We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Question @ Florencians - was the Thunderbird Inn a Sheraton?

Philadelphia...
Level Contributor
612 posts
10 reviews
Question @ Florencians - was the Thunderbird Inn a Sheraton?

30 years ago? I'm recalling a road trip my father (who died in 2013 from lung cancer even though he didnt smoke) and I took the week after my finals and before I graduated college in May 1984 from Lafayette College in Easton PA. We drove a new New Yorker he had purchased for his mother and he aske dme to accompany him driving it down to her in Ft Myers. He had sold her late 70s New Yorker back home in New Jersey so we drove that one back (with my grandmother coming too on the return to visit the rest of the family). Anyways, I fondly recall we stopped off at the same hotel and it had a dining room where we ate breakfast and dinner and I think it looked out on a pool. I did google aerial search of the I-95 exits and I sort of recall the layout of the place and the covered walkways of the Thunderbird are looking quite familiar! Was it a Sheraton or a Ramada 30 years ago does anyone recollect? Thank you!

6 replies to this topic
Philadelphia...
Level Contributor
612 posts
10 reviews
1. Re: Question @ Florencians - was the Thunderbird Inn a Sheraton?

Anyone? Buehler?

1 post
2. Re: Question @ Florencians - was the Thunderbird Inn a Sheraton?

Hello, I do not have an answer to your question, only an idea. You should try calling the hotel and speaking with the manager. I bet he either knows or knows how to find out. Good luck, I know how incredibly important memories with late loved ones are to us all.

Charleston, South...
Destination Expert
for Charleston, South Carolina, Telluride
Level Contributor
13,184 posts
45 reviews