We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First timer to Outer Banks

Leominster
Level Contributor
41 posts
6 reviews
Save Topic
First timer to Outer Banks

Hi!

I am hoping to visit the Outer Banks during the second week of October. I have never been and don't even know where to start. I will be coming from Massachusetts and was hoping someone could tell me the best way to get there via a plane. I figured I could fly down to the nearest major airport and then rent a car to get there the rest of the way. This is my first time, so I am not sure where to stay or the towns to visit. What I like in a trip is some nightlife, good food, fun stuff to see, nice beaches, water sports, and any other unique things to do or see. I am not into hiking or things like that. I have been trying to grasp the vibe of the outer banks. What I have gotten from most people is it is really a beautiful laid back type of place. Should I rent a hotel or a cottage? I would be visiting for about 5 days. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much in advance!

Take care,

Julie

Kitty Hawk, North...
Destination Expert
for Outer Banks
Level Contributor
2,841 posts
130 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: First timer to Outer Banks

The nearest airport is Norfolk (ORF) which is about 1.5 hrs away from Kitty Hawk which is where you would enter the Outer Banks. From there it is about 40 min north to Corolla or south to Kill Devil Hills, then Nags Head and south to Hatteras which will take about 1.5 hrs from Kitty Hawk.