We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A regular visitor”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Self-catering holiday home cumbria
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Self-catering holiday home cumbria
Fully fitted kitchen with all utensils and equipment
Dining lounge area
Typical Twin Lounge
Typical twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marie M
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
“A regular visitor”
Reviewed 6 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I have stayed at the Skiddaw View Caravan Site on several occasions over the years. A peaceful, well-tended site with access to the northern lakes and Keswick and Cockermouth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accessible to the northern and western lakes
Liked least: The British weather!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora S
Darlington
1 review
“A most relaxing time in an excellent caravan situated in beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 1 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Have stayed at Skiddaw View four times in cottage then caravan latter preferred because my brother and I have a dog and it is more convenient for walking. Very easy to access shops in Cockermouth and Keswick. Excellent access to North West Coast and the incomparable beautiful Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaylf
Staffordshire
1 review
“Lakeland Luxury”
Reviewed 12 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Had a brilliant 5 day break in one of their luxury static caravans. Immaculately clean. Lots of clean towels and tea towels. Everything appeared to be brand new and newly bought for our stay. The weather wasn't particularly good during our break, but we managed to get in a couple of good walks and is was really nice to come back to a warm, well thought out and comfortable caravan to recuperate and dry out. There was a good play area for our daughter, where she made lots of new friends. The views from that top field were beautiful when the sun was shining. The site is quiet and peaceful, perfect for a long or short break away. It is about 11 miles away from Keswick and 7 miles from Cockermouth. There is a pub that serves meals about a mile and a half away in Bothel. We walked there on our first night and had a good meal. The walk is along the main road to Bothel, (there may be another route, although we never checked) which although not very busy is very fast so take care on the way. We didn't actually see any of the on site staff until we left (our key was waiting for us outside reception when we arrived). There really was no need to, although my wife would have liked a little acknowledgement of our arrival, if only to check that everything was OK with the caravan. There was plenty of contact information in the caravan if a problem occurred however, along with some really nice touches such as a binder containing nearby walks that may be of interest and which we were free to take out with us if needed. All in all a little gem of a place just far enough out from the busy Keswick area but still close enough to be accessible to all that the Lake District has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The cleanliness and equipment specification
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orla L
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had the most fabulous week, can not say a negative thing about my stay.”
Reviewed 11 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Stayed in skiddaw view caravan park which was lovely, very well maintained grounds and quiet which we wanted. Our luxury caravan was brilliant, just like a little mini house, very well equipped, clean, comfortable and relaxing. It was very homey and the bed was extremely comfortable. It was also in a good location for getting around the lake district and exploring. I would highly recommened Skiddaw and would defintely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Wi-fi would have been nice.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil R
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing & Comfortable”
Reviewed 6 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Pleasantly surprised with the spaciousness of the caravan. The beds were very comfortable. The dog was catered for in being provided poop bags & some chews which he enjoyed enormously. The site itself was very quiet which is what we where looking for at that time, with beautiful views of Skiddaw & the lake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable beds
Liked least: no wi-fi, but not a deal breaker.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing