We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cost of Living in Johannesburg

India
2 posts
Cost of Living in Johannesburg

Hi,

I am an IT professional living in India and I got an Oppurtunity to work in SA (Johannesburg) for one Year.

It will be highly appreciable if you answer the below question to the best of your knowledge.

1) How much would be required for a family of 4 (Me, wife and 2 kids (4 years and 2 years)) to live a Moderate & decent life in Johannesburg.

2) Fees of pre-primary school (Sr. Kindergarten)

3) Any other expenses I should keep in mind?

Company would be providing us the accommodation (in Sandton), medical insurance and a car.

Provide me the detailed list of expenses on food in a week for running a family of 4. like grocery items, fruits, vegetables, milk, etc.

I would be getting around 14k Rands in hand. Will that be sufficient including some savings for future?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Ashish

Hazyview, South...
Level Contributor
3,850 posts
19 reviews
1. Re: Cost of Living in Johannesburg

For your daily shopping, see:

www.picknpay.co.za/picknpay/content/en/home

Klaus

-Owner Abangane-

Hazyview

Cape Town
Level Contributor
10,350 posts
2. Re: Cost of Living in Johannesburg

Hi

I am sure you will have a great time in South Africa. A good place for young professionals.

It is very difficult to compare costs for individual people as one persons idea of a “moderate and decent life” is not the same as another’s.