We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
34
51
8
10
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
51
8
10
23
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2016

If you ever dreamed of staying right ON a fabulous Beach, with your room literally ten steps from the water, on an exotic tropical island, the Buccaneer Resort is the place to make that dream come true. We stayed here 4 nights and it was fantastic -- everything we hoped for. No, it's not pillowtop beds and room service -- the rooms are a little rustic. But we had all the necessities: Cold AC, hot shower, a ceiling fan, screened porch, bar fridge, clean beds and a coffee pot...and a million dollar view. Our palm-shaded cabin was about 30 feet from the most marvelous swimming beach I've ever seen, with crystal clear 85 degree water lapping gently at fine white sand...NO waves and so shallow and clear, you can walk hundreds of feet out to snorkel off a little group of rocks. Oh, and did I mention there's a great restaurant and bar, Bibi's, built out over the the water about a hundred feet from the Buccaneer cabins? Super filet mignon, fish, shrimp by the pound and much more. We debated coming here because we had read some negative reviews complaining about sand fleas, bugs, etc, but we had NO problems with it. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the setting is gorgeous. As I said earlier, it's not fancy, it's a bit rustic, but isnt that how a tropical island SHOULD be? We found it had everything we needed for a truly fantastic tropical vacation experience that I know we'll remember for the rest of our lives!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandbound69, Owner at Buccaneer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Maureen,
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating. It truly is a magical place. Hurry up and come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

After a couple of days on Isla Colon we decided to spend our last night on Isla Carnero. We were dropped of on a dock a bit down the coast and started to visit the different lodgings on that side of the island. After visiting several we ended up here. The gentleman that helped us was very gracious and accommodating. He made arrangements for our group of four to be able to stay and helped us with everything we needed. Location is amazing because it has a great beach right in front and one more to the left. We did some great snorkeling just right of the beach with tons of fish in the coral. There is a restaurant right in front and as part of our nightly fee we were given a voucher for breakfast. The restaurant was not only good but a great looking place to hang out and watch the the sun set and moon rise. All in all the accommodations were very good. It was clean. There was AC and hot water with incredible water pressure. Looking forward to coming back some day.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank Macjrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2015

We had a one night stay in one of the Buccaneer suits and it was quite fantastic! The location is unbelievable, you have the beach at you're doorstep and palms shading you whilst you relax in your hammock on the deck. We would 100% recommend this spot for anyone looking for a private slice of paradise!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandbound69, Owner at Buccaneer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2015

Joe,
So glad you and Michelle had such a great time with us. This is truly a special place for people like yourselves who want the true tropical island experience. I wish you both the best and look forward to you coming back to spend some more special moments together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015 via mobile

I stumbled upon Bucaneer Resort quite by accident, but boy am I glad I did!

We stayed in a suite, with a double bed in the main bedroom with bathroom, and two single beds in the front room, a fridge/sink combo, and an amazing balcony on the ocean complimented by two hammocks (we asked nicely for an extra hammock to avoid arguments, no extra charge!)

If you have dreams of luxury, this might not be the place for you, but if you are looking for a simple, clean place right on the beach, with hot water and air con, give this place a go!

It's right next door to Bibi's restaurant, who run happy hour from 4pm to 7pm. Unfortunately, it's also not too far from a bar who played music until 4am, however my travel companion didn't even hear the music.

The lady who checked us in is very lovely, and the property is well cared for. A coffee machine appeared on the second day of our stay, but no coffee/tea/milk is provided.

The ocean front is protected by a rocky sea wall, so good for kids to swim in (you can go past the wall next to the hotel docks) or it's a few hundred meters walk to a sensational public beach next to a private home, just up the beach.

We looked at another 'over the water' venue on the island, but the water looked a bit murky to swim in. The water here is clear as it's not on the side of Isla Caranero facing Bocas Town, but the short boat trip to Bocas Town ($2 pp) is super convenient

Compare to other beach front properties, Bucaneer Resort represents good value for money in a great location!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank AGleeson101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandbound69, Owner at Buccaneer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Thank you very much for your kind words about your stay at the Buccaneer Resort. We feel we have a great value and super beach to share with those who seek a true island experience. Please stay with us again. Our management team strives to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We stayed at Buccaneer for four nights. Unfortunately our stay was less than enjoyable. Our room's shower did not work, and when we told the staff they did not do anything about it other than saying "that's strange." While our linen was changed daily, it was often unclean, there were also bugs and spiders in the room at night. While the rate was cheaper than most accommodation, it was certainly not worth it.

While the location is nice and quiet when you arrive, the beach water and sand is not very clean. When it's raining there is not much to do other than eat at the restaurant, which often had a 45 minute wait for food, or none of the food available on the menu, or it was prepared wrong, and when you asked the staff about it, they did not seem to care nor want to help.

We were eaten alive by sandflies from day one, and despite repellent being available at the restaurant, it did not help at all, meaning almost unbearable nights' sleep. When we went to checkout we spent two hours trying to pay via credit card, which their machine did not accept. The staff made it very difficult for us and were not helpful in the slightest. Only when we called the owner was he helpful, however the staff were incredibly rude and unapologetic.

There is not much to do in Bocas if you don't surf, and most shops are only open Tue-Sat. We won't be returning again.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandbound69, Owner at Buccaneer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

I'm very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced at the resort. We strive to make sure that our customers stay is enjoyable. We appreciate all our guests feedback and will strive to improve. Unfortunately, different people's expectations are quite diverse. When on a tropical island, bugs and insects are part of the environment. I do appreciate your feedback about your positive interaction with me ( owner ) as we worked through the credit card issue. Bocas is a beautiful tropical area but depending what interest one has for activities will definitely influence their experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews