We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just have to Love JAL”
Review of Japan Airlines (JAL)


Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The flight was great. Foods was good. Order special meal when I travel to TPE because of there is beef on the going flight n normal meal on return.

The crew service was ok, there is Chinese crew onboard that who can’t speak English or Japanese.

I don’t like is the announcement as it’s too long. Can’t watch the movie n cannot finish due to the long announcements.

Entertainment was good as there new movies.

Return was delay more than 35 min due to waiting for one missing passenger plus ATC hold which I don’t think it’s good for other passengers who have connections.

Date of travel: January 2019
Thank 708winstono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 79 of 7,039 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Flew DFW to Bangkok round trip two legs each way through Narita. Second leg of flight was Basic Economy from Narita to Bangkok Premium Economy not offered. Premium Economy was very comfortable and amenity filled. Blanket, Headset, Eye Mask, Pillow, slippers provided with good seating room. I would give it an eight of 10. Basic Economy few amenities and crowded 4 of 10...Premium Economy or higher is way to go. Crew very friendly and offered great service 8 of 10. Food Japanese oriented menus and about airline average 5 of 10. Boarding system very strange and inefficient. JAL does not recognize Pre Check in US. Overall would fly again at or above Premium Economy.

Date of travel: January 2019
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank TRIBOB_7745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

5 stars airlines and best economy cabin by skytrax can’t lie. I’m really really comfortable flyingwith Japan Airlines. Good staff, very helpfull. Seat so fluffy and distance every seat very wide. I’ll fly again with Japan Airlines!!
Arigatou

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
1  Thank cinthyacynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

So this is really a pity as I find the JL 041 a great flight and the service of JAL is fabulous but the transfer at LHR Terminal 5 is a shambles (40 minutes wait at security as no Fast Track security in transfer zone so almost missed connection even if I had a 80 minute connection time). So while JAL is great the BA service and treatment on the ground is a disaster. Now some will say that the solution is to go through immigration and back in through the First Wing of Terminal 5, after Brexit that will not be a solution unless immigration controls as as today. This will make transfers at Heathrow unviable. It is a pity for JAL with a fabulous service and product to have it devalued by BA no longer paying for the Fast Track security for Terminal 5 transfers. (same problem a week ago transferring through Heathrow to a BA connection from Africa).

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
Thank MH865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

- Check-in was quick and efficient.
- The flight attendant staff were all friendly and professional.
- Even though the economy class seat I had was not an aisle seat, there was still plenty of leg room available.
- My flight from Bangkok - Suvarnabhumi to Tokyo - Narita was smooth, comfortable and on time.
- I always enjoy listening to the Japanese language from native speakers.
- Thanks JAL! I had a pleasant experience.

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank meiguolaohu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC