We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great service! Beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Camuy, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service! Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

It was our first visit; my husband was attending a two day seminar from work and we decided to stay! We had a great time, the room was a junior suite with a king bed and garden view, very comfortable and beautiful. The staff was great, very attentive. The food was wonderful, we enjoyed all the meals we ordered. The swimming pool was great, the surroundings, the beach, lively music playing near the pool; we loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraLiz_TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear SandraLiz_TC,

Thank you so much for taking the time on sending us your valuable comments.
We are happy on knowing that even though you came for business, you decided to get some time off and enjoyed the facilities.

It was our main goal to make you had a great experience and we did it,

Lookinmg forward to welcome you again at Gran Melia Puerto Rico,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,732
    1,595
    1,073
    807
    753
See reviews for
1,924
2,292
88
357
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My girlfriend surprised me for my birthday and it was an amazing experience from start to finish. The Grand Melia was breath taking and the employees are +++AAA. Wish I had more time than two days but I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: A perfect spot to relax, unwind and enjoy Puerto Rico. Off the beaten path luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierresquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I read Trip Advisor before booking and noticed several comments about rooms that smell. I called the hotel before booking and they said it was not true. It is TRUE. The rooms smell. I would never come to this place again.
I travel around 60 days a year in hotel rooms and have not had one this bad in years. This place is awful.
I tried to discuss it with the hotel customer service. They do not even contact you back. Do not trust them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytraveler5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The room was fine but the bathroom smelled moldy. The service was non-existent and the restaurants were mediocre and not worth the money. Breakfast buffet was $22/person a day but b/c of our online booking deal, we got it for half price and it was still too much to pay.

The beach has no bar service and it is located at the end of a peninsula which can be a bit windy. Also, there are no bathrooms near the beach/pool. You have to go back through the lobby. Completely not worth the money. We rented a car and spent as much time away from the resort as we could. Very, very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallie5672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great hotel design, great attached restaurants. Great for the deal we got through cheapcarribean.com but the staff was a bit uninformed about the benefits we were to receive from the deal and gave us misinformation on where/what to redeem within the resort. We ended up paying an extra $50 on a dinner because we thought we could redeem a credit there, but couldn't because the staff told us we could go there. Other than that, the staff had great recommendations for great places to go locally in Old San Juan and Lucillo.The hotel is about 30 minutes from Old San Juan, so plan on renting a car if you want to sight see. I got a mass of bug bites while staying here. The others in my room got much less, but did have some bites. We had friends staying in another room that had none, which leaves me to believe it couldn't have been beach fleas, or something else from the environment, but from the room we stayed in. Unconfirmed if it was bed bugs or not.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycladygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
31.3 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,560 reviews
2.9 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
30.8 km away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
31.7 km away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
5.2 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Property: Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,958 - ₹ 19,856
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Trump International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing