We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some negatives”
Review of Melia Coco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Coco Beach
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is a beautiful hotel but it has some major negatives. We loved the main building and the pool. The customer service is very weak. Our first room had a large black mold area high on the wall. Our second room only had spots on the wall. I took pictures of the mold and went to the customer service desk. They did not even want to look at the pictures but after awhile they did offer a second room. They were going to send a bellhop for the bags but we gave up waiting after and hour and 15 minutes and move them ourselves. Our second room only had spots on the wall in the bath area. (You can find out more about black mold on the internet. It is dangerous.) Both rooms had defective tub plugs. Beach is poor. It has lots of rocks, fleas and weeds. It is shallow and small. An interesting design was used on the sliding doors to the balconies. There is no outside handle. If you go outside and close the door, there is no way to open the door from the outside.The bellhop threw a 40+ lb bag onto the handle of another bag and damaged the handle. On the good side, the food at the Puerto Rican restaurant called Passion had very good food but was expensive. It costs over $90 for dinner for two with one desert but without any drinks. We had only two frozen bar drinks which were not very good for $24.

Room Tip: Inspect rooms carefully for mold. Building 15 is the closest to the pool and main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leetom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,342 - 4,346 of 6,541 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

We were at this resort for a business conference and were less than impressed. We did have Red Level which was a huge bonus. I was actually scared to go based on the reviews I had read and it wasn't quite as bad as I thought but there is SO much that could be improved upon! Location in Puerto Rico is bad. There is nothing to do nearby. Everything requires a minimum 30min drive with most things being an hour or more away. The food is pretty bad. The only breakfast option is the buffet for $14 person. The only edible things on the buffet are fruit and made to order omelet which you have to wait in line forever for because everyone else realizes it is the only edible thing on the buffet. The other decent thing I found to eat are the skewers(shrimp)at the Red Level pool. They have someone grilling every day and it is fresh and tasty. Another bonus to Red Level is the lounge where you can get bottled water all day and also make your own latte's that are really good. They also have fruit and pastry in the morning, snack mix or mixed nuts in the afternoon and I believe wine and cheese in the evening. There are computers in there that you can use and you can check out and use their concierge also which is a definite bonus since the front desk is usually pretty busy.
Our room was ocean front with a great view. Unfortunately our room smelled so musty it was unbelievable. They try to cover it up with strong cleaners and cranking the a/c but my clothes started smelling after two days(even the ones we never wore...ugh!). It's a tropical environment but this goes beyond that...like mold growing in the walls, etc.
The workers at the resort were nice....no rude behavior. They agree with everything you say but unfortunately don't act on it or fix problems. One main problem we experienced is the Red Level pool and reserving of Cabanas. They let you reserve them and tell you have to reserve them but when you get there, they are not available and they try to give you a different one and claim they can't find the reservation book or the pool butler is not there, etc. I experienced this twice myself and saw other people arguing and struggling with this issue. Why make people reserve if they aren't going to enforce it? It just creates a major problem that need not be!

Room Tip: No idea....probably recommend Red Level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I found the property much prettier and trendier than the website photos depict. Middle Eastern feel, with a Koi pond and lovely grounds. My room is also very clean and nicely kept. I was told its doesn't have a great beach - rocky, so I stayed by the pool. Everyone is very friendly, in particular the staff in the red level lounge. I must say unequivocably - if you like to eat during the day, this IS NOT the resort for you. They have one cafe near the pool, which is a LOOONG walk. Not to mention it is infested with blackbirds and cats crawling around you or flying and/or sitting above your table. The food is just OK at the outdoor cafe. The servers don't understand english well, and are extremely slow for a small cafe that couldn't support the number of guests in the hotel. Regarding evening restaurants they are wonderful. Room service is also poor, and they left my tray out 12 hours after housekeeping had been there (so no urgency to retrieve it). If you are a person who enjoys food during the day, I would not recommend this resort.

Room Tip: And at all cost, sign up for RED LEVEL. I would get a room in the 1700-1800 section as the others h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We enjoyed our time at this resort. They had nice rooms and nice pool area with good beach access. The service while we were there was ok. We enjoyed a pool cabana for a great day rate but the service with food and beverage was very slow. We were given inaccurate breakfast information and when it came to correcting our bill at the end of our stay they flat out refused. This over a nominal $9 correction and after all of the $$$ we spent while we were there. This was very poor and disappointing service.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bungalows. It is a long walk to the pool and restaurants but they provide golf car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, E-Guest Experience at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Michelle F,

Thanks so much for sharing with us your recent stay at Gran Melia Puerto Rico.
We are glad to know that overall you had a great time, but on the other side we feel very sorry that you experienced a miscommunication issue regarding the price of the breakfast, but most of all that you were not able to have this fixed before you left.
Please, if you can contact us direct to the hotel so we can take care of this as soon as possible,

Again, thank you and looking forward to hear from you really soon,

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were looking for a spa experience without the spa expense and we loved it. If you want to be pampered, this is the place. The butlers who service the Red Level Service are incredibly friendly and helpful. We loved them all. Tony was our personal butler and took such good care of us. He even texted us on his day off to make sure everything was going well, brought a stool from home to help me climb into the Cabana Bed at the Pool (Heavenly!) and prepared the jacuzzi with flowers and candles. If you want to zone out and lay back, this is the place. The beach is firm and good for walking and the high stately palms that line the beach are breathtaking. The food is okay but not exceptional, except for the appetizers in the Red Level Lounge which were very tasty. The food and the view at Richies, an offsite restaurant, is wonderful and someone from the restaurant will pick you up. Taxi costs are $70 - $100 for every trip as the resort is quite isolated, so if you want to explore the area, I would suggest a rental car. The Red Level lounge provides free sodas, beer, wine and champagne all day and the seperate pool for Red Level is adult only, so quiet and uncrowded. I really got used to being pampered and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, E-Guest Experience at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Lynne 128,

Thank you very much for taking the time on sharing with us your recent experience at Gran Melia Puerto Rico.
We are glad to know that Red Level accomodations and specially, our staff, exceeded your expectations. We are proud to have staff like Tony that endure our guests will have a memorable stay.

We'll share your comments with Tony and all our staff... Thanks!!

Looking forward to welcome you again at Gran Melia Puerto Rico,

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
2.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
23.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,255 reviews
30.8 km away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 km away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
24.4 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
5.2 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Coco Beach

Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: ₹ 8,607 - ₹ 22,974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Coco Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Melia coco beach Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Melia coco beach Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Melia Hotels APAC, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Prestigia so you can book your Melia Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Melia Coco Beach Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing