We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not iPad or cellphone friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
126 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not iPad or cellphone friendly!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just finished a 4 night stay for a conference-many who are still asking themselves, 'Who's idea was this??' As the title says, leave your iPads at home unless you plan to use them only in the lobby. You need a real laptop that can be connected to the hotel's internet via an ethernet cable to use it in the guestrooms. Internet charges ($9.99/day) were supposed to be complementary for conference attendees & reverse off the room bill automatically, but no surprise, that didn't happen. Cell service is also spotty inside the building. The building itself is out in the middle of nowhere-45+ minutes from the airport. This also means guests are pretty much stuck w/the few restaurants on-site (even fewer during off-season) or a very hefty cab ride to San Juan (apparently in the neighborhood of $75+/each way). The 2nd day we were there Marbella, one of the restaurants (& the only one that serves breakfast) closed unexpectedly at noon 'for cleaning'. Staff overall pretty indifferent, especially housekeeping-when I checked out, the ice bucket was in the exact same place I left it, when I was finished w/it, on Monday night. All in all, I'm very glad to be leaving!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

7,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,174
    2,384
    1,376
    699
    381
See reviews for
2,466
2,345
113
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent 5 fabulous days at the resort in Puerto Rico. The property is georgeous, beautiful beach, pools, jacuzzi, lush tropical landscaping. From arrival to departure the entire staff went our of their way to be accomodating.They made us feel very special.
The food was an outstanding value for the price paid. We ate at the casul restaurant, two specialty restaurants, even room service. The quality, variety and presentation were in keeping with a first class resort.
Our stay was beyond our expectations. For a specil treat rent a cabana you will feel like royalty. The hotel is near the rain forest great day trip.You can play golf, tennis, horse back riding many other activities are available. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

To begin with...nothing bad or awful about this place..
for folks who'd like to just spend time @a resort and not step out much... this is the place to be!!
pricey place of course... food, parking, snacks, and drinks....even internet is 10$/day.
ITs an out and out resort place..they have a huge private beach but no activities on the beach... they have 3-4 restaurants within the premises..but like I said they are pricey too.

For those who want to see the real Puerto rico, old san juan... pls research well... and u'll find better deals for the same price...more closer to san juan.

Room Tip: tip-- any room with ocean view is good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TS_diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamEXEC, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience of your stay at the Wyndham Rio Mar and Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Hopefully your travels will once again bring you to Puerto Rico and you’ll make us your destination of choice. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Danny Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The location: fabulous! The property: great! The staff: wonderful! Food: overpriced. Parking: a huge pain. The rooms: fantastic!

Overall this was a great place to be. The rooms were nicely laid out, big bathroom, comfy bed, pillows and bedding. The beach was great, free chairs and umbrellas if you wanted. Everything was clean and well-kept. The staff was always willing to help with whatever you needed. The adult pool was lacking in the chair dept. Really nice chairs there, but people came out early and threw their stuff in them in order to have chairs all day and there were just never enough chairs there. We only ate there a couple of times. The Tiki Bar was great! Good food, great bartenders. Victor was our favorite! Prices were high though. $7 for the local beer and $10.50 for most cocktails. The only other restaurant we ate at was Marabell. VERY OVERPRICED! $25 breakfast buffet....how many people can really eat that much at breakfast? And Caribbean night was $35 each. The food was seriously not worth that price and the entertainment could be seen for free from the balcony above the restaurant. It didn't last long and wasn't worth paying to see since the food wasn't great either. Don't know about the other restaurants. We chose to eat off-site since we had a rental car and it was just much more fun that way too. I would definitely stay there again though! With a rental car is the best way though!

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a King. I think it was listed as a resort view room but we could see the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamEXEC, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
We’re very glad you chose Rio Mar as your vacation destination and very much appreciate your feedback. I apologize your dining experience was not what you expected. However, our Food and Beverage team are creating an array of selections in all of the outlets to satisfy every palate and our menu prices are very competitive with that of other hotels and resorts on the island. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to see you again!

Danny Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Beautiful hotel, beautiful view.
With a mile of private beach and miles of rain forest around the hotel, this place has a lot to offer. We enjoyed our stay here, it was a very clean, spacious and nicely designed. Kind of pricey though; so, if you wanna stay there, look for offers. They run specials most of the time. The stuff was very nice and helpful. Definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank life_is_beuatiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamEXEC, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience of your stay at the Wyndham Rio Mar. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Hopefully your travels will once again bring you to Puerto Rico and you’ll make us your destination of choice as we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Danny Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
7.3 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
35.9 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,942 reviews
28.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
34.6 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
5.2 km away
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,020 - ₹ 27,022
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing