We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarraleah Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$ 129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Forest Walks Lodge(Jackeys Marsh)
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Junction Motel(New Norfolk)(Great Value!)
US$ 81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Gold Rush(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
120
18
3
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
18
3
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decohot tubhighlander armsthe pubcouples weekendthe cottagesheated floorsfrench doorsunexpected gemexcellent bathroomgreat getawaynext morninglovely weekendcommunal loungeroaring firelocal produceinternet connection
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

With the company of 8 friends we enjoyed three days in the Tarraleah Lodge.

Wow! The room lodgings are beautifully appointed, warm and comfortable. Love the warm towel rail and floor. The bed was comfortable and warm.

The Lodge has a wonderful lounge where we could sit in front of a lovely fire place with a glass of wine or a cup of tea.

This is a great place for a weekend escape.

We took part in the Christmas in July function which was well organised and we all dressed to the nines. The food was lovely and ample. The only disappointment was there was no plumb pudding. But I've been assured there will be some next year. A band wonderful addition to the nights entertainment as well as pass the parcel.

We also joined in on the pub trivia, walked to the Tarraleah Lookout, Tarraleah Waterfalls, fed the Highland Cows and ducks.

Anyone looking for a lovely weekend away then this is an awesome place.

The Staff are friendly, helpful and very welcoming.

Thank you for a memorable weekend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joseph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

We read about Tarraleah in a tourist magazine and decided to stay a night on our way from Port Arthur to the west coast. I rang at lunchtime and we were given a choice of one of the cottages or a cabin. I chose the cottage, even though there were just 2 of us. Due to the season we were informed that there was nothing open in the village so we would need our own supplies for dinner, and the cottage had full kitchen facilities. We were also told that the power would be going off in the area at 8.30 the next morning. The key was left for us to collect as the office was closed by the time we arrived. The cottage was amazing. It was a pretty yellow, with 3 bedrooms, all with queen beds and aircon, great sized kitchen, two bathrooms, comfy lounge and a little sunroom. The wood fire was ready to be lit, the aircon was warming the house and the lights were on to welcome us 'home'. It was nicely decorated with polished timber floors and rugs, Art Deco ornaments and it was very clean. We found everything we needed, (except a hairdryer) and could easily have moved in! The story about the town is interesting and there was a booklet in the cottage telling us about the history, which was most appreciated. The cottages are all beautifully colourful and well maintained. It's a shame we were out of season with everything shut and we also didn't get to see any highland cows, but despite this we thoroughly enjoyed our night in the little village. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We had camped at Tarraleah some years before, but the Lodge was something else. With a group of old school mates and our partners, Tarraleah was the perfect venue to celebrate our 70th birthdays for a week. I can not speak too highly of the service provided by Kirsty, Michael and the other staff, which together with the quality of the accommodation and the range of activities available made for a memorable experience, which could only be improved by a more consistent and reliable wifi service (currently not possible in central Tasmania).

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Staying at a revitalised hydro village in the central highlands was most enjoyable.We stayed in one of the lake side villas that was well appointed,cosy,clean and quiet.(windows could have been cleaned was our only winge !)
The choice of accommodation is great from camp sites to houses
A perfect place to stay overnight or longer on your travels.
Remember to take supplies as there are no shops,but a cafe for breakfast and a restaurant for dinner (not Sunday night)

Room Tip: only telstra phone coverage at certain spots in the village
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egsinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Spectacular setting, situated in the heart of Tassie's highlands, providing the perfect opportunity to unwind. The Lodge is gorgeous, renovated Art Deco accommodation, the highlight of which is the Library Lounge featuring honesty bar and a 200 plus bottle whisky collection. Book a fishing tour, day spa treatment, time in the hot tub, a whisky tasting. Explore the wilderness with a range of walk options or drives. The Highlander restaurant offers no fuss, down to earth service, it doesn't need fancy as the food speaks for itself, which also proves value for money. A great getaway for a couples weekend, also cottage and caravan options in the village for families.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews