We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let's just say flying is no longer what it used to be. In a race to provide perks to their status frequent flier members, which I am, but of a lower status, American Airlines has forgotten why they are still in business. They tier the passengers and really only pay attention to those in group 1 in their priority designation. The bathroom by mid flight was disgusting. Flight attendants were a bit checked out, they did not notice there was water in the floor and that the sinks had been plugged. Not saying it is entirely their fault, but the bathroom reflects the attitude of the airline and the passengers who seem to be only interested in getting out of the plane. Not sure who is flying these days and whether the airline cares about taking any pride in the service they provide. I used to care about securing elite status with American, now I am looking elsewhere.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank eulogioguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48,836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 613 of 48,836 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We used AA for several flights into and around the USA as they are part of the one world group of airlines. We also flew with BA, Cathay Pacific and Qantas and we thought AA were the best in terms of service and flight enjoyment.
I like the self check in desks.
We did have a 3 hour delay in Miami though and the reason given were laughable.
Would use AA again no problem.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank JohnK269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cause AA's system error, AA cannot find the booking record. They threat me and ask me whether I still want to take the flight, if I want to take the flight I must go to the airport
with my ID and my credit (which I used to purchase the ticket on their official website)card before check-in, they will refund me and I have to buy a new ticket. They refuse to tell me what happened and why I have to do this. very very bad attitude.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank AlexDuoPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Typical flight to and from. We anticipated the flights would be full so we booked only isle seats for four people. Isle seats make these kinds of trips more enjoyable.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Exploration466508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

AA issues seat assignments 24 hours before each leg of the flight. If you don't get your boarding pass/seat assignment early on in the 24-hr time window, you could be separated from your spouse, which happened to me and my wife. We had to pay an extra $40.00 each to sit next to each other. We ante-up because I got sick on the flight and needed my wife to attend to me.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank floresjr-josed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC