We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Sands at Grace Bay(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 494
US$ 325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Resort(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 493
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oasis at Grace Bay(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 378
US$ 330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tuscany(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 567
US$ 550
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 630/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Seven Stars Resort & Spa(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 766
US$ 453
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 542/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Venetian on Grace Bay(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 641
US$ 578
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 748/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beach House Turks & Caicos(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 738
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ports of Call Resort(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 284
US$ 243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Med Turkoise, Turks & Caicos(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 473
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
144
21
11
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
21
11
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrace bay clubbedroom apartmentthe ground floorbigger resortsgorgeous bedroomquiet staywalking distancethe general managerbeach chairsan upgradegrocery storeclose to townsalt mills plazadvd playerpool area isfacing the oceanluxury resort
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Le Vele is an owner-owned condominium located across two adjacent buildings. It is located in the centre of the twelve-mile long Grace Bay Beach - regularly rated number one in the world! One of the delights of Le Vele, apart from location, is the fact that it has no bars or restaurants and as such offers a unique alternative to the other accomodation on Grace Bay.

Turks is still recovering from Hurricane Irma with a few low-rise buildings still undergoing roof repairs. The condos and resorts have all turned things around and re-opened really quickly, at least one stayed open throughout. The locals are as friendly as ever and very glad to have the tourists back - everyone carries a huge smile.

The location of Le Vele is ideal as it is just a 5 minute walk into Le Vele Plaza, Salt Mills Plaza and Regent Village. This is where the shops, bars, restaurants and ice-cream cafésare located as well as the Graceway IGA Supermarket (watch out for Sundays when they are not allowed to sell alcohol). Le Vele also has a number of bikes that are free to use by guests.

We stayed in a ground-floor 2-bedroom apartment (E101) that also has two double-sized sofa beds in the lounge. It was great being on the ground floor as our grandaughter could easily take the path leading away from our sea-facing terrace and nip up and down to the beach without having to traipse out through the front door. Being on the ground floor didn't spoil our view of Grace Bay's deliciously turquoise ocean, spread out in front of us as we ate and drank on the terrace. The terrace is of a very practical size with large rectangular table and 6 chairs. Along the side in front of the main bedroom, there is a comfy sofa with a coffee table, single chair and side tables.

Inside, the apartment has an open-plan layout with: galley kitchen overlooking a seating area with two sofas; lots of occasional tables and a large HD TV and DVD player (there are TVs and DVDs in both bedrooms too but you won't have time to watch them).

The kitchen is extremely well kitted out with induction-hob; oven/grill; microwave; double sink and dishwasher. The American fridge/freezer is superb - if we hadn't just replaced ours we would be buying one of these for home. Barbequing at Le Vele is one our favourite eating pastimes. There is a very large BBQ at each end of the swimming pool under a substantial pitched-roof with seating and tables. If drinking outside at the BBQ, or around the pool, then use the lovely plastic wine and beer glasses from E101.

The bedrooms are spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. The main bedroom has both a bath, a shower and double sinks while the second bedroom also has an en-suite. There is also a bathroom next to the utility room which as two enormous machines for washing and tumble drying.

The whole swimming pool area and gardens are truly serene. For me, the swimming pool is perfect as it is rectangular and of a good length and width. This means swimming lengths is very relaxing (or should I say exhausting). There are floatation mattresses for just lazing around in the sun and beautiful loungers with luxurious mattresses. After a long day on Grace Bay Beach (Le Vele has its own loungers and sun umbrellas) the pool is an ideal place to end the day.

There is a small, well-fitted out gym, but we never used it as we preferred the beach and the pool. Each block has its own gated car park area, half of which is covered - great keeping the hire car out of the Caribbean sun and its makes unloading the groceries really easy.

If you are planning to visit this unique location - Grace Bay - check out Le Vele for a relaxing and practical place to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor gives easy access to the beach and pool
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alistair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEVELE, General Manager at Le Vele Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advised us on your recent stay at Le Vele Resort. Through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary and improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

Once again, a big thank you for the kind words, we’re so happy your visit at in Turks and Caicos & Le Vele Resort went so smoothly. Would you mind sharing with your friends who are due for a vacation, too? We’d love to continue providing great service to awesome guest like you.

Le Vele GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

A very quiet condo on a beach mostly dotted with crowded hotels. The setting is perfect, it's a short walk to decent coffee, food & a supermarket. The pool is great for lap swimming though often very cold. Rooms all look out at the ocean and unlike some of the bigger resorts, you can actually always see it from the balcony. There are only a few beach chairs at the water but the resort is quiet enough that's it's always possible to get a seat. Kitchens are excellent & reasonably well equipped so if you want to prepare your own food you really can.

Now the not great: while the units were apparently redone very recently, the quality of the renovation is only fair. Beds are hard & not very comfortable, sheets mediocre. Various small annoyances--one water faucet didn't work; sliding doors almost impossible to open. More annoying, there is no restaurant/coffee shop, no room service of any kind. No umbrellas available (yes, it does rains in Turks).

Definitely not a high end resort, but on the other hand, a quiet and relaxed place. Please not that the website has a glitch & wouldn't let us rate the service, sleep & location properly. Service was fair; location is excellent, sleep is fair.

Room Tip: higher floors mean fewer bugs & better ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
10  Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEVELE, Manager at Le Vele Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your stay with us at Le Vele and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We were pleased to read you liked the size of the room but were sorry to hear there were other issues. Please rest assured we have addressed this with the team to ensure we improve on our short falls.
We are not perfect but our aim is to try and exceed each guest expectation. My staff and I look forward to your return so that we can "WOW" you.

Please come and visit us again, you are always welcome to return to home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

This will be our sixth visit to Le Vele. I suppose I could just finish the review with that, but I will explain why we have chosen Le Vele as our home away from home.
Le Vele is pure relaxation. It offers quiet. It doesn't matter what time of day, you will delight in the peace and the tranquility.
Le Vele is beautiful. Situated on one of the most pristine stretches of Grace Bay, Le Vele stands out. Actually, it doesn't stand out at all. Le Vele is understated. Gorgeously understated.
Every view we have experienced has been memorable. From the unit on the ground floor with a private patio surrounded by gardens too the light filled unit on the fourth floor. All units face the ocean. We prepare most of our meals, so we make good use of the well appointed kitchen which also faces the ocean. We have never needed to ask for anything. The owners of each unit have considered every detail.
I have also never experienced a bad night's sleep at Le Vele. Mattresses are very comfortable and quiet prevails.
One of the main reasons that Le Vele excels is that the staff are outstanding.The staff has been the same since our very first visit. This means consistently excellent service. Clayton the manager at Le Vele is exceptional and should be very proud of his team.
Le Vele is conveniently located close to "town". A short 10 minute walk to excellent restaurants and grocery stores which carry everything you might need.
The island is magnificent. However you choose to explore the island, whether by bike, kayak, sailboat or car, make sure you kick off those shoes and walk the pristine shoreline which offers unininterrupted beauty for miles.
Le Vele provides bikes and kayaks and loads of helpful information for excursions. I have been on quite a few dive/ snorkel day trips recommended by Le Vele and have never been disappointed.
Le Vele is a very special place. It is a place you will never hesitate to revisit again and again.

See you in July.
Barb and Lori Speirs

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard T, Manager at Le Vele Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Dear Barbs and Lori,

Many, many thanks for taking the time to share with all TripAdvisor readers, your repeated experience and hospitality that you received at Le Vele resort. Our aim is to try and please, exceed each guest expectation. As hospitality professionals here at Le Vele, we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

The Staff is super attentive, friendly and cooperative. Especially the GM, Clayton gave me an affectionate reception as well as farewell. It’s the people who make the difference.
They helped me out immediately with every kind of issues. Never importunate but always there when you need help.
Also, the room/apartment was superclean and very spacious. It has a tiny kitchen area and is equipped with a fridge and a coffee machine.
The view was simply breathtaking!
Loved the tranquility and the location right at beautiful Grace Bay Beach. It is just the right mix of a centrally located, but also quiet and laid-back hotel/resort.
The whole resort is in excellent condition and well-tended.
I didn’t use the pool though, but they offer a great towel service. Just grab one or two towels by the pool, and go to the beach. No need of bringing your own towels.
The beach was one of a kind and Le Vele has direct beach access. Couldn’t get my eyes off the crystal-clear turquoise water.
I absolutely recommend staying at Le Vele! It has been one of my ever-best travel experiences and I’ll definitely come back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ricarda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEVELE, General Manager at Le Vele Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

“Happy Holiday’s”
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Le Vele Resort, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. At Le Vele, our aim to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Turks and Caicos and Le Vele, be sure to share the good news, and we look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We stayed in a 1-bedroom condo at Le Vele earlier this year and here is our honest review regarding this complex.

First I’d like to point out that Le Vele is not a typical hotel. It consists of a residence complex comprised of 22 condo units spread into two side-by-side buildings. There is a rental management team onsite that looks at renting units when not occupied by owners. If you are looking for typical hotel service and amenities this may not be the right choice for you. However, if you are looking to be on your own without the big crowd, this may be a good option.

Le Vele is located directly on magnificent Grace Bay beach. This stretch of beach is wide and secluded. It is located at walking distance from ‘downtown GB’ where many shops and restaurants can be found, which is a big plus. The site, although small in size, is very well maintained. Luxurious vegetation brings serenity. The pool is very nice looking and is surrounded by very comfortable loungers. I must say that the water is terribly cold in the pool as it is not heated. We did not use it for our entire stay. There is free parking protected by a gate.

The 1-bedroom condo unit is well divided and large. However, we truly feel that the price tag of accommodation at this place does not render for the quality you get. I understand units may vary as they are individually owned so we can only speak from our experience, but from what we’ve been able to see all units have a common look and feel. Nothing in the condo is luxurious. Furniture is somehow basic and would need an upgrade, so as the cookware and cutlery in the kitchen. The bed mattress has seen better days, so as the bed sheets and comforter. When you pay this kind of price for accommodation, you can expect quality in all aspects. If anyone in the management team had previously stayed at Grace Bay Club, Seven Stars, or at a Ritz Carleton or Four Seasons hotel, they would understand what luxury is. Le Vele want to advertise themselves as a luxury resort destination, demand as much as the previously enumerated resorts for a one-night stay, but in our honest opinion stand nowhere near these kind of resorts in terms of quality/luxury. This probably explains the high vacancy, even during peak season. So to sum it up, you’re paying for the location and tranquillity. Yes privacy does come at a price, but..

Another fact we disliked, which cannot be blamed on the complex, is that the condos are facing north. The sun never goes in front of the buildings so it is very dark inside the condo. No sunset view on the balcony either. While it’s a big plus to have an ocean front condo, the balcony is not inviting as it consists of white concrete from top to bottom with absolutely no decoration touches. The only exterior light at your disposal on that balcony is a super bright white light from a ceiling fixture. Not so inviting!

Some reviewers might be tempted to give Le Vele five stars, after all they’re in paradise on one of this world’s finest beach. But many are simply just amazed by the location/beach and tend to forget other aspects, which play a big factor in my opinion at this price range. I am not saying we had a bad experience, but when comparing to other luxury resorts with relatively same price tags, Le Vele is far from meeting the standards real luxury hotels aim for.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank daBeach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard T, General Manager at Le Vele Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your kind comments you have shared here on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your time with us. Rest ensured, that we will do everything in our power to be appear fresh and modern all times. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange all you reuqest prior to your arrival.

All the best from all of us at Le Vele!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews