We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airlines to travel”
Review of Etihad Airways


Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Calcutta to Abu Dhabi aircraft is good. Won't say excellent. Food quality is good. Hospitality is good.

Date of travel: February 2019
Thank DIPTEN2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your flight to Abu Dhabi with us and that you liked the food on board. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you on board again soon. *Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 259 of 12,848 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On Feb 9, 2019, three of us boarded Etihad Flight 658 at 0:55am in Cairo. On this first leg of our flight, one of our group got physically sick on board. The flight attendant administered an anti-emetic but it did not work. They informed us that we would not be able to board our next flight from Abu Dhabi to LA (Flight #171) until we saw the medical clinic in Abu Dhabi and received a "Fit to Fly" certificate. Upon landing at around 6:20am, as instructed, an agent was waiting for us with a sign with one of our names on it. He had a wheelchair and we all followed as he took us to the clinic. As we were walking to the airport clinic, he advised us that we would be booked onto the same flight to LA the next day if the event we weren't able to make our flight, which was scheduled to depart at 8:50am but the gate would close at 8:20am. We made it to the clinic at around 7:10am.

We were seen by Dr. Gasim Bakhet Mosad Mohammed and were done by 8:12am but and we would told we would not be able to fly that day. They then sent us to the Transfer Desk to get our fight rebooked.

After waiting for 2 hours at the transfer desk, we were told that we had been rebooked back to LA on Feb 12th (3 days later). I informed the transfer desk people that was unacceptable as we had animals, work and other matters waiting for us urgently back home. I asked for any flight back to the states in the next 24 hours. I was told that Eithad policy only allowed us to be booked on the same flight as our tickets and the next flight to LA was on Feb 12th. I then asked for a refund of our flight back to LA as I would need to purchase another flight home on another airline. After waiting and fighting with the agent and manager on duty for over 2hrs and 30 minutes (with our group still sick and sleeping on the cold floor) we left to rest (with the only thing they did give us- a one night hotel voucher).

In order to get home, I booked the cheapest tickets I could find flying from Abu Dhabi to London to Seattle at an additional expense of $4,200. We also missed our flight from LA to Seattle on Feb 9th and I was only able to get a small portion of those tickets credited for future flights.

We were not allowed to board flight 171 because of sickness. We were not rebooked on a flight the following day as told. Etihad made no attempt to try and get us home sooner than 2/12. I am beginning to fight to try and get a refund for our missed flight home. I will NEVER fly Etihad again or will I recommend it to any colleagues. They have zero concern for the customer nor did they even to help us.

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Customer service
1  Thank Ayesha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Ayesha, we are sorry to hear about your experience. Please send us your booking reference and your email address in a private message so that we can send your case to our team for investigation. In case you contacted our team already, please send us your case number in a private message. Our team will get back to you via email after the investigation. Thank you. *Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The checkin is a nightmare with long queues and no order.
It's a struggle to get to the front desk and then the checkin clerk said he could not put us together as there were no seats - this despite having small children that needed to be with their parents. Told us to go to the checkin gate and they will help - which was a lie.
The inflight service was good, but having to have sit separated was really unpleasant.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Doc_sol78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Doc_sol78,

We are sorry to hear that you had this experience during check in and onboard. Please share your feedback online via our Feedback Form so that this can be investigated further.

Best
Haithem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i am struggling to get a complaint escalated, have been sending emails for the last month or so and to-date, there has been no satisfaction and I am stuck with the same person who seems to have no sense of customer service or consideration.
The worst experience we have had after our flight got cancelled but they do not seem to acknowledge the problem with the very bad way Etihad handled the situation.
At least obtaining the right compensation would somehow help but we have been going round in circle. Not happy with the response so I have asked for escalation but so far, my request has been denied.

Date of travel: January 2019
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Sakina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there Sakina J,

Thanks for getting in contact, can I have your case number by private message to have a look and follow up for you?

Thanks
Haithem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

https://www.tripadvisor.in/ShowUserReviews-g1-d8729074-r648153622-Etihad_Airways-World.html?m=19905

1) They don't have 24x7 staffed baggage helpline number
2) If you feel helpless and call Etihad mainline number, they'll straight away deny assistance stating they're only responsible for ticketing
3) Etihad expects you to carry receipts of everything you purchase (even for trivial stuff like chocolates and Legos) because the trauma of stolen items are not enough
4) Etihad never keeps any promise they make. No minimum courtesy to reply to your emails or call you in spite of multiple requests (through email and facebook).
5) Even if you call their baggage department (Availability is not throughout the day) - they don't answer!
I'm stunned and amazed with the sense of responsibility that Etihad portrays!

Date of travel: January 2019
2  Thank debdattamitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, please send us your case number in a private message so that we can look into your baggage case and assist you. Thank you. *Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC