We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motorcycle Routes

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 posts
28 reviews
Save Topic
Motorcycle Routes

Planning a motorcycle ride in New Mexico for 3 days in May 2011. Aimlessly looking at road maps is proving endless. Anybody got some must see roads/sites? Currently planning to fly into ABQ.

Albuquerque, New...
Destination Expert
for Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
1,857 posts
35 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Motorcycle Routes

I'm not an expert but I imagine from ABQ the Turquoise Trail (Hwy 14 north out of Tijeras to Madrid and Cerrillos toward Santa Fe) would be one. "South 14" (now 337 south out of Tijeras to Tajique, Gran Quivera Nat'l Mon., Mountainair, etc.--can loop back via Abo, Belen, Los Lunas & Isleta) would be another. Jemez Hwy 4 would be a third (with stop at Los Ojos in Jemez Springs--would fit right in; get to 550 at Bernalillo/Santa Ana reservation via 313 or go through Corrales). How far planning to go? Colorado? Any destinations in mind?

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Motorcycle Routes

Thanks! I'll see if I can find those routes. No special destination. I've just never been to New Mexico and thought a 2-3 day ride would give me a good look around.

Silver City, New...
Destination Expert
for Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
1,233 posts
45 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Motorcycle Routes

If I recall correctly, NM14 and Madrid were featured in the comedy "Wild Hogs."

NM 152, which runs from I-25 south of Truth or Consequences west to Silver City is a beautiful twisty-turny mountain road through the Gila Wilderness. Silver City is about 4 hours from ABQ. I'm not sure that you can fit it into your plans, but if you can, you should.

Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
4,490 posts