We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
fyshtyme wrote a review Jan 2022
DeLand, Florida2 contributions
Norwegian has cancelled our cruise 3 time on very short notice due covid, each time increasing the cost of the cruise to rebook the same room on the same cruise, they refuse to give our money back, I have filed a complaint , but they dont care they have our money and tell us " I know how you feel" will never cruise with them again, did nothing to try to compensate us for the inconvenience except increase the cost to us.
Read more
Sail Date: January 2022
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip: Couple
Destination: Caribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Norwegian Escape

195 reviews
 All photos (3,927)3,927
Full view
Traveller (1,827)
Common Areas (1,952)
Dining and Bars (1,138)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary

Overview

About
Passengers: 4,266   |   Crew: 1,733
Passengers to crew: 2.46:1
Launched: 2015   

Decks

  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
  • Deck 8
  • Deck 9
  • Deck 10
Additional decks
Deck 5 layout
Cabins
  Mid-ship Oceanview Stateroom with Large Picture Window (OB)  
  Oceanview Stateroom with Large Picture Window (OX)  
  Inside Stateroom (IX)  
  Family Oceanview Stateroom with Large Picture Window (O2)  
  Family Inside Stateroom (I1)  
  Family Inside Stateroom (I2)  
  Family Oceanview Stateroom with Large Picture Window (O1)  
 
Amenities
Splash Academy
Guppies Nursery
Restroom
The Private Room At Taste
Restroom

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 103 - 276 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 213
Accessible rooms: 16
Maximum passengers: 6
Number of cabins: 1168
Traveller rating
  • 71
  • 50
  • 27
  • 26
  • 21
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
clairehendon wrote a review 16 May
London, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband and two friends from the US booked a cruise for March 2020, this was cancelled due to Covid which is understandable, 2021 was also cancelled so we thought 3rd time lucky which was not to be. We decided to stick with NCL and not get our money back. We rebooked the Norwegian Escape and got extras due to the trip being cancelled twice. We flew to Miami on the 13th of March 2022 from the UK for a departure on the Norwegian Escape, we were already in Miami when the cruise was cancelled as it ran aground in the Dominican Republic, we had hotels in Miami and Port Canaveral booked and paid for before the cruise and our friends were on route from New York to Port Canaveral who were also booked on the cruise. NCL said they could put us on the Joy the rooms were not as good as the one we had and we had been to all the stops and via an Escape facebook page people said they couldn’t book any trips or restaurants on board so we decided to do our own thing and travel around Florida. We spent thousands of pounds on accommodation and hiring a car which was not planned, we did look at flying home but would have had to buy new flights. It was spring break and Florida was expensive. We had to make the best of it. NCL said they would give us a credit of 50% total lie, it is a sham, they want to give you 50% of you costs before taxes, port fees etc so it was a pittance now this has been removed. But now I have had an email I had to fight to get my money back and my friends in the US are still fighting. I feel NCL are crooks and should be ashamed of themselves I have cruised many times and twice with NCL I would never travel with them again. I have been emailing with the following people they are all bad communicators and treat customers appalling. Moore, Justin M jumoore@ncl.com – He doesn’t care about his customers Bale, Daniela dbale@nclcorp.com – replied and passed it on Byrd, Katty kbyrd@ncl.com – no reply Wilkinson, Nick nwilkinson@ncl.com – replied once EU Guest Services euguestservices@ncl.com they totally don’t care
Read more
Helpful
Share
MichelleKenyon11 wrote a review Mar 2022
Wayne, Michigan17 contributions17 helpful votes
We had a blast, the ship was super clean, the crew was AWESOME as usual. We had already been on Gem twice (Aug of 2021 & Sept of 2021) with no Chains being forced (mask) & no social distancing. It was GREAT then my husband and I sailed at the end of Nov & disembarked on Dec 4th 2021 on Escape, I tried to do a review on cruise critic but they clearly support The Communist Party so my review for Escape was denied 3 times. The crew had been forced to get The Booster after they were forced to get the original clot shot (MNRA) or they could not work on the cruise line. ALL CRUISE LINES PARTICIAPTED IN THE MADNESS. 2 weeks after getting off Escape, the so called outbreaks started, coincidence? I think not. Escape is AMAZING and NCL has the BEST food too. We enjoyed watching Blazing Boots on Gem yet we weren't impressed with After Midnight or Choir of Men on Escape, we enjoyed the daily movie on the big screen in the atrium, the daily trivia, the deal or no deal and much more, there is so much to do on NCL ships and Escape gets 5 stars from us. It's WAY PAST time that the crew should be able to TAKE OFF their chains (Mask) it's 100% CLEAR they NEVER worked and The Mask continues to do SO much MORE harm than good. We just got off Joy 2 weeks ago and LOVED the ship, crew, entertainment and prices too. THANK YOU NCL now take OFF THE CHAINS & STOP the testing. The vaccines ARE a HUGE FAILURE! It's TIME to sail with the unvaccinated (SMART PEOPLE)
Read more
Helpful
Share
Placestogo wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
We boarded the Norwegian Escape in Cape Canaveral on February 26 for a 7 day cruise. It was just myself, my husband and our 18 year old son. This was our first Norwegian Cruise and the first time we were travelling without other family members. Norwegian organized antigen tests for all passengers prior to boarding and the Norwegian website stated antigen testing would be available free of charge for guests needing to be tested prior to returning home at the end of the cruise (more on this later). Boarding the ship was easy, even though I mistakenly missed checking in online. Our balcony room was what we would expect. My sons back was sore getting to the end of our 7 nights from sleeping on the pull down sofa bed but we didn’t expect the most comfortable beds. We love a balcony room and enjoy sitting on the balcony with a drink in the evening before supper. Love the sunrise and sunsets from a ship. My husband and son bought a spa pass for the week and they enjoyed all the amenities of the spa daily including salt rock room, sauna, and pool. We had two free specialty dining passes for two people so we ate at Moderno and Teriyaki. We paid for the third person and both restaurants were a great experience and meal. We were happy to get to the specialty restaurants because all the food in the main restaurants tastes the same. Ok for the first few days but gets long. My husband and son loved Moderno so returned just the two of them another night. We played bingo and Deal or no Deal on board. A bit expensive but okay for something to do. We took in the shows and enjoyed them. I tried a couple times to book our antigen tests for our final day so we would have the results for travelling back to Canada but Norwegian would not book us on the day we returned to Cape Canaveral. I didn’t want to put a damper on our vacation by making a big deal on the ship so I decided to bring it up with Norwegian upon our return. Despite having a screenshot from Norwegian website stating antigen testing would be provided, it didn’t happen and we were denied a refund upon our return. Won’t travel with Norwegian again because can’t trust the company to advertise what it delivers. See screenshots attached.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Nadia wrote a review Mar 2022
Palm Desert, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
Bait and switch is all I can say. They wait until 3 days before the cruise to tell you there will be no kids facilities and you need to supervise them all day, no where to drop them off. Because my son is an only child I was hoping he would be able to meet some friends there. The purposely don't tell you when you book (which I could have done at Disney with a kids club) then when I complained and asked for a refund they said no. This is the number one reason I booked the cruise. Shame on them for not even refunding me when I wanted to cancel and get on another ship. No compensation, no sympathy, just a "too bad for you" I do not recommend this company and frankly I think they are cheats. There's an extra star for beautiful ship and nice staff. Too bad upper management is abominable.
Read more
Helpful
Share
MikeM22rugger wrote a review Jan 2022
Lansdale, Pennsylvania432 contributions179 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed on this ship during our honeymoon, we absolutely plan on going on this cruise line again. we cannot wait
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456