We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New year in NYC with children... help!

Gloucestershire...
2 posts
New year in NYC with children... help!

Has anyone down new year in NYC with kids? We have boys aged 5 and 6 and want to do something NYE night time ( they can make it to 12, I know 🙈) we are staying on Broadway near Central Park. We we're thinking about watching the fire works,should we watch them from the park or go on a boat trip? Any advise greatly appreciated!

TIA 😁

10 replies to this topic
New York City, New...
Level Contributor
19,051 posts
1. Re: New year in NYC with children... help!

I am not an expert of the boat trips but I believe they are parties for adults and I don't know if any of them would accept young children. In any case the price for the boat trips are, I believe, from $350 and up per person.

IMHO taking children that young into adult venues on New year's Eve is a terrible idea. I would find a nice neighborhood restaurant and then take them to Central Park for the midnight fireworks.

Separately, you said you are staying on Broadway - but the question is where. Much of Broadway (from the mid 30s up to at lest the mid 50s) will be in the NYE Frozen Zone and getting in and out of hotels after the more than million people have collected will be difficult.

Teaneck, NJ
Destination Expert
for New Jersey
Level Contributor
12,319 posts
33 reviews
2. Re: New year in NYC with children... help!

New Victory Theater, a kids & family theater www.newvictory.org

New York City, New...
Destination Expert
for New York City
Level Contributor
7,362 posts
51 reviews
3. Re: New year in NYC with children... help!

^^ New Victory Theater has no performances on NYE, even during the day. I'd have been really surprised for them to have had something at night, since it's aimed at kids.