We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mahahual/Bacalar/Caye Caulker

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
1 post
3 reviews
Save Topic
Mahahual/Bacalar/Caye Caulker

Hi everyone

I'm going to visit Mexico for the second time in May/June this year. I studied and travelled in Mexico during 2016 and 2017, and now I'm going back for a short visit approx. 3 weeks.

My plan is to dive once or twice, to do yoga, reading books, renting bikes/long walks, eating cheap and meeting new people. I will be travelling alone, so it would be nice to be around other people, however I'm used to travel solo and prefer some me-time as well away from the touristic places.

I will be flying to and from Cancun but will not stay there, so I'm looking for advice on a preliminary itinerary and nothing is decided yet.

Atm, I'm planning to start out in Mahahual to try something else than Tulum and Playa del Carmen, but I'm not sure whether its worth the visit? If so, I would love recommendations for hostels or things to do. How is the diving compared to Cozumel/Playa del Carmen?

After Mahahual, I'm going to Bacalar. I know most people suggest only 1 night in Bacalar, but I'm not afraid of silence and I'm planning on staying for at least 4-5 days. This is pretty settled for me, but I would love recommendations for Bacalar as well. Both for activities and hostels. Yoga would be a definite plus as well.

And then I'm going to Caye Caulker. I've already visited this small island before and I fell in love. I only went there because I had to renew my visa for Mexico, but 1 day ended up being 6 days.

I'm definitely going back.

This means that I'm planing on spending approx. a week in each location, but I'm open for other suggestions as well.