We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full flights but they manage it well”
Review of China Southern Airlines


Reviewed 11 November 2018

On both legs the plane was full, a reflection I guess on their fare prices being attractive. In spite of this they leave on time and the service while not perfect is certainly efficient and timely with reasonable selection available for both Asian and European travelers, happy to recommend.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 136 of 3,687 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2018

We were able to upgrade to Premium Economy which gave us a few more inches of room and some leg support. This was a reasonably priced upgrade and for a 14 hour flight, very nice. Food was fair. They did offer plenty of water, eye covers and slippers and some odd though strong sweet coffee. There were enough movies and tv series for passing the time.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

Have flown with China Southern twice now and on both occasions have had very good and pleasant experience. Both Ground staff and on flight staff are very efficient and helpful, web site gives a good selection for meal choices and they honour the selections once made unlike some other airlines. Well placed ground staff to guide you through connecting flights, and timely baggage handling. Have decided to enroll in their Loyalty program as well

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank Shevoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

We were apprehensive using this airline, however after 5 flights with them around China and to Sydney in October 18 we would definitely recommend. They were efficient, very friendly and food great. As good as any of the top ones if not better.

Date of travel: October 2018
2  Thank Krystyna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

Technical Glitch - Stranded For 6+ Hours !

China Southern Airline
Flight CZ322 Melbourne - Guangzhou -Chengdu(CZ3437)

Check-in : long queue, moves smoothly, check-in counter staff friendly and proficient.
Was told flight was full, and offered to go on another flight directly to Chengdu instead of via Guangzhou, but refused; as had already made arrangements at destination’s pick-up service, etc.

On board service was good, courteous and friendly. Air stewardess work hard especially to fill up hot water for Chinese passengers’ flasks. Meals were served. Quite delicious, rice with chicken.

Apart from that, it was quite uneventful, until we arrived at Guangzhou airport on time at 5.50am, for our onward flight of CZ3437, 9.10am to Chengdu.

All good until we were all on board again, and waited to take off, when it was announced about some technical issues which will delay in us taking off. After 45 minutes we were told to gather our belongings to disembark and to wait at waiting area. Chaos as everyone wanted to know what’s going to happen next, and staff trying to explain and pacify some very anxious local travelers.

No further news, we were handed water, biscuits and some canned sweetened barley-kidney beans soup(?).
At least, the consolation is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport being relatively new is comfortable to wait in.

Information was still lacking. Passengers getting more anxious.

Lunch boxes were distributed at about 12.30, a very basic meal consisting of rice, vegetables, tofu stuffed with pork, fried peas and ham, and a whole salted egg which we had to crack and peeled ourselves. Quite a healthy meal, but felt we should have been treated better, given vouchers to nearby restaurant to eat and relax, rather than being left waiting seemingly endlessly. At this stage, staff manning the counter became more indifferent and less caring, and answers to questions became more abrupt and impatient. The attitude of “Little Hitler” became more apparent.

We were then told after several enquiries that an aircraft will arrive at 1.50pm, and we can then re-board at 2.50pm which we did. Counter staff felt like they have done us a great favor putting us on board.

Upon boarding, seat arrangements were changed, and we all ended up seated separately.

We were handed an official notice from the airline about procedures to claim on this delay flight after we have landed at Chengdu.

We requested for an English version and were told there’s none, and in order to receive the claim, we must nominate a Chinese bank account details. When we said we are foreigners and do not have China bank account, all staff were at a lost. No further help rendered after several to-and -fros. We were then told to enquire when arrived at Chengdu.

Meals were served, choice of rice with chicken or noodles with beef. We opted for noodles with beef which was quite good. All on board staff were friendly and courteous.

Finally landed safely in Chengdu about 6.00pm. A very long day indeed.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
2  Thank awangcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC