We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The views are great!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plantation Village Beach Resort
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We have owned in the Interval system for 20 years. It would be difficult for anything in the Caribbean to be less than ideal. So while the environment was fantastic, the resort was not up to par with other places that we have stayed with in the Interval system. I would suggest the main complaints were with the decor and the cleanliness of the unit. The decor was very outdated. Generally in need of a good cleaning and some polish. The furniture was filthy and failing, i.e. dresser drawers didn't work well. The kitchen was barely functioning. Only two of the four burners worked. The dishwasher was broken in that the rack wheel would fall off each time the shelf was pulled out. Not really confident that it cleaned real well either in that dishes often remained dirty. There was something spilled all over the outside of the refrigerator and the ice maker was not working well. When we arrived, the smoke detector had been disconnected and was lying on the top of the dresser. I informed management and there solution was to remove the smoke detector completely, rather than to replace the battery that was making the smoke detector beep.
This said, the outside grounds were well maintained (though outdoor lighting around the pool was all broken and in the process of being replaced). They allowed for the free usage of ocean kayaks and bicycles (though very outdated). Tennis racquets were available for use as were pool inflatables and coolers. The pools were nice, though they had a serious ant problem. They had lounge chairs and umbrellas at both the pool and the beach side. Their outdoor maintenance man was constantly at work keeping things picked up. Thank you to him!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BLKCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Plantation Village Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

We knew this place was old when we booked so I can't fault them for age of appliances or furniture. Condo was large with fabulous ocean view. Pool was adequate. Washer and dryer included was great. Staff, especially Marlene was fantastic.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Regina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

My 2nd time staying here on a timeshare exchange. This time had to pay $190 tax upon arrival for a 3 bedroom or 2 bed/den room. Facilities are well stocked and clean. Appreciate that the patio is screened in for evening enjoyment without the worry of the killer mosquitoes. As I may have mentioned the when I was here, eating out and the food is expensive here. This time we brought a lot with us as far as snacks and things for meals. Stopped at the local store for things which would not travel well. This trip was for my wedding/honeymoon. The front desk staff are most helpful. The only down side is that they are only there until 5:30 or so in the afternoon. The beach is beautiful and the snorkeling here is great. A few yards up the beach at the Marriott are sunken metal "domes with holes" put there intentionally for reef and fish to frequent. Take a banana with you to to have the fish swarm for a great photo opp. Coconut Joe's across the street is a nice reasonable place to eat for a meal if you don't want to cook in or drive.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1LadyKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We traded our timeshare with Interval International, which was not the easiest exchange. What a lovely surprise when we arrived! The resort is small, but right on the beach. Our 3 bedroom condo with 2 bathrooms was exactly that. Fully outfitted kitchen as well with coffee maker, oven, pots and pans, dishes, decent knives, cutlery. Towels, beach towels and a full washer/dryer in the condo. There were even two coolers in the hall cupboard!
The unit itself was a little dated, but spotlessly clean and wonderfully comfortable. We had a view of the beach but were just steps away, between the road and the sand.
Kayaks, bikes, pool toys, tennis equipment, all available, as well as beach toys for little ones.
It's at the south end of Seven Mile Beach, a couple of resorts down from the Marriott, which we didn't explore until the last day. It would have been nice to walk down in the morning for a pastry and coffee.
The supermarket is 15 minutes walk away, so we ended up renting a car across the street and exploring the island.
I've rated it a 5 star because of the amenities, the location and the cleanliness of the unit and the resort itself, as well as value for money. Would have loved a hot tub, but with the sea water so warm that's not really needed. And it was almost a bit too quiet...
There is wired internet in the living room, but wifi around the pool. We were also able to pick up the wifi outside the unit, or just about in a few areas inside the unit.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank magimixk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

We had an amazing week at Plantation Village #7 which was the perfect location at the beginning of 7 Mile Beach. The 3 bedroom condo was comfortable and right in front of the entrance to the beach. Plenty of seating each day we were there- no need to get up super early to reserve a space under the umbrella unlike some of their neighbor resorts. The 2 bedrooms had king beds and one 'walk through' bedroom had twin beds which we didn't use. We did a grocery run when we arrived because it was very bare bones- the kitchen had coffee filters and the bathrooms had a small bar of soap. We took the bus into town and to some great restaurants but were able to walk to a lot of places. We also took advantage of the bike rental they offer which was fun for an afternoon. Plan on unplugging while you are here (or bring an ethernet for internet) because there is only wifi by the pool and front desk. The staff was great and security guard was wonderful. They hosted a nice party one night we were there with delicious food and punch! A great stay and hope to return!

Room Tip: Loved our ground floor #7 three bedroom
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ihearttravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,343 reviews
2.6 km away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
1.8 km away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,261 reviews
0.2 km away
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club
#8 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
197 reviews
0.2 km away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#9 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Village Beach Resort

Address: 323C West Bay, West Bay, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > West Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in West Bay
Price Range: ₹ 12,018 - ₹ 20,139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Plantation Village Beach Hotel Grand Cayman
Plantation Village Beach Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing