple of miles from the Michael Collin's Museum just outside Clonakilty and the coastal villages of Baltimore and Union Hall are only short drives away.

We had no complaints and would have no hesitation in recommending this splendid BnB which feels more like a hotel than a "front room job".

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hilaryleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SineadCB, Owner at deBarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2010

Dear Hilary Leahy,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at de Barra Lodge and your trip to West Cork.
We are so lucky to have such beautiful scenery on our doorstep and sometimes we need our visitors to remind us of how beautiful it really is!
It was a real pleasure to have you as guests in our home, we really enjoyed your company.
Thank you for your kind words and we really appreciate you taking the time to post a review.

Best Regards
Sinead & Dan Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Great in every way. Beautiful, spacious and clean rooms. Modern and tasteful decor. Knockout food and wonderful hosts. Highly recommended stop off for anyone down west Cork way.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goldsoundz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SineadCB, Owner at deBarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2010

Hi Goldsoundz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, your comments are very much appreciated.
We are glad you enjoyed your trip to West Cork and hope that you pay us a visit again soon!

Best Regards,
Sinead & Dan Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews