We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe what you hear ”
Review of Spirit Airlines


Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

This was my first trip on Spirit and I was apprehensive based on news reports about poor customer service. However my experience was very positive. Even paying to check 2 bags and paying extra for a large seat for my companion, it was half the price of a major carrier. I will definitely fly Spirit again.

Date of travel: May 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank boatguy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,871 - 6,875 of 10,999 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

This is the worst flight I have ever been on. Spirit's seats are more uncomfortable than any other airline's. The flight was repeatedly delayed on the tarmac because of maintenance issues. The flight attendants were rude and unresponsive. Spirit does not give you ANY food or drinks, DESPITE hours of delays. The flight itself was rough and full of turbulence. I thought the aging plane would break into pieces. I now take the "S" off the front of "Spirit" and move it to the end of the word -- "Pirits" Airlines. Because they are nothing but a bunch of PIRATES. They charge $20 per CARRYON.

Date of travel: November 2016
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

If you can travel light - personal carry on only - Spirit is the way to go. If you need to check a bag purchase on line at home prior to flying less cost. Short flights 1-2 hours are great. Easy to book trips on line or in person at Airports.

Date of travel: October 2016
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank 123jeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

When flying on a roundtrip ticket with my wife from Boston to Florida my wife got ill at the airport and could not make the trip. I flew alone and she came down the next day with a new ticket. I understand non-refundable fares work so did not request or expect a refund on her ticket. The ticket agent had assured us that there would be no issue with her return flight a week later. Turns out to be dead wrong. When we got to the Ft Myers airport a week later, her ticket had been cancelled. No warning or alerts either. Just showed up to a full flight with no seat for her. They explained to us that her return ticket was AUTOMATICALLY cancelled and we should refer to policy xxxxx to appreciate that Spirit is within their rights to do so. Apparently many airlines have that policy unbeknownst to us. So $650 later for walk up airfare on JetBlue, we proceeded to obtain a refund for her cancelled seat which was denied - again we were referred to policy xxxxx. Perhaps the most frustrating part of this is that the gentleman I sat next to in my wife's upgraded front row seat had paid much more than we had for this sold out flight yet Spirit would still not refund our ticket despite collecting two fares for the same seat. Most of my friends and associates laugh that I even fly Spirit and furthermore defend their pricing and business model. But I guess they had their last laugh and Spirit in true corporate wisdom, has lost a 40-50 annual flights, $20,000/year customer.

Date of travel: April 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank rkk947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

The return trip was so delayed possibly due to weather by more than three hours. No compensation was received.

Probably will not fly this airline again

Date of travel: January 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank GeorgeLinCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC