We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing "Gran" about it”
Review of Melia Coco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Coco Beach
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing "Gran" about it”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The room was fine but the bathroom smelled moldy. The service was non-existent and the restaurants were mediocre and not worth the money. Breakfast buffet was $22/person a day but b/c of our online booking deal, we got it for half price and it was still too much to pay.

The beach has no bar service and it is located at the end of a peninsula which can be a bit windy. Also, there are no bathrooms near the beach/pool. You have to go back through the lobby. Completely not worth the money. We rented a car and spent as much time away from the resort as we could. Very, very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallie5672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,859
    1,722
    1,189
    879
    850
See reviews for
2,168
2,468
95
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great hotel design, great attached restaurants. Great for the deal we got through cheapcarribean.com but the staff was a bit uninformed about the benefits we were to receive from the deal and gave us misinformation on where/what to redeem within the resort. We ended up paying an extra $50 on a dinner because we thought we could redeem a credit there, but couldn't because the staff told us we could go there. Other than that, the staff had great recommendations for great places to go locally in Old San Juan and Lucillo.The hotel is about 30 minutes from Old San Juan, so plan on renting a car if you want to sight see. I got a mass of bug bites while staying here. The others in my room got much less, but did have some bites. We had friends staying in another room that had none, which leaves me to believe it couldn't have been beach fleas, or something else from the environment, but from the room we stayed in. Unconfirmed if it was bed bugs or not.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycladygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Looks like it was once a beautiful resort until time and the mold monster began eating it alive. My friend with COPD couldn't even visit our room. The little couch in the room was covered in black mold. Black mold covered the AC vent. Very strong odor. Was sick by the 3rd of 7 days. Was difficult to get moved even though the resort seemed fairly empty. Was told it was not possible to speak to a manager when I asked...unheard of. Although the resort, pool and grounds are gorgeous, it doesn't look like anything has been repaired since opening. If something becomes broken, ripped or frayed, it just stays that way and gets worse. Tiles missing throughout pool area, many jets in pool not working, frayed chair arms in fancy restaurants, bent up wall sconce (light) in room, fridge dented and rusty, ice machine in disrepair, and did I mention the mold and smell. Pool had mildew around edges and on lounges. They didn't tell us the casino was closed when we booked. We were just looking for a resort on the beach with a casino and a nice pool. They weren't willing to comp us anything for that; not even parking. Who would have thought we would have to pay $15/day to park the rental car when they were in the middle of nowhere with so much space. We were dissatisfied with the beach part also. We didn't swim there because of all the seaweed. Mostly dirt/rocks. Still, it was a nice place to sit and look out at the ocean. We didn't know in advance that we would have to park 1/4 mile from room. They had golf cart shuttles and they said all we had to do was call. They didn't say call and wait for a half hour. Totally sucks when it's raining. They also don't tell you that when you call for a shuttle, they would be rude. I bought first round of island drinks for our gang of 4 when we arrived. Because this cost $40 plus tip, it was the last round we had at their bar. Then we are given some grief by a cart driver about bringing a cooler to our room......afraid we might be bringing fairly priced drinks in. We were warned, "don't let the manager see you." If only we could have found a manager!!!! Friends were double charged on their credit card, but ours was fine. By the way, you don't know until arrival that they put a $500 hold per room on your credit card. The only thing we saw that was well maintained was the lobby and the landscaping except the weed filled planter boxes that lined our balconies. Restaurant service was poor, but it seemed due to inappropriate training by management. New management could possibly save this resort for the future. Right now it seems like it is going out of business fast. .......and did I mention the mold....it's just not a very healthy place. Beware, iguana swims in pool........hmmmm, I wonder about the chlorine level!

Room Tip: Wear a haz-mat suit or at least bring oxygen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Columbia_MOShari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I just got back from here. What can I say the resort is truly breathe taking, and the service was phenomenal. We stayed in one of the junior suites with a garden view, we wanted to upgrade but they were all booked. However I was more pleased with the garden view, there was a beautiful view of the rain forest and private. The Red level is the way to go, they are very accommodating. The grounds were beautifully landscaped, and the pools were spectacular. Unfortunately I got got burnt the second day we were there, the market was out of Aloe but like I said the staff was top notch. Tony our butler ran out after his shift to go get me some, not a lot of other staff at other resorts would do that. I can't say enough good things about him, he treated my husband and I like gold! Also anything we needed from towels to room service was treated quickly.The beach is beautiful and the food was amazing. Don't read other reviews and base your opinion on those, you will not be disappointed in this place!! I wish I took advantage of the spa, I did hear a lot of wonderful things about it. I can't wait to return to Puerto Rico, and we will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Any would be sufficient, we were on the second floor more privacy but upgrade to red level worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, E-Guest Experience at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Jillian B,

Thanks so much for taking the time on sending us your review. We trully appreciate your comments.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Resort, and specially Red Level. We are sure that Tony went beyond to make you feel like home.. and even better.
It was our main goal to make you grade your experience on ten, and we did it!

We look forward to welcome you back, and as in this recent stay, we'll make sure Tony and our Butlers team make you have a wonderful stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I truly do not understand how anyone could complain about this resort and the service! We stayed one week in a Red Level Oceanfront Junior Suite, and found the room, location and service impeccable and outstanding! We travel the world, so maybe our expectations have been "molded" by other experiences, but our decision has been made to return. The RL category comes with butler service, and we had the BEST!! (Tony R, our butler assigned at checkin, was awesome and provided us with anything we mentioned, going so far as to bring a stepstool from his home for us to use for access to the room's jacuzzi and pool cabanas. Made reservations for us, researched and set up outside resort accessibility needs,anticipated our needs/wishes, followed up and followed thru on requests[even on his day off!]) Angel M, another butler who also managed the Red Level pool and cabanas, was also great! He made sure we had cabanas reserved for every day of our stay; and even got special permission to bring a cart to our door for pickup when it rained. Manny,bartender at Red Level pool, is also a "great find". He serviced our drink and snack needs, and provided help after his shift ended when he saw we needed it.
Resort location is 30-40 min from OSJ, 30 min from airport, 15 min from Luquillo(beautiful sandy beach with great food kiosks[try #2]), 15/20 min from Fajardo, and 15 min from El Yunque rainforest..perfect location, but do need a car! Resort beach is beautiful to look at and walk(rugged beauty), not great for swimming or for those who like soft, white sand. Please go and make your own decision.

Room Tip: The Red Level was truly worth the extra!! Butlers, private(quiet)pool, full breakfast, cocktails eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, E-Guest Experience Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Kat1730,

Thank you very much for taking th etime on writing to us about your experience. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our Butlers Staff at Red Level made sure this was a memorable experience for you and your friends.

We look forward to welcome you back again, and we'll make sure,once again, that you will enjoy Puerto Rico.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
2.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
23.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,235 reviews
31.7 km away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,866 reviews
31.3 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,120 reviews
5.2 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Coco Beach

Property: Melia Coco Beach
Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,692 - ₹ 19,576
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Coco Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Melia coco beach Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Melia coco beach Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Melia Hotels APAC, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Melia Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Melia Coco Beach Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing