We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Las Vegas to LA trip

Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
21 posts
31 reviews
Save Topic
Las Vegas to LA trip

Hi All

Total novice with no clue ;-) thought it was a great idea to travel from Las Vegas to LA on holiday. We've been to Vegas before so that's no problem, we have 5 full days in LA my questions are:

Having cleared immigration on arrival in Vegas, we are flying internally, will we have to clear customs again in LA, we are british? or can we just go straight through on collecting our luggage?

Thinking of staying at Redondo Beach is this a good area for visiting LA? I know it can be an hours drive away maybe more on traffic from Hollywood etc? or should we break it up and stay nearer? was thinking of a day in Universal, a day in Anaheim, a day in Hollywood, thought Redondo would be easy enough to commute either way as such?

Or could stay in Hollywood do the tourist stuff, then go to Redondo to chill?

Any advice would be appreciated

TIA

15 replies to this topic
Ontario
Level Contributor
422 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Las Vegas to LA trip

You will not have to go through customs again since it is a domestic flight (doesn't matter who you are, only matters where the flight is coming from).

It is certainly doable to stay in Redondo Beach for the whole trip. Traffic will be an issue but it will be an issue anywhere if you plan to have only one base and tour around the LA/Orange County area. Do not plan to travel during rush hour - it will double your time in the car.