We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wet few days, but worth it....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A wet few days, but worth it....”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had got a 'hawk walk' gift at a nearby 'zoo' called Trotters animal world, and decided to have a few days nearby. Plenty of parking, we went for a superior double which was very large (room 6), there was a bar and restaurant on site. This may be important for those who do not want to drive to anywhere. The bar was very cute and was a converted hay loft. It's on a main road, but it's quiet,

The managers are very pleasant and spend time chatting.. either at breakfast or in the bar.

Breakfast had quite a large choice.... including kippers and eggs benedict. You could also choose a 'walkers breakfast' or 'light'.

Dodds wood was behind the hotel where a few people had hiked. There is a nice patio area with nice views (but not in the rain)

The osprey viewing point is one minute away, Keswick just five minutes.

The owners are still making improvements to the hotel... the dining room was really nice... i hope they keep it up

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestMidsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    107
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
405
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
660 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Had dinner here with friends, having read good reviews on TA. Anthony gave us a cheery welcome and provided excellent service all evening. The starters were not great. The pasta for the wild rabbit ravioli was so thick and undercooked, I couldn't eat it. The filling was tasty but I had to rescue two pieces of bone from my mouth. That really shouldn't happen. My friends told me the gravadlax was the most tasteless they had ever had. But - and it's a big but - the venison steak was beautifully cooked and delicious, as were the accompanying veg. The summer berry mousse for dessert was also delicious. My friends were impressed with the cheeseboard which they thoroughly enjoyed. It's a nice touch that the chef comes in to the dining room to ask if everything is okay but is anyone really going to say no?! A bad start to the evening but an excellent ending and we will definitely go back. We just won't order the pasta!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Throughout the UK, we Americans were impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of our UK hosts, but nowhere so much as at Ravenstone Lodge. Mike, our host, was very attentive to all our needs, as when my wife needed help cleaning her shoes after strolling the fields down by the lake. He was also quite a nice person to chat with - about fell walks, about the many fine photos on the walls (most of which he took himself), and about the lovely lodge itself. We stayed in the loft, which was a spacious home for two nights for me, my wife, and our friend (there's a second bed). This was also a great base of operations for exploring the Lake District - Keswick is a charming market town, and everyone should visit the Castlerigg Stoen Circle. We definitely hope to visit again.

Room Tip: The loft is their most spacious room - It's set up for couples + one, and I imagine one could ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken_Macdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Sometimes when reading reviews you expect a bit of a let down when you arrive, but not at the Ravenstone. We arrived on the Friday afternoon in the middle of a heatwave and were greeted by friendly staff, who showed us up to our standard double room, not large, but cosy and clean. We stayed three days and enjoyed every minute, from the snug little bar, with endless games of all sorts available, to the wonderful breakfasts and relaxing dinner. The views from the rooms, Lounge and the outside sun terrace are magnificent and the staff could not have been more friendly and attentive. This is a hotel that I would go back to again and again.

Room Tip: Book early for the best rooms, but they all have the same fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffandAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Not only does Ravenstone lodge have a superb view but they also have an excellent team who make sure their guests are comfortable and cosy. Our 4 nights stay ended yesterday and we take back beautiful memories of this place and its team. Breakfast is simply amazing, they offer traditional english breakfast along with other varieties including veg breakfast which is healthy, delicious and superbly presented. Food is excellent in both departments ..i.e. presentation and taste. Frankly I had not read any reviews of any hotel...i simply found this on the website while planning my lake district and i booked this as i found it offered a scenic view. Today I am ver glad i booked this lodge for our Lake trip. One more advantage we had was that the bus stop is right in front of the gate, so anyone who does not have their own vehicle does not have to worry, as you can take a bus right in front of the lodge and reach Keswick in 15 minutes while enjoying the scenic across the region. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone who is planning to enjoy the stay in Lake district. Take care.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saurabh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
35.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 km away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,052 reviews
6.1 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
4.9 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
530 reviews
3.6 km away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Property: Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,050 - ₹ 11,582
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing