We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort, less than stellar service for what you pay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
anaheim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort, less than stellar service for what you pay”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We enjoyed our time at this resort. They had nice rooms and nice pool area with good beach access. The service while we were there was ok. We enjoyed a pool cabana for a great day rate but the service with food and beverage was very slow. We were given inaccurate breakfast information and when it came to correcting our bill at the end of our stay they flat out refused. This over a nominal $9 correction and after all of the $$$ we spent while we were there. This was very poor and disappointing service.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bungalows. It is a long walk to the pool and restaurants but they provide golf car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Michelle F,

Thanks so much for sharing with us your recent stay at Gran Melia Puerto Rico.
We are glad to know that overall you had a great time, but on the other side we feel very sorry that you experienced a miscommunication issue regarding the price of the breakfast, but most of all that you were not able to have this fixed before you left.
Please, if you can contact us direct to the hotel so we can take care of this as soon as possible,

Again, thank you and looking forward to hear from you really soon,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,782
    1,652
    1,108
    826
    788
See reviews for
2,000
2,371
91
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mpls
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were looking for a spa experience without the spa expense and we loved it. If you want to be pampered, this is the place. The butlers who service the Red Level Service are incredibly friendly and helpful. We loved them all. Tony was our personal butler and took such good care of us. He even texted us on his day off to make sure everything was going well, brought a stool from home to help me climb into the Cabana Bed at the Pool (Heavenly!) and prepared the jacuzzi with flowers and candles. If you want to zone out and lay back, this is the place. The beach is firm and good for walking and the high stately palms that line the beach are breathtaking. The food is okay but not exceptional, except for the appetizers in the Red Level Lounge which were very tasty. The food and the view at Richies, an offsite restaurant, is wonderful and someone from the restaurant will pick you up. Taxi costs are $70 - $100 for every trip as the resort is quite isolated, so if you want to explore the area, I would suggest a rental car. The Red Level lounge provides free sodas, beer, wine and champagne all day and the seperate pool for Red Level is adult only, so quiet and uncrowded. I really got used to being pampered and would love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Lynne 128,

Thank you very much for taking the time on sharing with us your recent experience at Gran Melia Puerto Rico.
We are glad to know that Red Level accomodations and specially, our staff, exceeded your expectations. We are proud to have staff like Tony that endure our guests will have a memorable stay.

We'll share your comments with Tony and all our staff... Thanks!!

Looking forward to welcome you again at Gran Melia Puerto Rico,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel in February 2012 and it was a mismanaged mess from the minute we arrived! They couldn't find our reservation(even after presenting a written copy to the front desk) and asked us to wait while they checked with the manager. We waited, and waited and waited. As the day drug on we wandered to the pool area and attempted to eat at the pool but they said they COULD NOT serve us without the paperwork, room key or whatever the hell they needed? We hadn't eaten anything all day and as we noticed the grill was going to close soon, we asked again if we could please have some food made and once again denied however; this time, told they were closed! We all could see the face of our watches to read almost 12 earlier than the posted time of closing.
The food in their restaurants is awful, wasted enough time to see a full length film and paid enough to see 10 movies or more. Uuuuugh! Horrible waste of time and money...Don't make our same mistake. No matter what the deal is you get online...Pass! Pay a little more, get better! Swim Eddie, Swim! right on past the Gran Melia, Rio Grande, PR

Room Tip: The room decor is lovely on a superficial level. If you can't see the dirt and bugs you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeddingCakeBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The resort was breathtaking. The food and service was great! Every staff member was extremely friendly and accommodating. The food was much better than you will find in all-inclusive type resorts. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The pool is very nice and clean. There were plenty of people at the resort while we were there, but since the resort is so large with a huge pool and various restaurants, it never seemed crowded. The hotel lobby area is so serene filled with ponds, plants and water fountains. I just had to wake up early one morning to sit back and enjoy the lobby. I was a little worried about the size of the resort because we were traveling with a large group including two of our parents with bad legs. They have golf carts that you simply call and they come directly to your room to pick you up and take you anywhere on the resort. My mother-in-law lives in Puerto Rico. We will be staying at the Gran Melia for a few days every time we visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Lucy M,

We really appreciate the time you took on sending your valuable comments, this ones helps us to improve every day on the service we provide to all of our guests. We are very focused and committed on giving a great service and exceeding our guest needs.

We really hope to receive you back again here at Gran Melia Puerto Rico at La Isla del Encanto,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, MD
Level Contributor
222 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in conjunction with a conference. The place is beautiful and spacious. Everything is spread out so you often times need a ride to get places. It was very helpful to have our own rental car. The resort is 3 miles down a long "access" road....all the way at the end. The location was close to the El Yunque Rainforest and a short drive (around 40 mins) to Old San Juan. The service was not too good...people were friendly enough, but not always helpful enough. We called for ice to be brought to our room (the ice machine is a short walk from the rooms) and it took almost an hour for someone to arrive with the ice. The Red Level service was just ok too...we had an issue with being charged for something erroneously and they were going to send us to another desk to deal with it and we insisted that they handle it.

Room Tip: Red Level rooms are closer to the main area and some face the beach...worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRJRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear TRJRM,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Gran Melia Puerto Rico Resort to be your home during your last vacations.

We really appreciate the time you took on sending your valuable comments, this ones helps us to improve every day on the service we provide to all of our guests. We are very focused and committed on giving a great service and exceeding our guest needs.

We felt disappointed to learn that your services expectations fell short of a perfect rating.

We know that our guests’ expect a certain level of service from us, and while we pride ourselves in our ability to exceed those high expectations, we occasionally fall short, as we may have done in your case. When this happens, it disappoints us as much as upsets you. We shared you comments with the Managers involved in order to make and action plan and avoid this situations.

We feel very sorry as we didn’t fulfilled your expectations.

Please accept our most sincere apologies and know that your feedback is most useful as we strive to improve our product and services.
We hope to see you soon at La Isla del Encanto,

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
31.3 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
6,755 reviews
2.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
23.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 km away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
30.8 km away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
4,625 reviews
5.2 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Property: Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,524 - ₹ 25,462
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Trump International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Melia Hotels APAC and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing