We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manta Ray night snorkel or scuba diving. Worth it?

Delmar, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
Manta Ray night snorkel or scuba diving. Worth it?

Is it worth it to do the night snorkel or scuba diving to see the Manta Rays? Who do you recommend to go with or not go with? Cost? Any coupons available?

99 replies to this topic
NJ
Level Contributor
5 posts
18 reviews
Save Reply
61. Re: Manta Ray night snorkel or scuba diving. Worth it?

Tom,

Being a Cayman expert, I am hoping you can compare it to Sting Ray City. Someone made comparisons early on what they thought the difference may be. We loved SRC, but I am not all that interested in a repeat of activities on limited time. To do or not to do, so little time:)

Thanks,

Tammy

Big Island, Hawaii
Destination Expert
for Island of Hawaii
Level Contributor
27,848 posts
76 reviews
Save Reply
62. Re: Manta Ray night snorkel or scuba diving. Worth it?

There is no comparison between Stingray City and the manta ray snorkel. They're not even the same animals. Giant Manta rays have wingspans of up to 30 feet and weigh as much as 3000 lbs. You are not feeding the mantas as they do the stingrays, nor standing in shallow water, you're floating or diving in about 30-40 feet of water while you watch the mantas dance around you, scooping up the plankton illuminated by the lights. You can check out YouTube videos to get an idea.

Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
2 posts
228 reviews
Save Reply
63. Re: Manta Ray night snorkel or scuba diving. Worth it?