We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Coco Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Pearl(Luquillo)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,547)
Filter reviews
6,547 results
Traveller rating
1,871
1,727
1,195
891
863
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,871
1,727
1,195
891
863
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelbali bedscafe soleilpuerto ricobeautiful resortprivate poolwet barmain poolpuerto rican restaurantrented a cargarden viewbutler serviceswim up barold san juanel yunque rainforestocean frontlounge chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,331 - 4,336 of 6,547 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The drive to this particular hotel is a long one, about 45 minutes and often you feel like the road you are on cannot be right as is very dark (at night obviosly). It will cost you $15/day to park at the hotel (unless you are a vacation member then it is free)

Although we are part of the vacation club we arrived a day early due to flights so we stayed at the hotel for the first night, check in was great, although they don't offer drinks on arrival. It was relativly pain free and the front desk attendant was nice and quite knowledgable. There was nowhere to get food after 11 pm ( so we were very hungry after traveling for 12 hours) We waited quite some time for some assiatance to our room with our bags, as we didn't know where we were going and it was quite a ways, apparently you wait at the front of the hotel for a belman to pick you up (which we were not told), While we were waiting there were 4 young men that worked for the hotel right by us and none of them even acknowledged we existed, not what is expected of melia hotels.

Finially made it to our room, beautifuly decorated, very big, very comfortable. We decided to go to the lobby bar for a drink as it had been such a long day. 2 highballs and a pop cost $21 OUCH!!! note - you wont want to stay at the hotel and drink unless you have money to burn.

The next day the service (or lack there of) continued as we called for assistance in moving us over to the vacation club, after 1 1/2 hours and 5 phone calls later, we began walking AGAIN. Finally got checked into our hotel room after un unfriendly check in process (other than the wonderful guy that finially offered us something to drink ).

The room : 1 bedroom suite,on lower level - BEAUTIFUL!!! large, very modern, full kitchen including cook top, fridge, toaster, dishes etc. jacuzzi tub, large shower, kitchen, large patio and sitting area.

Pool area is beautiful, bar only open on certain days, seems to be a hit and miss as to when the towels place will be open. When we did see staff they were quite often huddeled and visiting with each other.

The beach - apparently by the hotel side the beach is quite rocky in the water but at the vacation side, although no beach set up for sitting (drag a cchair or 2 down) the sand in the water is soft and very nice. if you walk slow you can often see small fish swimming at your feet.

the grounds: are beautiful, lush and green, well kept and very clean.

First day we ventured out to get soem groceries for breakfasts and lunches, as well as alcohol for pool drinks as is once again quite expensive to drink at the resort. NOTE: the grocery stores are also the liquor stores.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennipher11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I've been coming here for the past 6 years in May. This is definitely one of our favorite trips of the year. The resort is tucked away in a gated property. I stay in the condos as part of the vacation club. The resort is on a beautiful property. The main pool is gorgeous. The staff is very attentive but not overbearing. Don't get me wrong, its not the Waldorf by any means. If you want a drink from the pool bar you will have to get up off your chair & get it yourself. When I come here its for the location, privacy & the pool. They also have a great spa. The gym is nothing to brag about, but they do offer one. On weekends they have live latin jazz bands that are excellent. The food on the other hand is not that great. My wife & I always opt to go to local establishments where the food is a lot better & better priced. All in all we will continue to come here for our May get away... Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

May, 2012 was our second trip back to this resort, and it's gotten even better since we went in 2008. We splurged on the Red Level service, which entitles you to free breakfast at the Soleil Cafe (which was awesome for myself non-vegetarian, and my husband who is a strict vegetarian), access to the adult-only pool with cabana beds, and h'ordeuvres and happy hour in the evening with free alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and great snacks to get you ready for dinner. Best of all, the service at this hotel is fantastic. We had a slight mix up with our reservation, but staff went out of their way to ensure we got everything we expected and MORE. This was our 'babymoon', so our last vacation before our first child, and we can't wait to bring our little peanut back with us. One of the most relaxing vacations we've ever had, with great service.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room - or you can go to the vacation club side (attached to the resort, just on the other side, and parking is free there), and ask for a room with a jacuzzi on the balcony. HEAVEN!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tajinder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, E-Guest Experience at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Tajinder K,

Thanks so much for sharing with us your recent experience at Gran Melia Puerto Rico. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience at our Resort.

In Gran Melia Puerto Rico, on of our main goals is to make our guests feel like home and meet all their expectations and we are happy we did it.

Looking forward to welcome you back again with your baby!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here during a four day trip. Immediately noticed a horrible moldy smell in our room. a/c wouldn't quit running, tub stopper broken and leg of bed fell off!! Customer service was inconsistent at best and rude at worst. Feral cat brought us a nice rat outside our door for breakfast! Bar service impossible, and don't plan on even a minor injury as there are no medical supplies. No casino as advertised and a rainy day equals doing nothing! Repeated power problems in conference facilities. Returning to Bahamas next time!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12step
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The top three reasons to choose a resort! We have been to many resorts all over the world and by far, the staff, resort, amenities, etc... at this resort were excellent to say the least. Beginning with our check in at Red Level where, by the way, we were introduced to our butler Tony, to the every day coddling at the pool & restaurants by Tony & the rest of the staff, we enjoyed celebrating my wifes 60th. Birthday. We relaxed & unwound, I did it with a round of golf at Donald Trumps PGA course on the property and my wife enjoyed the spa, we never even got to see San Juan.

Room Tip: Stay at Red Level!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guards21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, E-Guest Experience at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear guards21,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share with all of us your stay at Gran Melia Puerto Rico. We are are glad to know that you decided to celebrate this special occasion with us and you had a great experience at the Hotel.

We really thank the comments for our Butler Tony, he's a great asset of our Resort and we are sure he went beyond to make you and your wife had a great vacation.

We hope to see you soon at Gran Melia Puerto Rico,

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews