We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Road trip to the Great Smoky Mountains from Atlanta

7 posts
Road trip to the Great Smoky Mountains from Atlanta

Hi, me and my partner are hiring a car from Atlanta this September and driving to the great smoky mountains to stay there for 2 nights and then return to Atlanta. We have never driven in the US before and aren’t sure of which route would be best to take. I’ve looked on google maps and it seems to give 2 options - one of which seems to go through a lot of green areas which I’m guessing is woodland etc and one that seems to be a more straightforward route around all of that (through chatnooga) but takes a little longer. Just wondering what would be the best option for me to take as I’m quite young and although I’ve had a lot of driving experience in the uk I’m still a little nervous having never driven in the US before. Any help would be appreciated thanks!

8 replies to this topic
Georgia
Destination Expert
for Atlanta, Savannah
Level Contributor
19,116 posts
95 reviews
1. Re: Road trip to the Great Smoky Mountains from Atlanta

It's a VERY easy drive from the Atlanta airport. My only caution is that driving through Atlanta's commute traffic can be a bear so time your trip accordingly.

Leave the airport on 85N. Either go straight through Atlanta on 85 (if it's not during weekday commute times) or go around on 285 to reconnect with 85N.

Head toward SC.

About an hour up the road, the interstate splits. Don't continue on 85. Bear left on 985/ 365 which becomes 441. Follow the signs toward Gainesville.

441 continues north all the way to Cherokee, NC and the southern entrance to the GSMNP.

For the first 1.5 hours, your drive will be expressway/ interstate highway.