We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT BOOK”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 3 October 2022

American Airlines canceled my flight a day before my departure date. They couldn't find another flight for me and my children to go back home not even on their partnering airline Jet blue that had flights available at a nearby airport. They left me to find another flight on my own that cost me triple the amount that I paid for American Airlines. Which put me on a $1000 debt and as compensation they only gave me $50 credit to use on a future flight.

Date of travel: September 2022
    • Customer service
Thank imev_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (76,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 597 of 76,010 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2022

Last flight was delayed a day then half way to the destination I ended up stuck as the connection was cancelled. This time outbound flight was delayed causing me to miss connection. My fault for trying them again. Do not use American Airlines if getting to your destination is you end goal they will make up excuses of issues to cover their incompetence. Why they are still in business is a complete mystery.

Date of travel: October 2022
Thank P7922EJkevinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 October 2022

They destroyed 3 of my surfboards and told me it was my fault. I had my bag packed very well and something managed to hit my bag so hard that it broke all three resulting in around $1000 worth of damage. And because my $450 board case was soft, they take no accountability. It had fragile stickers all over it.
Do NOT fly American Airlines. They do not care for your personal items

Date of travel: October 2022
Thank T_e_marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 October 2022

It was terrible experience!!! Delayed flight and 0 cooperation! Flight was delayed, didn't make it to connection flight. American airlines refused to pay for the hotel because couldn't figure out the reason for the delay! Offered me flight for the next day!

Date of travel: October 2022
Thank X1990FAjuliak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 October 2022

We flew from NY to London on American prior to boarding a cruise. It was a good experience. We parked at Terminal 8 at JFK airport. They are doing construction inside the terminal, so they moved the check in counters around. We finally found the one we needed. Security was quick thanks to TSA Precheck. The Flagship Lounge was excellent. We had good exit row seats. The flight boarded, departed and arrived on time. The inflight service was good but the meal served was pretty bad. Overall, it was a good experience

Date of travel: August 2022
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Bryce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.