We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Flew from Phila. To Dallas, as usually once boarded , the announcement came over, The is a problem with the plane. Sat on the plane for more than hour before it was fixed. This is not the first time this has happen. I do not understand why? On this flight there was over 20 stand by on the list. But they made that there employees got a seat in and out of uniform.

Date of travel: August 2018
Thank johannah635
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (75,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30,314 - 30,318 of 75,400 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2018

We accidentally chose a 9pm Sat flight to New Orleans instead of 9am. Had a wedding to go to. Wanted to NOT CANCEL OR REQUEST REFUNDS, but simply purchase additional morning flights to New Orleans and keep our return flight as is - i.e., GIVE AMERICAN MORE MONEY-but was told if we didn't show up for the original 9pm flight our return flight would be canceled. HUH? So we ended up losing the ENTIRE DAY of vaca & missed a wedding-THE REASON WE TRAVELED. I don't understand how hard it is to simply put a note in the system saying we still wanted our return flights and to NOT CANCEL THEM, but noooo, we had to miss the wedding. Everybody has to make things so damn complicated when it doesn't have to be. It wasn't like we were trying to cancel and get refunded-we wanted to buy more flights! I hate American and don't EVER want to fly that expensive, non-customer service friendly airline again.

Date of travel: August 2018
2  Thank acook949
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 August 2018

American is always dependable, which is a bonus. The attendant on the way down was not in the best mood, but she is really the only one we have had like that. We will still fly AA whenever possible.

Date of travel: August 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Brenna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Paid my money two months in advance. Checked in at airport two hours prior for domestic flight. Unable to check in online prior. So have done everything required by me. At boarding call comes for 5 volunteers to be booked on next flight as there is issues with weight/ safety ratio. One volunteer came forward so last people to check in will be bumped from flight. So that was us. Now waiting 4 hours for next flight. Luggage has gone on original flight..... hopefully it will be there to greet us

Date of travel: August 2018
4  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Slightly late take off, due to weather at JFK, kept informed of the situation though, which is all you can ask for. Flight itself was very smooth, not cramped at sll on the 2+1 configuration with only around 69 seats on board. Check was efficient and quick, self print of bag tags and boarding passes.

Could not fault at all, much better than long haul experience.

Date of travel: August 2018
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.