We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Driving Route: Durango to Telluride

Chicago, IL
3 posts
Best Driving Route: Durango to Telluride

My wife and I are going to be driving from Durango to Telluride in the second week of July. I've driven through the mountains several times (Trail Ridge Rd - Estes Park, Denver-Crested Butte via Monarch Pass, etc). Though I love the scenery, I'm a white-knuckled type of driver in the mountains and prefer the least tricky/tricky roads I can possibly find. It looks like there's only a couple ways into Telluride from Durango. I could use your help figuring out the easiest route.

Telluride's tourism website advises taking the following route:

1) Follow Route 160 from Durango to Mancos.

2) Turn right onto Route 184 towards Dolores.

3) Turn right onto Route 145, just south of Dolores.

4) Follow 145 into Telluride. About 3 miles out of town, Route 145 will T.

5) Turn right. Telluride is three more miles.

Travel time: 2.5 hours.

Thanks!

Charleston, South...
Destination Expert
for Charleston, South Carolina, Telluride
Level Contributor
13,314 posts
51 reviews
1. Re: Best Driving Route: Durango to Telluride

That is correct. The other route is Hwy 550, over Red Mountain Pass to Ouray, to Ridgway. Take a left onto Hwy 62 at Ridgway and follow that to Route 145 where you will turn left and continue to Telluride.

This route travels over the Million Dollar Hwy, which is spectacularly beautiful - but has sheer drop offs and in some areas no guard rails. I have driven it many times and am fine with it, but many people would consider it "white knuckle". It's just gorgeous (much more so than the other route) if you can handle it.

WestSlope,CO
Destination Expert
for Colorado
Level Contributor
11,562 posts
178 reviews
2. Re: Best Driving Route: Durango to Telluride